Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
63
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2010
Very full on and very violent in a RoboCop way as the violence in certain scenes just goes on and on but in a good way!

More violent than Mutants but not quite as scary or atmospheric, but still way better than anything coming from the US.

Recommended!

There is an "UNCUT" version released only in Germany so far but all of the extra 9 mins is at the beginning before it really gets going and is mainly talking! I would rather say it's an extended cut.

So you are not missing any of the gore/violence with this UK disc.

In fact I preferred the 93 min version as it got the action quicker which is really what we are all buying this for!
22 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 August 2010
.....with more guns, gore and violence. Mix in some of the ingredients of the dawn of the dead remake and the left for dead game and you get the picture. The film has a frantic pace and the first scene is the discovery of a police officer found dead in a rubbish pit. At the funeral his collegues vow to kill the men responsible and track them down to a condemned and abandoned tower block on the city outskirts. The raid isn't too successful and the police find themselves at the mercy of the violent gang members. However, something stirs outside in the night and within minutes all hell breaks loose. The cops and gang members must reluctantly work together if they want to escape from the tower block alive. There are one or two scenes of complete overkill and plenty of blood to keep zombie fans happy. Don't really know to refer to them as zombies or not but they are like the infected in 28 days later. The film only really slows down in the middle for a short period before heading to a bloody and violent conclusion. Certainly one of the better zombie films to be released in the last few years and very enjoyable.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 November 2015
In this 2009 zombie horror four cops infiltrate a derelict building to get even with a gang, but once inside it all goes wrong. Then, out of nowhere a zombie horde attacks, forcing the survivors to work together, but can they survive?
A group of people trapped in a building isn’t original but this well filmed and fast paced. The audio is impressive, the filming technique claustrophobic and the tension high, as the group try to escape the incessant attacks of 'The Horde’.
The single disc opens to 3 trailers before going to main menu offering play, scene selection, set up [original French 5.1, English 5.1 or English subtitles on/off] and bonus [making of, deleted scenes, storyboard and trailer]. Lots of swearing, tons of bloody violence and gore, it’s got to please even the hardest gore fan. A definite ***** and highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
For Zombie fans and action fans who like movies such as THE RAID (I am sure THE RAID has copied some of the style themes and ideas from The Horde and they just replaced the Zombies with gangs).

The Horde is a really large scale action packed zombie movie where cops go into a large building to battle gangs but when it all goes wrong, they have to team up (Remember Carpenter's 'Asault on Precinct 13'?) so they can survive the zombie onslought and get out of the the building fast.

It is very violent on the level of say GOODFELLAS and Reservoir Dogs with some horrific torture that's dished out in the beginning sequences. This then contrasts with the horror of the zombie monsters which are by no means slow (these are the running kind with a ferocious appetite). There are some key scenes which echo old classics like Romero's 'Day of the Dead' for instance when one of the heroic officers gets surrounded by an army of zombies he continues to fight in a spectacular fashion and it really is a thrilling scene but also very moving which then leads to a horrific death in the style of one of the deaths seen in 'The Day of the Dead'. There is lots of drama, gunplay and martial arts too, very similar to a John Woo movie (Cops and Robbers team up to fight a bigger more monstrous evil.)

The only complaint I had with this film was that the version I ordered - I was under the impression this bluray would have an English language or English Subtitles option but it had neither (this is the Italian/French version). However the movie works on such a dramatic level and the performances were so good, I literally understand what was going on anyway.

Fans of George Romero, John Carpenter and John Woo classics from the 1980s will love this movie. It's a must buy and a real treat for zombie horror and/or action movie fans. In fact I liked it so much I will now buy a version with English subtitles!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
What starts off as a movie about cops raiding an african drugs gang holed up in a tower block ends up as a full on zombie gore fest...good story line, but could ave been a better end....a few niggles, no info on how the outbreak began and a bit more info on the characters would have helped, but overall a good film especially if you like your zombie movies fastpaced and very bloody...and you dont mind subtitles..similarities to 28 days/28 weeks later.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
THE MOVIE

THE HORDE is DIE HARD with zombies. French horror flicks are really popping and mostly superior to the watered-down Hollycrap productions that flood the market. The main reason for that is the censorship: while American movies need to be cut down to an R-rated level or face a commercial disaster, the French don't need to worry. This results in the wicked adult gorefests that we REALLY want to see.
THE HORD is incredibly well paced. It doesn't waste much time with introductions: 8 minutes into the movie, the raid on the building begins. What starts out as a vigilante cops vs. criminal immigrants thriller turns into a zombie slaughter fest.
It doesn't take long for the first zombie to make an appearance - the rabid, fast type, not the slow-moving corpses - and they are dealt with in the most bloody way possible.
The acting is pretty good for just a zombie movie, most notably Yves Pignot as Rene who is just a hoot.
Most of THE HORDE is pretty standard zombie movie stuff, head shots kill zombies, people get bitten and it's common belief that amputation stops the infection, zombies have overrun France, yada yada yada. We've seen it so many times, THE HORDE really doesn't offer anything new. The effects look quite well and not all of them are CGI.
While THE HORDE does contain some morbid homor in small doses, this is not a zombie comedy. Unlike most US productions this is a serious movie, which is also a reason why it is superior to most recent US zombie films.

RATING: 7 / 10

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2010 Momentum Pictures UK DVD
Feature running time: 93 mins. (theatrical version)
Rating: Not Rated (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1 / 16:9 (anamorphic)
Audio: French 5.1, English 5.1
Subtitles: English
Chapters: 12
Extras: Making of, Deleted Scenes, Storyboard, Theatrical Trailer
Region: 2

Picture: B
Audio: B
Extras: C (OK extras. Features the pre-cut theatrical version that removes about 4 mins. of plot. The gore is uncut)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2010
The Horde is an absolute blast of a zombie film. If you like foreign horror and the Rec films you'll love this. The plot is original, given how the zombie genre has been overdone to death. The pace of the film is relentless and chaotic and the terror and gore is great. The subtitles don't ruin the film one bit. One of the best zombie films in recent years!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 January 2014
If you've seen the British zombie film '28 Weeks Later' you'll probably know what I mean by the title. Basically, `The Horde' is Frances answer to Britain's 28 Days Later franchise. It's almost as if it's set in the same world (and possibly the same world where Germany's `Siege of the Dead' and America's 2004 remake of `Dawn of the Dead' is set).

If you've seen any of the above films, you'll probably know what to expect - running zombies (no `Romero shufflers' here!) and shaky camerawork, depicting a dark, violent and gritty take on zombie lore. Here we meet a quartet of Parisian police officers who are taking the law into their own hands by storming a run-down tower block in order to execute some drug dealers who murdered a colleague of theirs. Sadly, all does not go according to plan, as the night they pick to exact their retribution, the undead start their rise from the grave. We never find out the cause of the outbreak, only witness the effects, as the cops and `robbers' have to band together to survive.

It's a pretty claustrophobic atmosphere we have here. 99% of the entire film is set within the dilapidated tower block. It's violent, it's nasty and it's effectively 28 Weeks Later - the Aftermath.

If you haven't had your fill of zombie movies (and can put up with the French subtitles - also, I've watched it dubbed and that's not so bad either) then give this one a go - it's pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2010
This gritty little horror flick doesn't slow up for a second. Ninety minutes of violence, panic and semi darkness; this film is worth a watch by any fans of Rec or of the viral-zombie genre in general.

If, like me, you are constantly in need of a good fix of "zombie", then this film will certainly scratch that itch. With the lights off it is sure to make you jump and there is rarely a boring moment.

Unlike many of its American counterparts, La Horde doesn't sacrifice atmosphere for the sake of hollywood endings and trends. I found it more of an experience than a story, and it captures the desperate, brutal feel of a zombie scenario well. Whilst it certainly contains its share of gore, La Horde does not fall victim to gratuitous blood and guts like so much horror does these days- it manages to avoid being an assault on the senses whilst at the same time not censoring itself.

This is an action horror and it doesn't forget that- there are a few emotional scenes but they are extremely limited; it is hard to introduce deep and meaningful monologues when all the characters are either screaming or shooting. There are also a few attempts at character depth etc, but thankfully all of this rather falls by the wayside and so does not slow the film down unnecesarily.

Be under no illusions- this isn't the most truly stunning piece of cinema you will ever see and there are no oscar winning performances. But for what it is, and for its genre, there are really very few faults with La Horde and. As these flicks go it is certainly amongst my favourites.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2010
I have been waiting what seems an eternity to see this film and I was not in the least bit dissappointed when I finally got to see it on DVD.I won't bore you with the plot as eveyone has already said that in their reviews.What I will say is that if you love zombie movies,over the top violence and games like left 4 dead and dead rising then do yourself a favour and buy this DVD.
I really do think this is the best zombie film since the remake of Dawn of the dead or possibly automaton transfusion and it would definitely get into my top 5 zombie flicks of all time.In fact I think I might watch it again tonight!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Need customer service? Click here