Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
286
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2016
Stunning 3D Blu Ray!

Plot is fun - 2 adults and 2 children under 10 all found it entertaining!!!

The 3D effects are excellent and add real depth to the film - well worth the price paid to add it to the collection, should provide a lot of re-watches :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
I was looking forward to this as I am a fan of Hank Azaria (The Simpsons etc.) and Neil Patrick Harris (How I Met Your Mother) but found this a bit dull and the 3D effects were poor when this type of movie lends itself to that format. It wasn't rubbisk or Brilliant, just OK and watchable
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
My kids recently watched smurfs 2 at a friends house and have been talking about the little blue men non stop. So straight to Amazon I went in search of the dvd. I was very happy to find a box set of both films for a great price. Delivery was fast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 August 2011
My 10 years old daughter liked this movie a lot and we could spend a nice cinema moment together - we also certainly had fun talking "smurf" at home for the next couple of days. She also asked me for the Smurf comic books she didn't know at all and started to read them passionately.

As far as I could see, all the kids in the cinema had a great time and giggled a lot. The movie is nice, there is no real violence or any kind of bad language. Gargamel is very funny and his character is very faithful to the one from comic books. His cat Azrael on another hand is in this film much smarter and his relations with his "master" provides some of the best jokes.

The cultural shock between the Smurfs and New York is well treated and the friendship between the Smurfs and a couple of New Yorkers (and their dog) is a nice and very touching story.

Although maybe not exactly on the same level of excellence as "Toy Story 3" or "Despicable me", this is nevertheless a very honest kid's movie and I am certain that with any child it will be a guaranteed success! I definitely wouldn't say no to a sequel. Enjoy and good smurf!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
Having watched the original series as a child, this is an up to date version for the kids. The bluray quality is excellent with plenty of extras for the kids to play. I downloaded the smurf app for ipad, duel screen, supposedly so that the action spills over onto your ipad during the movie. However in my case I can not get this to work. you do have the option to do this on your tv screen during the movie. It's a good enough story it keeps the kids amused. Plenty of games to play on the disc and on the ipad app.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
Love this film! I never got to see this at the cinema when it was released and when it was brought out on DVD it was highly priced, I waited till this DVD was only a few pound and jumped at the chance of buying it. I'd say I enjoyed it more than my son ( who I actually bought it for in the first place ) haha :) great film!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Surprisingly, when my five year old daughter persuaded me to get this movie, I didn't find it as awful as I had anticipated. Having said that, it is tremendously cheesy - particularly the scenes focusing on the married couple, Grace and Patrick, who aid the blue poppets in their quest to defeat evil wizard Gargamel (the ever-brilliant Hank Azaria). Heavy-handed morals about the importance of family life over career and the beauty of new life are always going to be present in this kind of family fare, however these did become hard to stomach after a while and the 105 minutes running time is certainly not too short. There are enough pratfalls, however, to keep the kids entertained, meaning that this DVD is worth purchasing for those wet autumn saturdays when you need some respite from the little darlings.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
I adored this movie! I'm 20 years old and I grew up watching The Smurfs.
I was a little worried that this film would be terrible but it was such a great family film.
Neil Patrick Harris is brilliant in this film as he tries to help the smurfs find their way home and I honestly can't wait for the second film.

If you have kids or are a big kid at heart then this film will be perfect for you.

Very funny and entertaining, perfect in 3D!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
This is another retro come back for the big screen we have had the chipmunks now its them little blue guys with the catchy theme tune!! Theres only so much you can do with smurfs so they have expanded the story so they find a portal to earth, all a bit far fetched and ridiculously over the top but its for children and they love it so it does not matter, this is a bit cheesy in the way of acting from the human stars but the smurfs are pretty well computer generated from their exact likenesses from their early cartoon show and comic strips. A fun for young children film but not something you want to see over again!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2012
There are a couple of things to remember when watching a movie like The Smurfs. One: rarely do films measure up to the cartoons of yesteryear; it would be unwise to expect such. Two: the phenomenon of interpersonal communication known as language will be compromised by excessive use of the word "Smurf" as both a noun and a verb, among other grammatical functions. It's probably better to just go with it.

The director appears to have adopted the philosophy, of not thinking too hard in the making of The Smurfs. At one point, one of the characters in the movie asks the Smurfs how they get their personality-based names; for example, does Clumsy Smurf become Clumsy Smurf upon his birth, or only after he has proved to be clumsy in life? The Smurfs' answer is, simply, "yes." Even Gargamel (played by Hank Azaria) sarcastically references a piece of Smurf history (Papa Smurf is apparently the father of 99 sons and 1 daughter) as "not weird at all."

This element of self-awareness, while heavy-handed, manages to save the film from itself. Taken seriously, The Smurfs is a bad movie. Taken as a light-hearted summer flick that everyone knows doesn't match up to the magic of a Saturday morning in the early '80s, it's a passable, albeit totally forgettable, experience.

The film plays like an infomercial for New York tourism, stopping at Central Park, and Time Square, pretty much anywhere that is a famous landmark in New York and everywhere a Smurf could run amok.

The voice work for the Smurfs themselves is relatively unremarkable. Azaria is, for the most part, everything one would expect Gargamel to be, though at times he goes way over the top, saying, doing, and experiencing things (like getting hit by a bus) that really could only work for actual cartoon villains. The rest of the cast are fine in their roles but you get a sense that the actors aren't really stretching themselves. I think, the movie, having been made essentially for children, may have benefitted had one of the human leads been a child.

There's nothing particularly bad about The Smurfs, length-wise, plot-wise, or otherwise. The problem is that there isn't anything particularly good, either. As mentioned, the film is plastered by a sense of its own silliness, but one still gets the feeling that no one involved with this project really tried.

It's doubtful that The Smurfs would have been great in anybody's hands, but just going through the motions and making a safe, average movie as opposed to a terrible one does not guarantee a great film, and The Smurfs is the proof.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse