Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
99
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£18.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2017
fast delivery great series forgotten how good it was thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Fantastic box set enjoyed every minute. Thoroughly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
I loved everything about Mistresses. It is a modern day drama about everyday experiences that so many people can find themselves caught up in and identify with. I loved the way that over and over again, one of the friends would be asked for, and give, really sensible advice, but this would invariably be agreed with and then ignored!
All the acting is superb, as is the casting. The four principle actresses are brilliant, and none of them 'steal the lime-light', all are equally good.
I found Katy's repeated habit of getting into yet another unsuitable relationship too deeply, then trying to extricate herself, was tortuous and painful to watch. This was because it was so well done, and I've seen it in real life too!
Jess develops from carefree and happy, colorful and funny, experimenting with different emotional experiences, to being hurt and sick. Her transformation and increased maturity is very sensitively portrayed.
Trudy is a wonderful, warm mother, who has lost self confidence during her years as a Mum, but she changes to a woman juggling demands and responsibilities as she chooses to take on new roles. She is wonderfully portrayed and very funny and lovable.
Siobhan, like all the group, is always trying to do the right thing, but, like all of them, finds herself in a complex and impossible situation. All the sexual scenes are sensitively and beautifully portrayed. It is easy to see her pain at being rejected by Harry, and why she chooses to take the path she does. As for the scenes at the office with Dominic, they must be the most sexy scenes I've seen on TV, the directing is brilliant.
I must mention the wonderful depiction of a painful mother/daughter relationship between Katy and her mother, (Joanna Lumley).
As well as Dominic, Richard must get a special mention for his superb acting. All the men are just perfect, and the weak characters, such as Paul and Geoff are very well cast.
So many important themes are included : friendship; children and reconstituted families; Alzheimer's disease; infertility; choices during palliative care; fraud.....what is Right and what is Wrong? Is honesty always a good thing? Etc etc I could go on and on. How could anyone not enjoy Mistresses?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2011
I purchased my box set of Mistresses and made sure that I had nothing planned for the rest of the weekend so that I could enjoy every episode. The story of 4 friends going through the challenges of love, men and life in general. Each woman is so different from the other but they all have one thing in common - looking for true love. This DVD set embarks on the stories of these friends and despite their challenges, secrets and family dramas they are able to remain the best of friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
I didn't know what to expect when ordering these having never seen the series but it was all very watchable. I would recommend this for most adults due to its adult subject matter. All in all a captivating series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2010
I had not watched it on the television and a friend recommended it recently. Watched the whole lot within days of it arriving I was hooked. Brilliantly written and the acting was fab. A 'must see'.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2010
I watched it on the BBC and loved it! was hooked from the first episode! Its a must see and i would reccommend it! Love the box set, all four actresses are amazing and i love them! i say buy it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2011
I recently recommended to a mate + she was up till 2 watching. Great story line, superb acting + great extras. Series 1 + 2 there are 2 discs for each series + have 3 episodes on each. Series 3 there are 2 discs for each series but only 2 episodes per disc. Hooked from the beginning. I have watched many times over
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2011
fab fab fab this box set was well worth the money and
i was really pleased with it compelling viewing its a must see
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
This is an excellent series and well made funny in some places, touching in others and gripping in others!! I really do recommend it !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)