Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
170
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2013
The film itself is well acted and worthy of a watch if you are interested in WW1. However, the product I received was displayed as new but arrived in second hand condition, I blame no one for that, oversight on the sender! I was able to return this for a full refund and it was not watched by me from this product but from a new edition copy. Therefore, well worth a copy in your collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
Read about Hill 60 and trench mining of the first World War a while ago. My late grandfather and his brother where Royal Engineers in the first World War and ive spoken to people envovled in that type of trench warfare on the Somme.
Interesting movie brings the activities of trench miners to life in this drama.
I thought well shown brings a complex subject together will view it again.
And all in the comfort of my own home.
Dvd purchased at a very keen price and with good delivery to my door you cannot beat it.
This was one of a batch of nine Dvds bought from various Amazon suppliers ive already bought nine more Dvds and I will buy more.
I used to go to the pictures regularly but at over £10 a ticket its just to expensive particulary if your making an evening of it.
Stay in the comfort of your own home eat what you like drink what you like pause where you like and have any one you like round to view it with you what could be better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I am so happy with this film. It is probably the best war film set in the Great War, World War 1.

The story follows the Australian tunnelers responsible for mining under the German lines and blowing them to Kingdom come. Every detail is well done both big and small and you are rewarded with a true story and an interesting one to boot. The mining war under the trenches is well realised, with the Germans launching countermeasures and everyone trying to be silent since the other side is listening and here the two sides duel. The situation above ground it well done too, with life in the trenches all soaked in mud and sometimes blood.

There is also some time devoted to memories from back home and here it helps that the Aussies have added a bit of humour that makes it all worth while.

After watching a series of flawed war movies; 71 - Into the Fire [DVD] [2010], Axis Of War: The First Of August [DVD] [2008] & Axis Of War: My Long March [DVD] [2008] this film was a welcome change.

My best recommendations.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
A gritty tale based on a true story about the Australian miners drafted in to tunnel beneath the enemy trenches on the Western Front during World War 1. Realistic and exciting in equal measure. Recommended viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
This film surprised me as I was not aware of it having a commercial release and had not been aware of any of the actors. The story is based on a true event and despite my reservations when much of the first ten minutes seemed to have been filmed in total darkness, the film emerged to be extremely gripping. For me, this recalled the kind of films the Australians used to produce in the 1970's and is very similar in spirit to "Gallipoli." The fact that none of the factors were familiar is always beneficial in war films as certainty of a celebrated actor remaining until the end often precludes the unexpected.

The scenery is impressive and the undergound scenes are both claustrophobic and demonstrative of the camaraderie amongst the soldiers. For the bargain price, anyone interested in the Great War will find this effort totally gripping and it is a significantly superior film than something like Steven Speilberg's saccahrine "War House." Unfamiliar films are often obscure for the good reason that they are not very good but "Beneath Hill 60" is evidence that gritty and realistic war films are probably best left to those outside of Hollywood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
As a serious student of First World War History (Masters level) I commend this film. Given that its dramatic entertainment and its Aussie, the film makers have still done a good job on an unusual aspect of the war without trotting out the usual historical poppycock and inaccuracies that have dogged and distorted the historiography since the Armistice. A good yarn based on facts. Any military buff would be daft to miss it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2011
Covers all the aspects a war film needs too. Keeps you interested all the way through, the action is realistic and enjoyable, war is shown to be brutal and pointless and you care about the main characters. It also demonstrates the dirt and confusion of the First World War while telling a true story.

Wasn't sure what to expect from a tunnelling film but can confirm this is an enjoyable watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 March 2013
This is a very atmospheric tale, of engineers tunnelling under the trenches in WW1. Authentic, claustrophobic, and completely believable, it will make you very glad that you were not there. Australian miners are brought to the Western Front in 1916, to complete a series of tunnels under the German lines. They will later be filled with many tons of explosive, generating one of the largest explosions ever, just before the Allied attack commences. We see both sides of the story too, as young Germans also dig under the Allied lines, both rushing to complete their tunnels before the other. Despite knowing the ending, and the historical facts behind it all, the film still manages to rack up the tension, and leaves you anticipating the eventual detonation. Great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2011
The story of Australian Tunnellers is given the film treatment.

The narrative is conventional enough and based on the memoir of the same name by Oliver Woodward. Green volunteers learn the western front war game, become proficient and sock it to the Germans in the final sequence. The narrative is intercut with home front sequences to establish context and round out characterisation. The film attempts to keep faith with Oliver Woodward's memoir, even exploring some of technical challenges facing the tunnelling companies working in the Salient. The acting is ok, production values are passable.

It is perhaps inevitable that the drama should lapse into well-trodden cliche, particularly that brand of contempt which Australians specifically reserve for the British. The British (and indeed New Zealand) effort is ignored in the film (The tunnelling companies were dominated by British officers and men from the mining regions) and whenever British officers are portrayed they are inevitably unthinking, unfeeling stuffed shirts straight out of Weir's 'Gallipoli' , wasting dinkum Aussie boys with prolific abandon. The dramatic imperative results in the tacking on of an historically inaccurate climax in which our hero is forced to sacrifice one of his trapped company in order to ensure the mine is blown on time. Such sacrifices did happen in tunnelling companies - but not on the day of the Messines Ridge operation.

All told a reasonably good, well-meaning drama
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
This film doesn't have action for the sake of action. It's a fairly detailed true story of those men who risked there lives digging tunnels underneath enemy positions in order to blow up that position. It gives you an insight into the conditions they faced and the problems they had to overcome. I enjoyed this film as it not only has the usual expected action scenes, but also has interesting challenges which i'd not appreciated before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)