Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
202
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2015
This DVD double set is EXCELLENT . It just proves that in TAKE THAT who has all the talent . The videos are total BRILLIANT . LET ME ENTERTAIN YOU is great and a real tribute to KISS who were (AND STILL ARE IN MY OPINION) Washed out wanna be rock stars ? All the singers who have toured with queen over the years since MERCURY CROAKED have been good but if ROBBIE WILLIAMS had of toured with them they would of been really great . MR WILLIAMS would of really pulled it off very well even the STUPID VEST & MOUSTACHE would of looked good on ROBBIE . There isn't a bad video on this collection . It even includes the TAKE THAT video for everything changes . A must for any ROBBIE / TAKE THAT OR POP FAN
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
briliant thanku....xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
did not like the cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
Very good thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
all good , just takes time to get it right
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Good album :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Being a two-disc compilation, 'In and Out of Consciousness' is able to be a much more in-depth retrospective of Robbie Williams' solo music than a single CD ever could be. Spanning twenty years of recording material, this 39 track album really is the definitive collection of the one time king of British pop's work, from 1990-2010.

The tracks are presented in reverse order, and things open up on disc one with a brand new track, 'Shame', which is the first of two collaborations with former Take That band mate and subsequent enemy for many years, Gary Barlow, the other song is 'Everything Changes', a major hit for the boy band at the start of Robbie's career, which closes out the second disc. Seven of these songs were number one hits, and how can you not resist the perfect ballad 'Angels', or pop perfection like 'Millennium' and 'Let Me Entertain You?', although I can guarantee that you'll find lots more favourites here. His swinging cover of 'Mr. Bojangles', duet of 'Something Stupid' with Nicole Kidman, and 'Kids' with Kylie Minogue are also included.

If you are looking for the best Robbie Williams release that isn't a studio album, this is the one to buy, all the essentials the first eight albums are here, and the songs you can expect to hear when you 'listen to on the radio', to coin a certain phrase.

The CDs have housed in cardboard packaging, with pictures of Robbie's singles in the inlay, and comes complete with a booklet featuring lots of good photographs of him taken over the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 October 2010
The one thing you could probably never accuse Robbie Williams of is being boring. Certainly not musically anyway. Arguably the "charisma" of Take That, no amount of sub-Coldplay knock off's or women in their late 20's/early 30's screaming at Take That's recent comeback could change the fact that without Robbie, Take That lost the edge that made them such a fun proposition during the glory days. It's also worth pointing out that it's debateable whether Take That's comeback outselling Robbie's Rudebox really made up for the YEARS of success Williams had without his former band mates. Still, now that Take That's comeback had run out of steam and Robbie (and this greatest hits compilation if we're being honest) needed a career boost they did the sensible thing and got back together.

This "backwards" compilation starts with William's new single with Gary Barlow and whilst it would be easy to be cynical about its lyrical content there's no denying that it's a great song. From there we go back in time all the way back to Take That's Everything Changes; it's a strange way to compile a greatest hits in some ways but in may ways it works. The ubiquitous likes of Angels and Rock DJ may have lost some of their lustre over the years but are no less welcome on an occasional basis for all that and the less played-to-death hits like Millennium and Feel can be welcomed back like old school friends. She's Madonna and Lovelight show that Rudebox was by no means the disaster it was made out to be, whilst the fact that he could rope Nicole Kidman in for a duet of Something Stupid shows just how "big" Williams was at his peak, no matter how misguided you may feel that particular idea was.

If I was picking out what I considered to be his absolute finest hour musically, I would plump for the majestic No Regrets. Telling the story of his failed relationship with All Saints' Nicole Appleton it's a sweeping epic that (with the help of Neil Tennant and Neil Hannon) encapsulates the thoughtful and melancholy side to Williams character that was always there, even through the hedonistic "good" times.

For all the criticism Williams gets this set shows that he was never one to rest on his laurels. In many ways he's the unlikely star who many would have bet on to fade into obscurity. If it hadn't been for the surprise success of Angels that may well have been the case. He parlayed, however, that monster hit into a genuinely interesting career which may not have always "worked" in terms of great music but was rarely boring or straightforward. Two discs leaves us with some mis-fires and you may find yourself editing down the good stuff to fit on one CD, but in many ways this set is a fitting tribute to the eccentricity of Williams and his willingness to follow his own path.
88 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
All the singles from 1996 to 2010 . A couple of new songs too . My heart and I is a beautiful song. All the well known hits and the songs ignored by the radio stations like the very underrated Morning sun (Sport relief single) . If you like Robbie's songs ,you'll love this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2011
A fantastic collection of all the greats from Robbie Williams. It's a big hit in our house! It compliments the CD In And Out Of Consciousness: Greatest Hits 1990 - 2010 beautifully so now I can either sing-a-long in the car, with my iPod or watch on TV - FAB!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.49
£5.69

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)