Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
27
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2011
I purchased this on a whim, after all it was only just over the cost of a cinema ticket for many more hours of entertainment, and many others had recommended it. Even before I had finished the second disc I had the other two series sitting on my shelf ready to view. If you are not of an age to remember the output of TV over the 60's and 70's, and have grown up on the output of todays channels you might be in for something of a shock, but it is a shock that might inspire you to search out other such gems of television from this era. Warning, it is in black and white, but then this only adds to the whole atmosphere of Chicago in the 1920's. The stories are of corruption, murder, back handers, boot legging, fiddling, the number racket, etc, etc, no its nothing to do with the government of today, why should that pop into my mind? Anyway, with scripts that are so true to form that its not the sort of entertainment that one just switches off half way through. The actual visual quality is outstanding, and even though I do not use an upscaling DVD player, my Toshiba TV with Resolution+ certainly does a good job of imitating an HD picture, so good some people have actually asked me if it is HD version. If you like old gangster pictures, black and white, with good scripts and visual techniques, give it a whirl, what have you got to lose? the price of a cinema ticket more or less. What have you got to gain? the sort of television 'they' should be making today instead of all that filler material 'they' bombard the screens with nowadays. Since purchasing this DVD set, and numerous other, I have virtually stopped watching current day television, and from what I read I am not the only one. I have given it 5 stars, I would have given it 10.THEY DO NOT MAKE TELEVISION LIKE THIS TODAY.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2011
I watched this show on late night reruns in Germany in the late-70s and have been waiting since then to see these again. As is the case with the other DVDs in this series this next installment is of excellent quality both in audio and video. Robert Stack shines as the great Eliot Ness, crime fighter of the 1930's. Black and white TV noir: dark wet streets, light and dark chiaroscuro shadows, feds, gangsters, machine guns, the roaring twenties and depression era 30s and the best character actors of all time guest starring on the show. Plus Walter Winchell as narrator which gives the series a documentary feel. This show has it all.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
I loved this series when i first saw it on BBC television in the early 1960s and its still stands up today the script and action is sharp the picture and sound quality is first class i cant wait for the next season 4 to be issued, its about time that Warner Brothers started to issue there back catalouge of classic tv shows that they made in the late 50s and early 60s.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 April 2011
Series three sees Federal agent Eliot Ness and his men continuing the battle against the gangsters and criminals of the prohibition era, facing the familiar problems of stemming the flow of illegal booze and drugs. I'm delighted to see that the high production values and standards of the first two series have been maintained here.

Robert Stack continues with his excellent performance as the quitely spoken and authoritative Eliot Ness, with impressive performances all round from regular cast and guest stars, including Pat Hingle in the episode "The Case Against Eliot Ness", in which Hingle plays a leading Chicago citizen who brings a lawsuit against Ness after being accused of murder.
Jack Klugman stars in the story "Loophole" as a crooked attorney, while another episode sees Ness and his men battling the notorious Genna brothers and their bootleg whiskey operation.
Once again Walter Winchell provides an occasional documentary-style narrative.

This is another stylish and very entertaining instalment of a great early 1960's US crime drama series, I now eagerly await the release of the fourth and final series.
The digitally remastered black and white picture and sound quality are good, no extras. All 28, fifty-minute episodes are spread over seven discs. A brief synopsis of each episode is featured on the inside of the DVD case.

The soundtrack languages are: English, French.
The subtitle languages are: English, Dutch, French.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Like the first two series of The Untouchables, this third series relied on very good storylines (all of them based on true events) and relied on a very good cast of actors, especially Robert Stack as Eliot Ness. Usually I don't watch or collect many programmes from the 1950s or 1960s on DVD, but what I (and my dad) like about The Untouchables is that it stands the test of time very well. The storylines and scenes (gunshot scenes especially) were believable when the programme was first on, and they are still believable even now despite technology having improved in recent years (decades even).

Overall, The Untouchables is a very good series for its time and it is highly recommended, along with the 1987 film with Kevin Costner as Eliot Ness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
Like at least one previous reviewer I found Season Three a bit weaker than Seasons One and Two due to most of the stories and characters being made up, a figment of some writers imagination this probably didn't show when viewed originally at one episode per week over four years when I've viewed there Seasons over a few weeks! But the quality of the black and white images is still excellent and suits this crime drama exceedingly well. As does the fine acting and array of guest stars like Leonard Nimroy, Lee Marvin, Victor Jory and not least Patricia Neal who all meet their match in Robert Stack who appears once again as the redoubtable Eliot Ness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
I bought all three box sets of this series, which came well wrapped before the expected delivery date and the price was good too,.
early American detective films, remastered and really good to watch in black and white , great , ,.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There is not really much more to add to the overall very good comments that have already been rightly so made about this Great TV Series.

Interestingly however though, The Untouchables TV Series was really but only a handful amongst many of the gritty made TV Detectives Series able to stand - up to the same production values of todays Television Series, for that was why when this TV Series when first shown in the UK upon BBC TV this Series was shown rather late at night, back then in the 1960's being aired after the then what was once the 10 O'Clock water-shed period in the evenings.

At every re-run since this TV Series was first aired, it is still to be found upon TV in the late evening slots, which very much saids it all about the rather Adult contents that is tagged with the Era and the violence of this Gangster theme Series shown upon TV.

For me however, I just loved this TV Series when it was first shown in the 1960's, and while back then I was about 10 Years of age at the time, my Dad also enjoyed watching this Series, so I was allowed one late night a Week just to follow this Series, and I have now bought all Seasons so far released from 1 to 3, and I am just waiting for Season 4 to be released to complete a full-set.

Another rather later TV Series made in Colour that hopefully one day that may also get a full DVD release and again see the light of Day, is another simular TV Series called: Most Wanted, whereby again Robert Stacks play Captain Link Stevers whom is asked to form a Task - Force pretty much in the same way as Eliot Ness was called in to form The Untouchables.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Of the 4 series this is a gem, all the old favourites, just wish series 4 could be released too. Sure it's old now - but it retaines period attitudes and action very well - not a swear word in sight - Wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
Well here's season 3 of one of the great shows of the late 50's and early 60's.Although still great TV for the period,I found season 3 a bit weaker than seasons 1 and 2.Most of the stories in this set are completely fictional,as opposed to earlier stories based on actual cases and individuals.That said,fans of the show will still find a lot to enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)