Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
25
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2012
Another war story based on a different plot for the subjects to be heroic! A bit "them and us" vis-a-vis the Americans, who always seem to be the mega heroes and the pace of the story seemed for forget that there was any other war going on! But, that said, it made for a pleasant holiday read without taxing the little grey cell too much.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
A great read, full of strong,sometimes over the top arrogant characters. ( by design.!). Good,well paced storyline, possibly (?) within the realms of reality, which added a nasty 'what if that had happened' sense to the reading experience
All in all, if you like this genre of WW2 fiction, it"s a fantastic read. Will now check out authors other publications.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
Once I got into this story I enjoyed it. Its a bit one sided war story with the Yanks doing it all. Having said this its a differant plot with Biological Weapons and the Gasptapo Officer you love to shot yourself. Well worth the present price.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
The plot involves bringing together a number of WWII factoids then concocting a (for me) entirely incredible scenario. As they say in science fiction, fantastical elements are allowed but only at the expense of making everything surrounding them entirely believable... anything else is fantasy. For me the stock characters like the Burned-Out All-American Hero allowed to spearhead a vital (all American) effort to Save The World when - I thought - the focus of American was Japan seems unlikely, as does the motley crew of Good Germans, Bad Germans, Nasty Nazis (not to mention the Clever Japanese Scientist) got on my nerves.
That said the action includes some nice bits about flying a cool 'what if' aircraft popularly supposed to be the low-risk option for delivering Hitler's A-bomb to New York in a deadly pursuit headed in entirely the wrong direction - a Byzantine twist worthy of a Bond Movie - but while entertaining I found it impossible to read more than a few pages at a time.
Definitely one to read, put down, walk around a while, look up stuff on Wikipedia, have a laugh, then pick up again... or option it for a Hollywood script treatment in the long-hallowed 'only every single fact has been changed' tradition, a la U-571.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
A good story, for the money it cost it was excellent value. Plot was good, characters ok, elements of many different stories from WWII.

Enjoyable fiction, make a good holiday sunbathing/chilling time killer.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
This is a truly awful book with a strange list of characters who wandered about the place from start to finish . There was one Japanese not in a speaking part mentioned just a few times. The huge bombers and their fearsome cargo did not feature very much at all , and were not explained with any sort of detail and did not come across as any sort of threat . What a disappointment .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
An unusual story which took a little while to grab me. However when it did it held my attention to the end. American heroes (what else!) but clever twists and well built characters. Well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
A good enjoyable read and it was free. Would it be worth paying for? Yes, maybe not full book price, but at a reasonable cost I would still have been pleased. Enjoyed it enough that I'm going to get another of his books. This time I'll be paying 77p
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
This is the second book I've read by this author and this was as pleasing as the first. A well written book with a chilling storyline which as always makes me ask the question why...Why must we treat each other like this?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
This book was fantastic kept me going most of the night, wanted to finish and yet didn't want to come to last page.........................fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse