Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
35
4.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2012
I have been a fan of this band since the first time i did hear "Hold your Head Up" on the radio and bought the extraordinary "All Together Now" album. Since then i tried to keep track of what they did, but the problem with them is that they had or never had a proper public relations agent or their record company did not promote them much as they deserved.

This "new" compilation comes because they recently re-formed for some few dates. All ARGENT members are extraordinary good musicians. ROD ARGENT, is a former member of the ZOMBIES and also played on THE WHO s' WHO ARE YOU album and produced late extraordinary colombian singer SORAYA all cds and hits. BOB HENRIT and ROBERT ROTFORD became drummer and bassist for THE KINKS.

And guitar player and composer extraordinarie RUSS BALLARD not only recorded top solo cds but also penned hit singles for AMERICA (You can Do Magic and Border), ROGER DALTREY (Free Me), RAINBOW (I Surrender and Since You Been Gone),and ABBA s' singer Frida s biggest hit all over the world "I Know there is something goin on".

RUSS BALLARD had some solo minor singles "VOICES" and "THE FIRE STILL BURNS" and his latest solo cd is his most personal and very best.

ARGENT s' songs like ITS ONLY MONEY (covered by KISS), and GOD GAVE ROCK AND ROLL TO YOU (Kiss) and ALL YOUR HEAD UP covered by FISH and URIAH HEEP among several others.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
As has been reported in another review, the track marker points for this disc are incorrectly placed and the tracks begin and end in the wrong places.
This is particularly annoying if, like me, you rip your CDs to Flac files for use on a media box. Because the media box doesn't handle seamless tracks very well I get noticeable pauses in the tracks themselves and not BETWEEN the tracks. The music is excellent but buy it on a DIFFERENT disc.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
Argent never really got the recognition they deserved. It`s so refreshing to hear the original of `God Gave Rock `N` Roll` again, as opposed to the abysmal Kiss cover version, but at least it verified how good Argent were! This is a great album for those who like real early unmessed 70`s rock. I should know, i was there when this was released!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
Let be clear - The three stars are for the CD performance and not the music!
The Music is classic stuff.
The CD itself, from track five onward tags the first 4 or 5 seconds of the next track onto the track playing. So tracks after track 4 have the beginning clip off, if your player is set on random or a setlist is programmed.
I've try the disc in 3 different players and it's the same in all of them.
Beware.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2011
Some really great music on here (see reviews above) - and not just the hits - but the track markers are in the wrong place, making it impossible to skip tracks / or add to your iTunes library. Very frustrating!
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
this for me was for my ipod i only knew 2 songs but i found some great music on this cd good guitars and fabulous keyboards i have been getting a lot of music from the 70s but this was a great surprise a very good introduction to a band i know so little about . well worth a listen . don d
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
I have long been a fan of 70s prog rock but Argent were a band I have sadly overlooked. But no more - and I am enjoying finding out more about their work. The anthemic "God Gave Rock & Roll To You" is worth the price of the collection alone. I found myself singing it for weeks and there are many other gems here too. Now kicking myself for not discovering them sooner - don't make the same mistake people!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
As previously stated, the track markers are all in the wrong place on this CD, the result being that you get about 10 seconds of the following track at the end of the previous track. Not too distracting if you're listening to the whole CD, but useless if you want to play individual tracks, or add tracks to your playlist. Avoid !!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
Awfully edited. Lots of the songs start at the end of the previous track. No problem if listening from start to finish but if you like to play on shuffle or put individual songs in a mp3 player, you lose about 10 seconds of the intro.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
I love all the old bands and Argent is no exception ,it is amazing how many songs of theres that you forget but this cd has a fair selection of oldies .
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)