Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
93
4.2 out of 5 stars
PRINCE2 For Dummies
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£15.19


on 19 March 2009
You know what you're getting with a "for dummies book". It doesn't go into too much detail (and God knows, there's a lot of detail in the official coursebook!) and that makes it easy to get some basic knowledge out of it. I bought this 2 weeks before I went on the Practitioner's course so I had both this and the official coursebook before I started the course. If you're coming to the practitioner course without any prior knowledge then the sheer amount of information injected into your brain over 3 and a half days or so can throw you a bit. and that's where this book comes in. Where the official coursebook is very dry nd details everything,this book gives you more "context" so you get a better feel for why things are done the way they are in Prince2 environments.
As a companion to the coursebook, I highly recommend it. If you're buying it just to get you through the Practitioner exam you should look for something else instead or to supplement it.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
My company has taken on Prince 2 training big time for most of the staff. having no project management experience I was booked on the foundation course so I bought a copy of this book. Its the best thing I did and helped me a lot. The actual Prince2 manual is more like a reference book where as the Dummies guide talks you through the process's in a more informal way. My advice is if you are going on the foundation or practitioners course then get this book.
11 Comment| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2008
An excellent well written structured overview of the international Project Management methodology. Author makes a pretty light-hearted read of a difficult subject. Recommended.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
I brought this via my Kindle but would recommend that you buy the book rather than the kindle version, due to the details of the diagrams which need to be reviewed and digested.
However the book is excellent, in that its simple and explicit, compared to the manual and makes everything 'bite size'.
Read this before you read the manual.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
This is a very clearly and sensibly written book, there's even space for some humour! It is a very good treatment of Prince2, much more informative and, dare I say it, more sensible than the Prince2 Manual itself. It is a good book to learn about Prince2 and makes an excellent reference resource once read. I heartily recommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
While the OGC PRINCE2 manual is readable, this book makes it comprehensible and even interesting. Actions taken in projects become understandable in the greater context. I continued reading this book after I'd taken my Practitioner exam, and will go back and read it again.
Thank you, Mr. Graham.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
This was just the thing I needed to get the Prince2 ideals in a way that was easy to relate to and in a more logical format. I would advise anyone either taking the Course or working in a Prince2 environment to keep this close to hand.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2012
This book avoids the common problems in the Dummies series, namely verbose text and half-wit jokes.

However, if you intend to pass in the Practitioner exam, you may want to check Passing the PRINCE2 examinations too.

Have a look in Project Management For Dummies (UK Edition) which will fill the gaps left by Prince2 framework.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2009
This is a great read prior to doing the exams and will be a good reference. Much easier to read this and follow the whole method to see how it fits together before trying to get to grips with the Prince2 manual. Certainly helped the course make sense sooner.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
This product is very good material for someone interested in having a knowledge of Project Management using Prince2. However, if you are preparing for the certification exam for Prince2, you need to still consult the Prince2 Manual along side.

Temidayo.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)