Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 February 2014
I bought this as a cheap option for a midi controller, in particular to play my Korg Volca Bass as my fat fingers find it very difficult to hit the small Volca keys built in the unit... this works very well and at the price (around £9) it's a steal!!! great service from both Amazon & supplier..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2017
does fully work with midi, 1/10th the price of a real keytar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2017
came missing crucial partts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2017
I bought it as a keytar to play with my friends. You can use the MIDI OUT port or, with some work, you can actually use it without a cable by plugging the provided adapter into the USB port of your computer.

Please note, it's still only a MIDI controller so you need something that has a MIDI IN port (or USB if you use the MIDI to USB cable or if you use the wireless adapter) and can act accordingly. In my case it's either a Korg synth connected with a MIDI cable or a different apps on my PC for playing with the wireless adapter.

Getting it to use the mentioned wireless adapter is a bit tricky, but if you are good with computers you'll be fine. Basically you need to find a small soft that can understand the data your adapter receives (rb2midi is what I use) and another tiny app to create a new virtual MIDI device in your system the data can be routed to. That virtual device should appear now in any software that can work with MIDI. Once you're there, you're all sorted.

I was afraid of the latency issues when playing without the cable, but there is none (or pretty insignificant), however you may want to use ASIO4ALL - if you're into making music on a PC, you probably know what it is. My desktop computer is fine with handling everything, however my small cheap laptop had some issues - it would miss a note every couple of minutes (not a big issue when working at home, but it's practically a no-go if you think about the live performance; anyway, if you want to make music at home, you can probably use some bigger keyboard). I'm pretty sure if that was the app that coverts the signal rather than DAW (or the VST plugin I used) so using a faster machine helps.

The keytar itself is nice, the keyboard is ok. With the keys on the top you can change the octave up and down, you can also send the program change signals (so if you're setting instruments externally, make sure you don't press those as they will change the sound you've selected). With the ribbon controller you can control the modulation, it takes a bit of time to find out the sweet spot though. The only problem is the pitch bender - in theory you can press the button next to the ribbon bar and use the bar to control the pitch but it's very hard to do it properly - it's pretty hard to be precise because the bar is not very long. The bigger problem however is that the pitch bender DOES NOT go back itself to the neutral state and it's almost impossible to do that with the bar.

If you don't use it for a while, it will turn itself off and you need to press some control button. Great way to save the batteries.

For that price, it's a great piece of gear. Are you thinking of buying a keytar but you're not sure whether you should stay in the back of the stage or join your fellow guitarists? Get this one, it will help you find out if you need a big proper one (with more octaves and a functional pitch bender).

My apologies for the lack of any info regarding the main purpose of this device which is mainly a game controller but I had no chance to use it this way. I bought it purely for its MIDI capability.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2013
Yes, it works well as a controller for Rock Band 3 on the Wii. (That game is tricky in "Pro Keys" mode because of the low screen resolution of the Wii - makes it hard to make out the different keys on the screen.)

HOWEVER - forget all that, because THIS is basically a 2-octave, full sized keys, MIDI controller keyar, that doesn't look (too much) like a toy when you've got it strapped on. It has a MIDI Out - so you're basically free to hook it up to any MIDI compatible sound source, whether you own a Wii or not. 'Proper' keytars cost HUNDREDS of pounds!

It runs on 3 AA batteries - and they're included in the box (so even more of a bargain)!

If they put this in a pro music shop for a tenner, they'd fly off the shelves. Go on, you know you want one. Let's start a keytar revolution!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2017
Great! Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2012
The keyboard is a fine addition to the Rock Band game. The keyboard has a realistic feel and is great to play. Loads of fun, especially in pro mode.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2016
Amazing for the price. I don't use it for Rockband, I use it as a keytar on stage with its MIDI port. I usually have it hooked up to my Bass Station 2 so I can sing and play at the same time without hiding behind the keyboard stand. It's great that it's velocity sensitive and you can change patches and octaves with the buttons on it. And the sliders is your mod wheel/pitch bend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2014
Bought this as a cheap midi keyboard. Solid construction, really nice feel to the keys, does everything I want it to. Loses a star for relying on battery power with no option to plug into the mains.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2014
Good quality and easy to hook up with the rest of the Rockband gear. We have a number of kids who come round and play so, this is an excellent extra instrument so, less sitting out and taking turns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)