Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now New Album - Zara Larsson Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
62
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.98+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2013
Rolf Lassgard is superb in this powerful and moving film. The story seems simple at first but unfolds into something much deeper and complex, tackling the dichotomy between city and country life, locals and immigrants (and their differing interests and senses of morality). Rolf, a policeman, is an outsider - he has been away for many years and on coming home for his father's funeral becomes the catalyst for an unravelling of local life as his relentless investigation into deer poaching exposes the small town's nasty underbelly and ultimately leads to the disintigration of his relationship with his brother. Contains some shocking scenes. This film resonates in the mind long after it has finished. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
This film is steeped in menace from the start.

It portrays a Sweden that is entirely unfamiliar to me. My Sweden is the broad streets of Stockholm, peopled by reserved, kind and helpful citizens of an equitable society, and the peaceful beauty of the Västernorrland. Sundvall's vision is altogether grittier. His is a wild land inhabited by hard-drinking, dangerous mysogynists armed to the teeth with knives and high-powered rifles. Unfamiliar, yes, but entirely believable, too.

His premise is that when faced with hateful conspiracy, justice can only be served - if at all - by the morally steadfast. The plot-line is taut, the actors excellent, and as the tension mounts the characters develop well right to the end of the film.

Unfortunately, at one point in the film the story is only kept going by a device that beggars belief. Of course, all story-telling asks us to suspend disbelief to some extent, but can the writer really ask us to believe that the Swedish legal system cannot prosecute or convict people for conspiracy to murder? Oh, well.

If you like Nordic Noir and haven't seen Jägarna, you have a treat in store.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
First of all this is an old film 1996 , obviously rereleased owing to the popularity of Lassgard [ he is a lot thinner here ] . It concerns 2 brothers , one who decides to move back to his country roots but has problems fitting in with their country ways . Yes the film has some very difficult scenes of animal brutality but I found its simple creepy style very watchable . I was remindered of films such as The deer hunter , dualing banjoes , Deliverence and the early Coen brothers . My only complaint , yet another subtitled movie where they make the subtitles so small and then place them over white , so its not easy to read.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Bought after seeing Rolf in Wallander (the best Wallander in my humble opinion) and in Sebastian Bergman. An excellent addition for those who have enjoyed the 'nordic noir' programmes on BBC Four.

Have also ordered "False Trail", a recent revisit to the Hunters story.....

ps..... if you are a bit of an animal 'lover'; i.e. all deer are related to Bambi; you may want to avoid, there are some pretty graphic deer hunting scenes, "animals were harmed in the making of this movie" (if not the special effects were the best I have ever seen). That said, I guess the Scandinavians are much more outdoor and hunting focussed than us Brits.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2010
This is an intense thriller - the plot is up in Northern Sweden - some friends has joined into illegal shooting of raindeers and they sell the meat with large profit - at the same time - one of the guys brother is returning to the community and he is a wellknow policemen - also corruption inside the police complicate the investigation of the crime..
A very suspense and nail bitting thriller with a lot of sagrifice for all the involved..

I can just recommend this in the highest way..

H.Clausen, Denmark.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Rolf Lassgard at his best - great thriller in the woods of Sweden. All actors do a fantastic job - great cinematography and plot. You get used to listen to the actors in their native language very quickly and after a few minutes you don't mind reading subtitles along watching. You definitely will want to see more swedish/skandinavien movies & listen to the language. If you like Wallander & Co. you gonna love this movie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Very different to Lassgård's roles in Bergman and Wallander, this backwoods noir casts him as a weary police detective, transferring back to the rural heartland of Sweden after spending two decades in the country's sophisticated capital.
This scenario launches him into immediate conflict with a group of local poachers, who happen to include his own brother...
The result is a powerful, occasionally disturbing film. Its violence feels inevitable and is certainly shockingly explicit. Lassgård's character is revealed to be almost as flawed as that of his repulsive relative, both of them shaped by their abusive (now deceased) father.
Compared to some more modern Nordic noir, The Hunters' plotting can feel a trifle clumsy and it looks a little dated. But the core performances are as compelling as ever, as is its social commentary on close-knit rural communities.
7/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
if you haven't seen it, watch it.
Great film.
Set in North Sweden, bleak landscape, element of deliverance and not some hollywood style film where everything has to fit into place, and how justice is often not as simple as it seems.
This film is very well done and keeps you riveted all the the way to its conclusion.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
..Jagarna 2 although I thought it was overlong. So I was keen to see this.

Have to say I was disappointed with it. The sequel has some realism to it, some fine acting and a credible (well, almost) plot line.

The first in the "series" is also over-long but somehow lacks all credibility. I could not believe in the "villains", their behaviour or the tolerance of the local community towards them. Maybe it is simply my innocence (or ignorance) of rural cultures in Sweden but it all seemed wholly unlikely and unconvincing to me.

The positives are the acting - which even when it is over the top is never less than entertaining - and the photography which is splendid. A very good looking film indeed. Just couldn't relate to the content! Wouldn't happen in rural Oxfordshire!
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
This is now quite aged cinematographically. The hunting scenes are very visceral so if you are sqeamish there are a couple of areas to avert the gaze.. otherwise the film is I'd say "good". I found the acting or direction a little wooden in places and for me the characterisation of the "baddies" are overblown and exaggerated.. kind of thing you might find in a Clint Eastwood movie..Pluses are the classical soundtrack-used to contrast the impending violence in places; the cinematography and Rolf Lassgard of course. I think the sequel Jagarna 2 (False Trail) has a superior feel having digested more technique in the interim 15 years or so ,but you should still see this as the second film has references to the earlier which deepen the storyline. A quiet recommendation-for me not quite a 4.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)