Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2012
I use this book all the time. As the title will tell you, it's not intended as an encyclopaedic review of a particular subject like many of JG's later works (The Fish Book, and the wonderful The Vegetable Book), but it is aimed at celebrating the diversity of particular ingredients which have under-exploited qualities that repay thought and love. Chapter titles include: Kippers and Other Cured Fish, Meat Pies, Sweet Carrots, Parsley, Gooseberries, Apple and Quince, Five French Cakes.

The recipes are of international origin (though grounded in British and French cookery) and all aimed at family cooking, though this doesn't mean they are in any way reduced in elegance. JG's style is friendly, informative and informal, gently guiding you so that you get it right, with her own very special knack for concise instructions that precisely and exactly describe what is going on. You immediately understand the point of a recipe, and how to get there. The book also contains the first version of JG's famous curried parsnip soup.

This edition is a lovely one, as are all of Grub Street's hardback reissues of classic volumes in facsimilie of the original typesettings and illustrations. It, like the others in the series, is chunky, robust, made from good quality paper and crisply printed. It is easy to use and hollandaise sauce can be wiped off the pages, if this is done rapidly!

A modern classic from one of the great 20th century cookery writers.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
Jane Grigson manages the beguiling combination of great recipes with good writing. This is one of her best books, & along with English Food, preserves a genuine culinary tradition that forms a large part of our cultural heritage describing much loved favourites from childhood as well as excellent dishes & techniques that would otherwise be lost . It deserves a place in any serious cook's library.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2010
I just bought a new copy of this book, it's years since I lost my mum's copy and I'd forgotten how wonderful it is. It seems to me that if this small book were introduced today with all the bells and whistles that go with fashion cookbooks it wouldn't be a small book, but a whole series of volumes. The recipes and text are incredibly interesting, it's a joy to explore. I've bought lots of cookbooks and keep them on the shelf only to use only a handful of recipes, now I'm reading this book it's like finding a little pearl. It's bone dry, no photos of ingredients or work in progress, just a few line drawings. It's slow food, even better if you're good with listening to the radio whilst you cook, but not so good if you like books that follow tv shows or give time-saving keep it simple ideas.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
I bought this book because I wanted to know how to salt beef, and I was not disappointed. Perfect. boiled beef and carrots. I was pleasantly surprised to find that contrary to other cookery books the chapters are broken down into MEATS: sub-divided into beef, pork, venison, poultry, fish; etc., VEGETABLES: sub-divided into potatoes, courgettes, carrots, etc., DESSERTS: peaches, apple, blackcurrants, etc., so it makes it easy to find a recipes for an individual product and gives a selection of recipes using the this. So when you have a glut of, say courgettes or carrots from the garden, it is a simple matter of looking in the Vegetable chapter to find the appropriate vegetable, where there are several recipes for this particular product.
This helps the modern conception that to eat seasonally produced food is good for you, and cheaper to buy, and will certainly be fresh and full of flavour.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
A very rewarding book up there with Elizabeth David. Many traditional methods explained (salting beef, meat cures etc) and plenty of British and continental recipes included. Interesting to see what was not readily available in the '70s that we take for granted now. Many ingredients had to be obtained from specialist shops.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
I really like Jane Grigson cook books and bought this hardback edition to replace my very dog-eared original paperback. I was a bit disappointed because it looks a bit bland and doesn't quite have the charm of the original edition that I owned, with little drawings. However the gist of the book is the recipes and they are unchanged.

It is a little dated now as many of the ingredients which were unusual or little used are now in every supermarket. However the methods and interesting writing are much better than many modern offerings.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
Wonderful, wonderful cookery book, my 1970s-1980s copy was falling apart, so good to have a hardback copy, well-sewn, good paper.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
I was recommended this book, and it is beautifully written, I use it as a reference book. Excellent cookery from years past.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Useful for those who grow fruit and veg and like good food. A retro cookbook which stands the test of time
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
I am happy withe my purchase and the quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)