Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 6 July 2017
Unfortunately this isn't real mochi. Real mochi is soft, chewy and leaves you craving more. I've bought commercial packages mochi before and this is just not the right kind of Japanese mochi worth paying for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2017
Unfortunatley i couldnt give a higher rating as i would not order these again. The actual moch is dense but ofc, its not soft like fresh or store bought. The thing i didnt like the most was how much powder they were coated in and i couldnt taste the red bean (it was definatly there but too much powder).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2017
This arrived very quickly and was discarded with equal speed. A small bite of it resulted in a tasteless sludge, which was obviously disappointing. Would not buy again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2017
These taste ok straight-out of the packaging, but toast them under the grill, cool down, eat them then and they are gorgeous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 July 2017
Very disappointed there weren't the right ingredients and the mochi was covered in flour and there was a plain taste to it.I also found a bit of plastic in one of them which put me off.Never buying from here again and would certainly not recommend to anyone interested in buying these.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2017
Very impressed with this! It came before the date said it would and I'm very satisfied with the product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2015
The list of ingredients wasn't complete. For example, from the post, I believed this product to be completely free from "E numbers", and I also expected it to be just traditional Japanese mochi (and if I had seen the FULL list of ingredients I would have guessed it from it). Which is not. It is fine as what it is, but the ingredients and texture are wrong, they have more ingredients than needed, and while they're still good, they shouldn't be sold as the other kind of mochi because it's misleading, one is buying something thinking it's another thing. They're also harder on the stomach for those who can't tolerate potatoes very well (who would expect mochi to have potato in it especially when it doesn't say it?).

The full ingredients for this are (as described in the package and should have been posted in the ad) : Maltose, Red bean paste (20%) (Red bean (8.46%), Maltose, Sugar, Soybean oil, Red bean flavouring (0.1%)), glutinous rice powder, sugar, potato powder, water, preservative: E202, Emulsifier: E471, Thickening agent: E415.

If anyone is interested in knowing, the E numbers are reasonably safe except for the emulsifier one which is not so good. But it should still say.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2016
Apparently this stuff beats the 'mochi' served up at Yo Sushi, but if you have had fresh, handmade moci that isn't saying much.

This 'mochi' tastes pleasant because of the the azuki (red bean) paste at its centre. That said, the flavour of even the azuki paste pales incomparison to freshly made / authentic mochi and has a slightly artificial taste.

Meanwhile the glutinous rice cake encasing the azuki paste is dispoportionately thick for the amount of paste contained inside. Further, the texture of the rice cake is far more dense and more rubbery than the light and somewhat geletainous texture of authentic / freshly made mochi.

Lastly, other reviewers have said the same, but the 'mochi' is dusted far too generously in flour and needs wiping clean before eating to avoid losing much of the flavour.

Perfectly reasonable product for the price and as a snack cupboard filler, but anyone actually wanting to taste 'real' mochi would do better to locate their nearest Asian supermarket and ask what day their fresh mochi delivery is on. In most Asian supermarkets in England fresh mochi sells out quick because of its exquisite quality and flavour.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2014
I first discovered Mochi in Yo-Sushi years and years ago and always get it in any japanese restaurant. i was hosting a japanese dinner party and after youtubing methods to make your own mochi, i decided that i would try and buy some ready made to save me the hassle... so finding this was a god-send.

This is the nicest mochi I have ever had!!! It's so much better than Yo-Sushi's and the taste and texture is so traditional you just cant go wrong!

I must say, red bean paste (the sweet filling) is either loved or hated by people but even those not too sure about it come around to the deliciousness of it after a few bites.

The cooked mochi covering the filling is to die for!!! Its very similar to like a gummy marshmellow in taste and texture (think of a less dense haribo milk bottle sweet) but not as sickly. Mochi Rice flour once cooked and shaped into mochi is very sticky so there is a rice powder finish on these to keep them from making a sticky mess all over the packaging but this isnt so much as to taint the flavour and texture.

I would totally buy these again! so delicous and sooo convenient, if you want to stay traditional stick with these! I cannot fault them in any way...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2013
So tasty! I love it! They are soft and chewy and have a really nice sweet taste. Perfect if your already used to these tastes! People who haven't had them before might find them unusual.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)