Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 26 December 2017
I'm find this series more and more difficult to read. There's too much waffle and in-depth detail that's doesn't add to the story or character development. It just shows Laurell did her research, but unnecessary research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2016
This is more of a 'link' book, it leads on from the previous and sets up the characters for the following books. It shows how things became what they are, useful in understanding the following books but not essential. A good read nevertheless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 December 2007
There's a gang of vampire serial killers on the loose, so the Executioner gets called in to deal with them.
That's about it, really. Except that the first murder happens on page 15, the second one not until about 400 pages later. In between there's a lot of sex, Anita helping calm a riot, sex, Anita raising a zombie, sex, Anita fighting a few other battles, and, oh yeah, sex. Plus, of course, the obligatory agonising about it afterwards. So, like Narcissus in Chains, way too much sex; unlike it, the vampire-fighting action isn't that good when it finally does happen. Hmm. This may be the one when I have to finally admit that the stories I started reading with enjoyment have moved off in a completely different direction, never to return.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2017
I've read all the Anita Blake books more than once and enjoy them. Love the police business, zombie side and her relationship issues. I would say as the series progresses, definitely 18+.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2017
One of my favourites. I love the detail in this one and Anita seems so much more excited to be who she is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2017
Loved the story line amazing writer the book had a lot of twists it kept you interested all the way through
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2017
As always another amazing book from an amazing novelist. Action and sex packed. Amazing storyline as always. I love Anita!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2017
Vampiric excellence!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2006
I’ve been a fan of LKH’s Anita Blake series since Guilty Pleasures first arrived in the UK.
The series has had it’s high points (Guilty Pleasures, Lunatic Café, Obsidian Butterfly) and it’s lows (Narcissus in Chains, Cerulean Sins, Burnt Offerings), but I’ve stuck with it.
But - and it pains me, and brings no pleasure to, to say this - Incubus Dreams is the worst book of the series.
In fact, it’s one of the worst books I’ve ever read.
The Anita Blake started off as action/thriller/horror detective stories, but now they are thinly disguised porn.
If you’ve read the synopsis, that’s not the story. The story runs like this:
Anita Blake whines.
She has sex.
She develops a new and mysterious magical power.
She whines.
She has sex with someone different.
She develops a new and mysterious magical power.
She whines.
She has sex with a few randomly selected male characters different.
She develops a new and mysterious magical power.
She whines.
One or more of her seven official lovers whine.
She has sex with someone new.
She develops a new and mysterious magical power.
She whines.
Repeat for 700 pages. And that’s a day - one day, in Anita Blake’s life.
It’s not the sex that makes this book bad (I like erotic fiction). Neither is it the amount (every 2-3 chapters - bear in mind the chapters are very short - Anita’s panties are off). It’s just that all the shagging serves no purpose.
Like a good porno movie, events in the story are only there to give a reason for Anita Blake to have sex with random - and I do mean random - men she meets. Characters you’ve never heard of appear, seemingly with the only reason to give Anita someone new to have… well… to have.
Reading this you feel like you’ve been sold an anthology of trashy erotic fiction, after being told it’s an action/detective/horror novel.
On the other hand, the blurb could have something to do with the story. I’m about 500 pages into this 724 page tome and there have been two scenes which might - MIGHT - be relevant to the serial killer of vampire storyline (a plot that’s a throwback to the first Anita Blake book, Guilty Pleasures). That’s a trick that LKH has used in Cerulean Sins and Narcissus in Chains - realised she’s 200 pages from the end of the novel, and thought "Damn. Better pack the plot in here."
I’m say this as a big, and loyal, fan of Anita Blake: I wish I hadn’t have bought this book. Cerulean Sins and Narcissus in Chains were bad, but this…
I hope that LKH brings back the Anita Blake I know and love. Until then, I’m staying away from this series.
55 Comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 November 2004
I've been hooked on Anita Blake since the brilliant Guilty Pleasures and yet, 11 books later, I want to be free! This is better than the last 2, but it's still absolute junk. The book starts well, and by about chapter 6 it is quite gripping. But then Hamilton completely loses the plot (metaphorically and literally) and writes 500 pages of violent sex... vampires, lycanthropes, tables, hamsters...you name it. It's really, really boring (pun intended) literature. And yet, 50 pages from the end, we lurch back to the plot - although by this point I'm surprised Anita can walk - and Hamilton manages a thrilling ending. Why not, Ms Hamilton, miss out the pornography and just write good ol fantasy thrillers?
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse