Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
45
2.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2007
This is one of the worst films I have ever seen and I am a huge fan of gritty British films. This isn't gritty - gritty films by the likes of Dominic Savage and Ken Loach are gritty because they smack of truth. They are rooted in truthful characters and situations, improvised or scripted brilliantly. The script for this awful attempt at a film is so weak I find it hard to believe it was ever made. Who funded this? What were they thinking?

It is clear this director knows nothing what so ever about kids living this sort of life, nor does he have the first idea about gang rape. Rather than ripping off A Clockwork Orange and presenting his limited view of what gang rape might be like, he should have done some research into the realities of this sort of rape. The rapes seem to be there for the sake of controversy - a way of getting the film talked about. If that is Clay's aim - he achieved it.

The character of Robert is so badly written and acted that his role in the events throughout is unconvincing. I just can't believe that this talented Cellist would ever hang out with this bunch of losers let alone become the most violent of the bunch. Robert's final violent act is just beyond unbelieveable. We are never given any insight into why he becomes violent. watching a few news items on the Iraq war and taking a few drugs just isn't enough I'm afraid!

As if the script and direction weren't bad enough, the acting throughout is appalling - not one good performance - even the brilliant Danny Dyer struggles to make the terrible dialogue sound good.

Overall - absolute rubbish.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2007
Ok, so here I am, reviewing 'The 'Great' Ecstasy of Robert Carmichael.' This . . . film, has to be the worst one to ever come out of Britain, which is such a shame because I love new British movies, especially by new/young directors. But THIS, what was this? There was NO meaningful dialogue and absolutely NO characterization or plot. The fact that the only scene I can remember is the last one (a brutal gang rape of a woman in front of her husband which is shown in the most violent and horrific detail I have ever seen) shows what an appalling movie this really was.

Oh and there are many people who are talking about "art" and asking us to "look within the film to see its true messgage." I did...it was still rubbish. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2008
I ruined my Sunday afternoon watching this vile pornography masquerading as post-modernist social realism (or whatever cliché you choose). Not only is it pornographic - in the extreme in the final scenes - it is quite simply a terrible film. No discernible plot, no characterisation, some appalling ham acting (TV food critic and wife). Do you know? I woke up this morning and put the DVD in the bin. I feel tainted by having watched this film, both as film-lover and relatively moral person. This film doesn't even deserve one star.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2007
This film neither challenges, explores or concludes anything. It is a best a macabre rip off of the TV series Shameless and at worst is a homage to a snuff film. I am not particularly squeamish or easily offended (for instance I found the film Irreversible very profound in spite of it's terrible violence) but this is just foul and pointless. Poor acting particularly the teacher and tv chef. It is laughably embarassing as a piece of film until the final scene which just left me bemused. Total waste of time.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2007
Utter rubbish. Tries to be clever, fails. Cliched panned cameras, cliched use of surround sound and displaced musical score. Extremely poor acting. One of the most pointlessly brutal scenes ever seen, purely to create controversy. Unbelievable and insubstantial script. Yet another film with unrealistic drugs scenes. And above all it's got Danny Dyer in it (which I didn't know when I hired it), who is currently the biggest idiot in Britain.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
One of the most deppressing films I have ever seen. Presents the view that todays youth is morally bankrupt on all fronts: drug taking rape more drugs gang rape suicide by overdose and finally the piece de resistance of awful yet more sustained gang rape with added sodomy and brutal murder thrown in and that ladies and gentlemen is your movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2007
i found this to be sadistic and provocative for the sake of it the director focused more on who was going to be gang raped next rather than let us get to know the characters in detail and having a plot. Being provocative does not neccesarily mean the film will be good like scum provocative but excellent as you feel for the characters and understand why they are doing these things.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
this is not a film if you are after an easy watch. it is intense and puts your nerves on end in places. brings out all sorts of emotions and is an excellent piece of film making. if you buy it for the Danny factor you may be disappointed as he does not have a huge part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2011
I enjoyed the film although nothing much really happens until the end, it builds up for ages and the final scene is pretty horrifying. Worth a watch but nothing special!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2008
Like one of its foulmouthed delinquents , this contrived teenage drama has got the swagger down but does not have the smarts to back it up. Its the story of a disaffected youth who ends up bothering car parks with the wrong crowd. Before long he is committing despicable acts of rape.

Suck lazy characterisation is unforegivebale , more so the clumsy attempts at drawing a parallel with Iraq to try and justify the carnage of the cringeworthy final scene. Total garbage.
Avoid.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)