Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
29
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2013
Lazarus is a movie that takes its time and only disappointingly gives up on telling the story at the very end. It's an incredibly engaging film with a superb soundtrack that really adds to the experience. Paul Walker is always mesmerising as he tries to comprehend the world he now exists in. He is superbly supported by a great cast. I loved trying to figure who he was, what and where he was. For all that kept me engaged through the movie, Lazarus serves us the ending we hoped for and in the process shies away from finishing the story it told us, which made the end a little disappointing. Check out the soundtrack
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
Excellent film. Shows that Paul Walker was more than just another racing-orientated actor. Unfortunately we won't be seeing any more under-the-radar gems like this, but it's good to find such depth to an actor even after his death. The story constantly twists and nothing is ever for certain until the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Lazarus Project is directed by John Patrick Glen, who also co-writes the screenplay with Evan Astrowsky. It stars Paul Walker, Linda Cardellini, Piper Perabo, Bob Gunton, Malcolm Goodwin and Tony Curran. Music is by Brian Tyler and cinematography by Jerzy Zielinski.

A reformed criminal out on parole is beset by bad luck and finds himself sentenced to die by lethal injection. Strange then that once the lethal dose is administered, he wakes up working as a grounds-keeper at a psychiatric hospital...

John Glen's first directing assignment is very much a mixed bag, but if landing in the DVD/Blu-ray players of the right audience it could well gain some momentum in the wake of Walker's untimely death.

It's one of those films that operates at a funereal pace and thrives on other worldly atmosphere. After the introductions to the main character and his psychological make-up is out the way, pic shifts into a realm where we, as well as Walker's character, are never sure what is real or what is going on. Is he in some afterlife place? Is it all in his head? A dream? Drug induced? And etc. One of the smart things about the movie is that it binds the audience to the mystery by asking us to fill in the gaps with our own logic. While crucially the reveal comes at the right time so as to give us viewers the opportunity to re-evaluate the various quandaries that the piece has thrown up.

For those who like films like Jacob's Ladder, Shutter Island, The Jacket et al, then this has to be at the very least of interest, to warrant the chance to sell itself to those particular sub-genre fans, besides which, it also shows a string to Walker's acting bow that was rarely tapped into by other directors. And it's beautifully shot by Zielinski too. Contemplative, intriguing and even chilling as regards the various themes it deals with, this Lazarus deserves its own second coming. 7/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 August 2012
Ben Garvey is an ex-con with everything now to live for. He loses it all - his wife, his daughter, his life. Execution for his role in the death of a policeman isn't the end for Ben Garvey though.

Lazarus is a movie that takes its time and only disappointingly gives up on telling the story at the very end. It's an incredibly engaging film with a superb soundtrack that really adds to the experience. Paul Walker is always mesmerising as he tries to comprehend the world he now exists in. He is superbly supported by a great cast. I loved trying to figure who he was, what and where he was. For all that kept me engaged through the movie, Lazarus serves us the ending we hoped for and in the process shies away from finishing the story it told us, which made the end a little disappointing. Check out the soundtrack
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ben Garvey (Paul Walker) finds himself afoul of the law and is subsequently dispatched. He knows this should be the end if he wakes up to find himself any serial is the place supposedly as a groundskeeper in a mental institution. He tries to accept this but things just don't add up. We live through this with them as everybody tries to help him adjust to his new existence. But something just does not seem right. Been being resourceful tries to figure out what it is. Will he be able to put his finger on it? Will he be dispatched again? Or incarcerated in the very Institute that he is the groundskeeper of? Watch and see is been in his trusty dog discover the secret of the Lazarus Project.

The acting was par and the environment adequate. However the pacing is excruciatingly slow. We have time to second-guess long before it happens. Actually this might be a waste of time even for people that like this genre of movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
It's a much more intelligent film than it seems, not just at first, but even right through, and out the other end.
The film is very topical, and, given the reality of the human situation, will remain of the utmost importance.
It deals with issues of consiousness, situation and fate and conscience, all within the realms of investigating mortality, immortality in a situation which can intrinsically involve control - as if meaning somethintg like (and actually as, also) earthly, advanced mind control.

What is this 'situation', this consciousness, this place of consciousness if it be controlled beyond how one can control one's own life?
Can we really "get there" to what appears socially prescribed anyway, if we try hard enough, or is this a delusion created for us?
And to what extent can our very notions of the answers of such questions - including thoughts of the afterlife, angels, life here within an eternal framework etc also be controlled - imposed upon us?

This film is very easy to watch and takes the form of a Hollywood sci-fi meets crime film meets psychological thriller.
In the end, it's quite an amazing achievement, considerint the range of what it deals with and the specifics themselves, within this pretty typical, very watchable populist format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
Slow moving and well directed, The Lazarus Project builds suspense well. It is a psychological drama that demands attention as the main character tries to work out if he is the victim of a conspiracy, experiencing episodes of mental illness or the subject of mystical intervention by an angel.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 December 2008
"For I am the resurrection and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live:"

Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. Ben Garvey (Paul Walker) is an ex-con who has done his crime, his time and his parole, and has just become a free man
2. He has a wife (Piper Perabo) and a daughter to support
3. He loses his job
4. Before the ink on his termination papers is dry, he proves that he's not so reformed after all
5. Big mistake - huge
6. In defiance of several books written by John Grisham, his trial and sentence are over in a jiffy
7. He dies
8. Or does he?
9. He wakes up to find that he has a job as a caretaker at a hospital, a second chance, a guardian angel (Lambert Wilson) and the shadow of Death on his shoulder.
10. Or does he?

This is a fairly good psychological thriller if you can skirt around the plot holes and stop yourself from screaming at Garvey when he fails to do things that are blatantly obvious to everyone else, or does things that are incredibly dumb.

Walker does a good job in the lead role, and Perabo deserves a medal for tolerance. Bob Gunton (Rendition, The Shawshank Redemption) is especially effective as Father Ezra, the administrator of the hospital, and Wilson shows some of his Matrix mettle even though his is a relatively small part.

A good one to rent, if only to watch Paul Walker come forth

Rated: 3.5 stars

Amanda Richards
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
This movie came as a nice suprise. I purchased it more or less sight unseen, expecting to while away a slow evening. Oddly enough while most satisfying to watch it didn't tie up all the loose ends. When the credits started to roll I was left wondering about some of the characters and some of the happenings. That said, I did not feel cheated. This is thriller based on an odd premise of redemption. If one assumes that one is a fly on the wall and all we are really getting is a peek into someone else's life we don't need to have all the loose ends tied up. If being entertained is all you seek you could do worse that buy this. Be warned though, some of the early scenes tend to be a little harrowing, not distressing but somewhat unsettling.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
this was bought for my daughter who is a great fan of Paul Walker.She particularly enjoyed this film except for a scene she is never too keen about.I shan't say which scene so as not to spoil the film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse