Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
159
4.6 out of 5 stars
Eliza Doolittle
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


on 31 August 2017
great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2017
Better than expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2010
What a fantastic catchy album..... Only 1 song I was not keen on and thats all!!!! Every other song could be a top chart hit..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2010
This is what music should be about,simple uplifting songs,sang well,good lyrics and arrangements.This album always has me singing along,and feeling good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 March 2011
Hot off the heals of supporting roles for the likes of Alphabeat, Jamie Cullum and Paloma Faith, Eliza's music lilts welcomingly into our lives like the lingering kiss of a warm summer breeze - her eclectic style is completely incomparable to anything else, because everything you compare it to pails in comparison.

There have been a lot of links to Lily Allen, mainly because of her softly lilting, slightly cockney sounding voice and occasional choice of choon-style (think 'He Wasn't There' and you're a third of the way there), whereas the rest of her sound is a mix of acoustic jazz, ska, soul and pop, with just a hint of indie chucked in for good measure. Influences run far and wide, from Fleetwood Mac, through The Beach Boys right up to the likes of Radiohead, all at the same time as managing to make a sound that is utterly fresh and unusual whilst sounding like a timeless piece from a 1960's stage musical, if not before.

The sound is summer. There is no possible other way to describe it. She manages to captivate the season with her perfectly jaunty, bubbly ditties in the same way Enya's music will always be winter, and the Sugababes will always be autumn.

The album is a delight from start to finish - the absolute high-point is her second single 'Pack Up' - it's bold and brassy and blissful- and manages to take marching song 'Pack Up Your Troubles In Your Old Kit Bag' and use it in a way which sounds neither gimmicky nor rubbish - it just sounds lush!

Beyond that, and previous very-very-good single 'Skinny Genes' - the albums top products are 'Moneybox', 'Police Car' and 'Mr. Medicine', with Fleetwood Mac-influenced and all round pretty song 'Missing' taking the second-top-spot as best song on the album.

Low points? Well there aren't really any. Sometimes the lilting style turns into a meandering plod, like on 'Rollerblades', which means it may be listened to less than some of the rest of the album, but aside from this the album is perfection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2011
Unreal for the money - much much cheaper that itunes!! download the Amazon MP3 program that goes with the purchase as it automatically sends it to your itunes anyway - Nice one amazon!!! Well 'appy!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2010
This is a wonderful uplifting album that confirms a great new talent. I can see why Eliza Doolittle gets compared to Lilly Allen as there is the same summer feel and quirkiness of `Alright Still' , but overall there is a much more jazzy feel to ED's album and even some infectious experimenting with the odd whistle now and again. Pack Up is the feel good song of the year and this album is packed with many more like it, suitably contrasting and unique.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2011
As I liked the 2 songs I have heard from Eliza I thought I would invest in the album and I am not disappointed. So many feel good songs and an album I play over and over again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2010
This is a brilliant family album. My children aged 5 and 7 love it. My wife and I also really enjoy listening to it.
The singles are fantastic pop tunes, as you will probably be aware. On first listen I was concerned that some of the songs on the album were jarring (e.g. Go home, a Smokey Room) whilst others were a bit weak (Empty Hand, Police Car). But the quirky nature of Go Home has grown on me and the slightly weaker songs are not that bad.
Two of the other songs on the album, "So High" and "Back to Front" are first rate, classic, genius and as good as anything I have heard from Amy Winehouse, or any other young songstress for that matter. Touching lyrics, lovely tunes and achingly beautiful vocals. I wonder if one of these two will be released as the next single? If EMI have any sense they will do that.
Very much recommended. Five stars. And I am not just saying that because she supports Arsenal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)