Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
74
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
52
4 star
22
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
I watched the original series on TV, and was impressed with Robert Bartlett's clear and interesting presentation style. Subsequently purchased this as a present for a History-loving friend, and I know that she'll love it too. Great value, quickly dispatched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2010
Not ignoring as a French the french part of the "Normands" history (Normandy...etc), I found it extremely interesting to discover the rest of their incredible and fascinating story in :Sicily, Palestine etc...
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 December 2011
This excellent series is not just a history of the Norman conquest of England; it's scope is much wider. It is presented by Professor Robert Bartlett.

Each one-hour episode of the three-part series can be split into two distinct halves. Episode one, MEN FROM THE NORTH, shows how a band of Viking pirates became a major political force in its first half; whilst the second focuses on the conquest of England up to and including the Battle of Hastings. (I would have preferred the former to have occupied a while episode, since it is so vital as to what followed later.) The second hour, CONQUEST, whilst beginning with the death of William, actually addresses the resulting conquest of England in the first half - a conquest of culture as much as by force - and the differing later conquests of Scotland, Wales, and Ireland in the second. NORMANS OF THE SOUTH is the title of the third episode, where Bartlett explores their legacy in the Mediterranean and the Middle East. The first half looks at southern Italy and Sicily; the second at the First Crusade.

Bartlett has a neat turn of phrase. For example: "They came, they saw, they conquered. Then they married the locals, learned the language, and assimilated themselves out of existence." Not only well-written and well-presented, the series is also beautifully shot. On the latter, I particularly enjoyed the instance of the blades of a modern windfarm in Normandy being used as a metaphor of the blades of swords in battle. The series's music is also worthy of note; though, alas, uncredited, it has an epic cinematic quality that perfectly matches the story to be told.

Thankfully, the series engages only minimal attempts at dramatic reconstruction; it is no docudrama (though is that the facial features of Bartlett himself on the dead body of William the Conqueror?). Bartlett skilfully employs the words of contemporary chroniclers and other documents in his argument. He also alludes to other means of communication - such as art, architecture, and archaeology (for example coins) - in trying to understand the Norman mind; and, of course, there is the Bayeux Tapestry.

All this praise is not to say that there are no problems. For instance, the Vikings were not and are not renowned for being especially proficient with the horse or for building in stone, yet Bartlett provides no explanation as to why the Normans became great cavalrymen whilst those in England's Danelaw (for example) did not, or whence the Normans obtained their love of motte and bailey castles. There are, too, some anachronisms; when Bartlett talks of the Domesday Book, I spotted a quick sight of the Luttrell Psalter, and we witness gothic arches on screen when Bartlett refers to the cathedral-building of the Normans.

In the series Bartlett argues that the compilation of Domesday Book was a direct result of King William's need for more money. Dr Stephen Baxter, though, in the hour-long `extra' episode on this disc, sees Domesday as being more in the mould of providing security of title, whilst at the same time confirming William as the legal heir to Edward the Confessor and all landholders being dependent on him. Maybe, but why did William need this? I think Baxter's argument against Domesday being a tax document, whilst interesting, is flawed.

The prerogative of the young, Baxter is brasher than Bartlett. He clearly knows his stuff but is less magisterial. There are problems too: Gloucester Cathedral was not such in 1085, and the Domesday inventory was not "down to the last pig". (This is hype and Baxter knows this.) Nevertheless, this is a good detailed look at Domesday. Along the way we learn, for example, how parchment is made.

There is no book to accompany Bartlett's series, but for those wishing to explore the Norman world of England in print, Bartlett's contributory volume to the New Oxford History of England is also worth five stars.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
"The Normans" is a truly excellent starting point. For the layperson, who probably only recognises the date and William's name, it's a chance to be introduced to the full story and some of the factors that affected events and motivations that drove the leading players. For me, it provided a loose overview of the background involved, explaining why the Normans were distinct from the rest of France, and it refreshed my memory of the events of the Norman conquest.

The visuals are shot just right. Bartlett presents key scenes to us, and stands present at the key locations and surviving artefacts, placing such items and locations in context today, but at the same time we are equally treated to languorously lingering close ups of the artefacts, sweeping shots of the buildings, and a few abstract shots of extras in period clothing but thankfully no low budget third rate acting. Bartlett is an excellent choice of presenter. He clearly knows what he's talking about, and can add interesting detail to proceedings whilst at the same time engaging the viewer. I found the supporting music cast just right; the tone of it suited the subject matter, and furthermore it did not overwhelm the dialogue - there are increasing complaints of programmes whose music drowns out the dialogue of the presenter or otherwise overwhelms and spoils certain elements of the programme. The programme was both informative and entertaining, and the one addition I would have liked to have seen would have been a genealogical graphic explaining Rollo's connection to William the Conqueror.

Some history documentaries have a tendency to feel slow, dry, or drag in places even though they are informative. This series does not, and engages throughout. It should also be commended for presenting a new side to the Normans that has not often been in the public consciousness - the fact that the Normans also had an effect on states and cultures outside of England, even dramatically so across Europe.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
The Normans was a brilliant bit of television when it was aired. History came to life for me watch the series and watching it again on DVD has been a treat. The documentary focuses on the story of the Normans throughout their history. This is more than the nth retelling of the norman conquest of britain - there is a significant history behind the Normans and it is actually really very exciting. I am realy engaged by a documentary when it's more than just a series of dry facts - as history can often be presented. Here history is a grand tale, throughly engaging and fascinating. Professor Bartlett does a great job of enthusing about his subject and we get to visit some great places. I can't really enthuase about this programme enough.

I was less engaged by Doomsday but it is still a superb programme. Dr Baxter is actually very personable and i like that he challenges current theories openly. It's an interesting programme but the Doomsday book in isolation just doesn't have the grand scope of The Normans. What this programme does do well is illustrate the real impact of the norman invasion. I found it surprising and refreshing in a lot of ways and these two programmes together definitely work extremely well.

If you have never been grabbed by Norman History, this programme could well change your outlook. I say give it a go. They are high quality documentaries, packed with information and a worth addition to anyone's shelf.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
The Battle of Hastings, Norman Castles, the Domesday Book, etc. The story is so familiar it takes a good presenter to breath new life into this period of history. Professor Robert Bartlett might not be as easy on the eye as Bettany Hughes, but he does have gravitas and a complete command of his subject.

Much of the filming was done in winter and a good attempt is made at creating darkly atmospheric scenes; for instance, Ely Cathedral is approached in convoluted fashion, via the Fenland Marshes. And there is much use of the phrase: "The Chronicles tell us...."

The series gets really interesting when it delves into the much less familiar story of the Norman conquest of southern Italy and Sicily; leading to the First Crusade. Bartlett contends, that although the Normans eventually disappeared, they successfully survived by a process of integration. He delivers a great line: "They came, they saw, they conquered, they married the locals and assimilated themselves out of existence." Nice one Prof!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
This is an absolutely first class series which I greatly enjoyed and recommend unreservedly. One thing it could have made clearer while speaking of the supposedly 'mixed' racial origins of the English population however, is that the Normans, Saxons, Jutes and Danes were all closely related Germanic tribes, who were all originally from the same region of Scandinavia/Northern Germany. The only significant differences between them were actually linguistic/cultural not racial; IE:- Saxon 'fashion' encouraged long hair and moustouches, the Normans had a type of 'skinhead' crop, while the Vikings wore their hair braided. An excellent DVD which illustrates these close genetic ties is:- Face of Britain [DVD] which is centred around a landmark reseach project carried out by Oxford University geneticist Sir Walter Bodmer. He and his team have created the most detailed DNA map of Britain ever, and show us, I quote:- "exactly who our ancestors were, where they came from and what they looked like.". This highly informative 155min 3 part series is the perfect companion to The Normans and I unconditionally recommend both as highly informative educational entertainment.
The Normans [DVD]
Face of Britain [DVD]
22 Comments| 112 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)