Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 2014
It is odd. I downloaded the driver from thier website and installed it as per instructions.
I have only just installed it and tested it with 2 and 3 TB USB3 hardrives. 1 you have to hold it when inserting the usb connector form the external hardrive or the pressure pushs card in and ejects it. Which is unerving when attaching a harddrive with back up data. 2 in having to pull the usb connector out and pushing another 1 in care is need to make sure you hold it in a way the card does not move.
3 Once connected it is fine but when safe disconnecting the external harddirve and pulling the usb connector out and reinserting there is no response. The laptop does not see the external hardrive even though it is spinning-though if restart the laptop with the usb connector still inserted the external hardrive then shows up.
So in using it I will attach 2 external hardrives and do the necessary moving of files then shutdown the laptop and attach other USB3 external hardrives rather then the risk of something causing the laptop or external hardrives to have some sort of meltdown.
For myself with a history of faulty hardrives and unreliable laptops and desktop computers I take great care in anything that is attached to them and check many times before allowing any critical data to be handled by any gadgests the technology industry dumps on the public.
So it works but with care and checking. The speed is very good. Laptop is a 2008 model and not cheap with a recently installed 7200rpm drive.
I cannot afford the luxury of just buying every year the latest gizmos to feed an industry that does not develop for everyones pocket and have to look for ways to keep working with in the technology I have.
So I am happy enough that it works and saves me days if not weeks sorting out data which ties up the laptop from doing other things.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
I have an Core2Duo, 4,5 year old laptop with Windows 8 Pro x64. I inserted the card and the drivers were installed automatically. I copied a video file of 20 GB, on an external USB 3 compatible hard drive, and I got the first 20 % of the file writing speed of 88 MB/s, and the rest of the file it stayed at 55-60 MB/s.
I am please with the purchase.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Usb 3.0 ( dell studio 1747 + Transcend Expresscard USB 3.0 power cable plugged + WD Elements 2TB USB 3.0 ) :

CrystalDiskMark 3.0.3 x64

Sequential Read : 94.500 MB/s
Sequential Write : 88.667 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 38.346 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 47.943 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.530 MB/s
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 1.434 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 0.579 MB/s
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 1.414 MB/s

Usb 3.0 ( dell studio 1747 + Transcend Expresscard USB 3.0 without power cable + WD Elements 2TB USB 3.0 ) :

CrystalDiskMark 3.0.3 x64

Sequential Read : 94.271 MB/s
Sequential Write : 51.876 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 38.212 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 47.833 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.544 MB/s
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 1.434 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 0.575 MB/s
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 1.434 MB/s

Usb 2.0 ( dell studio 1747 + WD Elements 2TB USB 3.0 ) :

CrystalDiskMark 3.0.3 x64

Sequential Read : 33.585 MB/s
Sequential Write : 25.521 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 20.949 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 25.034 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.504 MB/s
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 1.351 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 0.549 MB/s
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 1.380 MB/s

Why 4 stars ? Because it can be easily move out from the dell`s express port. Click and lock function doesn`t work for me, not a big issue.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
I bought this product to try and reduce the disk i/o bottleneck I experienced when running VMs from a USB hardrive, and in that respect, this has performed well.
Installation under Windows 8/8.1 (64bit) was just a matter of plugging the device in. It does take up an existing USB port to draw power for the USB device you plug into it, however, if you are using memory sticks as opposed to hardrives, you can get away without using this.

Transfer rates on read and write are a dramatic improvement over the USB 2 speeds, and I can now run 1-2 VMs concurrently per USB3 Disk - if you are lucky enough to have an SSD in a USB 3 caddy, you can run 4-5 happily.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Purchased to use with two USB3 portable hard drives and the transferring of photos between laptop and the HDD's. The process appears to take the same times as without using the Card. A neat device, but too bulky to leave connected when taking the laptop "out and about", so presumably always a danger of damage by static electricity (as mentioned in the installation instructions) with every insertion and removal. The SDHC card reader slot is directly underneath the Expresscard slot on my laptop which makes accessing it almost impossible with the Interface card installed. But at least it gives me two extra USB ports when not transferring photos.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
high quality stuff, really well made. came with a usb cable for extra power. when both ports are used, it seems necessary.
it seems the top speed has been limited by something, not my usb hard drive i think. maybe something in its firmware. the top speed can only reach around 70mBps.

and the chip is from Renesas.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2011
I've used it a few times in my laptop and it works well. Of course USB 3 is limited by the system its working through so don't expect miracles if you have a low end PC.
UPDATE: For some time I haven't used this Express Card Adapter, but now after having it for 18 months and using it along with an e-sata drive connected and an HDMI connection I find that the connection is lost after a few minutes when transferring files. Anyway, I cannot give it 5 stars. I even updated the driver and still the connection kept going. Apologies to Transcend and supplier. Lucky for me it is not so expensive. Actually, what is so annoying is that for an £800 Sony laptop you'd think that USB 3 ports would have replaced USB 2 ages ago.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2011
No problem with delivery or packaging, and basically, it does what it says on the tin.

The only criticism I have is the need for additional power being drawn from other USB ports. If, as on some Vaios, the PC Card is on the opposite side from the USB ports, you have to run a cable across the front of the laptop, making it a bit messy for continuous use. This was a present for my son to go with a USB 3.0 HDD, but he only uses it when he has large amounts of data to shift, preferring normally to use the HDD in 2.0 mode.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
This is a very good product, the USB3 speed isaround 50-60mb/s which is quite good in comparison with USB2 (30mb/s). The only drawback is that you cannot use both USB ports on the same time.Thus 4 stars instead of 5.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Works well in two Lenovo laptops I have, though the additional spacer available at extra cost is a good idea. I have tried a number of these devices with very mixed results but this one is very stable and reliable on both 32bit and 64bit Windows 7. It struggles a little with high power items such as USB powered hard disks but mice, keyboards etc are fine. It does protrude a long way out of the side of the laptop and I wonder if this is might turn out a little fragile, so dropped a star.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)