Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
184
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

A celebration indeed. Charismatic conductor. Audience clearly relishing every moment - the orchestra too. Memories evoked of some of the greatest screen musicals. So many highlights, especially that exhilarating toe-tapping barn dance from "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers".

Others have gone into detail, the praise justified. I shall not repeat. Reservations? The commentators' links do not really help, in fact tend to irritate. Better by far would have been brief on-screen captions at each number's start. The singers, fine as they are, seem at times rather overwhelmed - both visually and with the sheer scale of sound. On film they would have had prominence, every word clear. Here the orchestra dominated. With orchestrations so dazzling, this does not seem to matter. In fact, when so much is enjoyed, it seems nit-picking to mention such thoughts.

One warms enormously to a conductor who so painstakingly (and lovingly) recreated the original scores, his enthusiasm clearly infectious. No wonder the Proms has been anxious to have John Wilson back. Yes, please, many happy returns!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2010
This was, as so many others have said, without doubt a musical treat like no other.

Fantastic orchestrations by John Wilson to accompany a hugely talented group of soloists, all leading performers in their own right, and splendid chorus to thrill you for two hours of the most glorious music and singing featuring so many of the songs that have filled theatres, concert halls and cinemas all down the years, with the music of our lifetime. Thank you the BBC for producing this - although they consistantly said for nearly a year that it would not be issued!

Am thrilled to have got tickets to see The Rodgers and Hammerstein, John Wilson Prom on 22nd August.

This dvd is one of the best purchases you will ever make!

Must concur, the commentary in between was obtrusive, vacuous and unnecessary, but does not spoil this fabulous evenings entertainment.

Encore, John Wilson, take a bow, cant imagine what a reception you will receive this year.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Even for someone like myself who wasn't around for any of the musicals covered in this set, I fund the performance recorded for this set, superbly infectious. I am so very impressed with the enthusiasm and verve that John brings out of his orchestra and soloists. But most of all his genius arrangements.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Great orchestral performances with great vocals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Just love watching this DVD with the fantastic John Wilson and his hand picked orchestra. The singers are also first class and combined with John Wilson and his orchestra make tip top entertainment! Can watch it over and over!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
great buy Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
Most of it enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
BBC Marketing Executives must be total phillistines ! The BBC transmitted this concert in HIGH DEFINITION with 5:1 SURROUND SOUND, watched by 3.5 Million viewers.
So why has it not been released on BLU-RAY ?
It is so obvious that the sheer quality and popularity of the John Wilson Orchestra's sound, cries out for it to be released on the highest Quality DVD format presently available ! NOT in mediocre STANDARD Definition Video and in only TWO CHANNEL DD audio. I had high expectations for this DVD, but when I read the video & audio details I realised that it is exactly the same as the recording of the broadcast, that I have on the hard drive of my SONY DVD Recorder ! Come on BBC, the nations licence payer's, music lovers, HI-FI fans, audiophiles, and all those High Definition TV and High Quality Surround Sound System owners, demand better!
22 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
Let joy be unconfined! This was the smash hit of last year's Prom season so I put my order in as soon as I heard that due to popular demand it was being released on DVD. Who says the licence payers don't have any clout? I sat completely entranced when this was first broadcast listening to excerpts from some of my favourite musicals and it was wonderful to watch the enthusiasm of the John Wilson Orchestra who were clearly having an absolute ball, never mind the audience! John Wilson, in the words of Cole Porter, you're the tops! More please!!!
22 Comments| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2010
As others have commented before me, this DVD is a pure delight, and given the fact the BBC were inundated with requests for repeats, I guess they accepted this was *the* highlight show of the Proms Season.

John Wilson is a genuis, deserving of an Oscar or even a Knighthood, for his epic task in bringing all of this original score music back to life.

The orchestra was sublime. The vocalists truly showed their love for the music and lyrics, their enjoyment shone through. Particularly, I enjoyed the duet between Seth McFarlane and Curtis Stigers and I hope that a remake of 'High Society' is now on the cards, with these as the main male characters.

If only the BBC would use more of our licence fee to produce such spectacular entertainment as this more often, instead of endless celebrity/reality TV shows.

As an aside, John Wilson is involved in 'The John Lennon Songbook', which I saw in Liverpool last year and it was an amazing piece of work. Catch it if you can before it goes to China, which is where it heads later in 2010.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)