Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Brit Indie Collection (4 pack) [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£29.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 August 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
Amazing value for some all time classics £10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
This set of 4, all cert. 18 DVDs from Film 4 are a fine collection of decent, British dark crime dramas, including Trainspotting as well as its predecessor, Shallow Grave.

Where would have the Brit film scene been without Trainspotting? Or, Danny Boyle? Without the royalties from that, would he have been able to become an Oscar winner with his Slumdog Millionaire?

Sexy Beast remains a popular example of the crime genre; Ray Winstone's scowling lead performance is only bettered by Ben Kingsley's psychotic gangland boss who comes out to Spain to visit the retired Winstone. This then leads to that old one-last-heist scenario, back in London. It is more psychological study more than shoot-it-up full action, though, which I feel it benefits from.

Gangster No 1, if pressed, is my least favourite, though still very watchable. A Clockwork Orange actor Malcolm MacDowell is the crime boss who has a very mean streak and gets very angry, indeed. Paul Bettany and David Thewliss provide very able support but I found it humourless and rather unsavoury and heavy going. Of the four, the only one I'd not want to watch again.

The box set itself is fairly well made and quite well presented and as far as features are concerned, Shallow Grave has the least, with just a director's commentary and a short making of. Trainspotting has interviews with all cast and the director. The other two have these but also deleted scenes/Featurettes/Behind the Scenes and isolated music score plus Audio Description - and one or two others.

For the price, you get a lot of iconic indie Brit flick for your ten pounds (or so). If you've lent your copy of Trainspotting (& not got it back), only recorded Shallow Grave from Film 4, with all the ads and only seen Sexy Beast on someone else's tiny TV - like me - then this is an essential buy!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
This is a bargain. Four great films in one box set at a bargain price. Set includes two of the best British gangster movies ever made, "Sexy Beast" with Ray Winstone & Ben Kingsley and "Gangster No 1" with Malcolm McDowell, David Thewlis & Paul Bettany, both compelling, intense and gripping from start to end. Also included are "Trainspotting" Danny Boyle's ground breaking classic of 90's drug fuelled Britain and "Shallow Grave" a terror masterpiece with Christopher Eccleston & Ewan McGregor. I would highly recommend this box set as a must for anyone's collection, a real bargain of class films.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2012
Was very pleased to see these films on bluray, particularly sexy beast which is funny as hell. Hadn't seen trainspotting in 13 years so it was a welcome blast from the past and still a decent film. the bluray picture quality is excellent. A1 purchase!
44 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
I wanted Trainspotting for my partner who hadn't seen it. By paying a little extra we got 2 other classics - Sexy Beast & Shallow Grave. We have also got Gangster No1 which I have yet to see.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
Purchased this box set due to Trainspotting which is full of life on the bottom line but mixes humour, reality and sheer unbelievable in-the-gutter life! Great performances and story-line. Love the image on Rannoch Moor with Renton, Sick Boy and Spud when they see the mountain they are to climb. Great fun x
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
4 absolute classic movies, great price and usual blu ray quality.
Sexy Beast, Ben Kingsley is without doubt THE bestest baddie in any movie ever
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
This box set contains two of my favourite films of all time (sexy beast and Trainspotting) neither if which I had good quality copies of before I got this. The two other films we're complete hidden gems, I hadn't heard of either but they are now also in my favourite films list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
Awesome collection of four British movies from the '90s. I watched all of them more than once, it's definitely worth it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)