Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran on Amazon Music Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
72
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2011
Excellent pre-quel to Battlestar Galactica my only advise is dont buy the CAPRICA pilot dvd which is sold seperately as the first episode on disc 1 of this series IS the pilot episode. I made the mistake and bought both the pilot dvd and the series set of 4 dvds because it was not mentioned anywhere.
77 Comments| 176 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
5 stars to Caprica, NO stars for SyFy who dicked endlessly around with this unique show's schedule and now have just cancelled it.

Anyway, it is a great series, possibly the most mature and complex sci-fi series ever brought to our TV screens. If you were only watching Battlestar Galactica for space fights and hotties like Grace Park, then this probably isn't for you. However, if you were stimulated by the moral dilemmas and the political and religious satire of Battlestar AS WELL AS hotties like Grace Park, then snap this up. It still has hotties and robots, but at it's heart it is an altogether deeper more thoughtful Battlestar. It concerns the birth of the Cylon in a tech obsessed society that mirrors our own. Standout performances all around and one of the most imaginative plots ever written for television.

Way ahead of itself.
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Caprica while slow, is developing nicely and turning into one of the best and most intriguing sci fi shows out there. While not as good as Battlestar Galactica, it's a very well acted and well made show. No space battles here, but it does show what life was like on Caprica before it was nuked by The Cylons in the Battlestar Galactica mini series and i for one hope they show life on the other colonies as well. Picking up where the pilot left off, the series follows 2 families, the Greystones, Daniel Greystone will end up creating the Cylons, and the Adamas. Performances are excellent, and there are plenty of plot twists, though the scene where Daniel Greystone proudly shows off his creations to the millatry proclaiming that they are the ultimate soldier and will never disobey or betray you, you do know what will eventually happen! The cliffhanger is excellent and i can't wait to see what happens next.
22 Comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
UPDATE: CAPRICA SEASON 1.5 RETURNS JANUARY 2011 ON SKY
This has to be in my opinion, the best sci-fi broadcast this year. The season's pilot was gripping and laid out questions right from the off. The writers were genious in that these questions were just beginning to be answered when on the last episode of the first half, the whole story is shook up and you are back to the stat with even more mystery to the plot.

I personally haven't watched any BSG and i found this to be a great series. Just a shame that Syfy don't eem that convinced (at time of writing) as we are still waiting for approval of season 2.

All i can say is this is a great DVD (although shame not on Blu-Ray) and can't wait for the second half of season 1 which airs in January.

NOTE: Do not buy the Pilot DVD if you don't already have it as this comes with the broadcast pilot AND an extended pilot with commentry.

One final word... BRILLIANT
66 Comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
Usually, I don't like reviews that are not about the actual movie/TV series itself, however, this situation is so extreme, I felt compelled to write this very negative review: what you get with this purchase, mentioned nowhere in the technical description, is only HALF of season one of Caprica.

But it is even worse than that: Episode one is the pilot, which you may have already ordered separately as a stand-alone purchase (as I did). Then to add insult to injury, episode 2 is a REPEAT of the same pilot. The only difference is heavy-handed use of the US Censorship pen (i.e. no naked female breasts on display, but all the same violent deaths and beatings still shown).

So what you are finally left with are just 8 episodes. If that's what you want, fine, buy the product, but be aware of what you are getting. The series itself (the first half, at least!!) is very good (I'd give it 4 out of 5 stars), and such a shame that there will be no 2nd season.
66 Comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 November 2010
Another really promising show cancelled before it had a chance to prove itself. It's a great shame, because coming from the team behind BSG, I'm sure it would have developed into a cracking series....just as BSG did. Another example of the networks (and Syfy) putting ratings ahead of quality. Caprica was pulled from the US schedules at short notice with effect from 02/11/2010, and the final episodes will now air in the States in early 2011.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2010
I don't get people who are derisory over this because there are no space conflicts. How can there be any space conflicts when Cylons haven't been transformed into a race yet?

Come on, use your head!

This starts to answer questions which you never thought of asking in the first place but are glad of the knowledge anyway. One true God for example.

This is a promising start to a series that I hope will run and run. This might even lead up to the armistice after the first cylon war which I am sure most fans will be only too pleased about.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
Caprica Season 1 tells a very intriguing story of two families on Caprica. The Greystones have a big industry in computer networks and creates virtual worlds that both look and feel real, much like the virtual world in the movie the Matrix. The father Daniel Greystone doesn't stop at that and tries to research artifical intelligence so one can't tell the difference between AI and real human behaviour. However it's his wiz-head daughter Zoe that secretly succeeds in making a near perfect copy of herself in the virtual world.

The other family, the Adamas are pretty much the opposite. The very down to earth Joseph Adama is utterly shocked when he sees a copy of his daughter in the virtual world, who seems lost an bewildered. His connections aren't exactly at the right side of the law, and he lives by a code of honor to the ones he trusts, his family, his extended family and the godfather. A conflict with the Greystones doesn't seem too far off.

It's a catastrophic terrorist event that causes losses in both families that makes the two families cross roads.

---

The show is exciting from the very start, blurring reality and the virtual world and callenging the viewers. It also gets creepy when the Greystones attempt to bring artificial intelligence into the real world in a very crude robot.

The show looses some of it's momentum in the mid-episodes, but picks up to a very exciting ending on the final DVD.

5 stars - it's an excellent buy for anyone who would like a non-military sci-fi drama.

---

TIP:

The show also does a good job of showing off the Caprican society and life before the cylon holocaust, which should be of great interest to BSG fans. However it's a civil drama and very different from the post-holocaust situation in BSG.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
First up, I'll get off my chest the major beef about this show, or more accurately this packaging. It's bad enough to have the first season split into two parts, but when I found that this part has not one but TWO versions of the pilot (which I already own from when it was independently released), I was most unhappy! This is robbery.

Having said that, the show itself is excellent. People expecting a rerun of "Battlestar Galactica" will be disappointed, but I personally like the slow build-up and the whole intriguing premise on which the show is built. Just the other day, I was reading in "Time" of Raymond Kurzweil's ideas of the convergence of man and machine, the whole idea of the transcendent man. This show leans in that direction. Having seen the pilot some time ago, I didn't think that Ron Moore could keep it up, now I'm not so sure. I look forward to future non-rip-offs to see whether he can.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Just finished watching the series. In the context of Caprica being cancelled, I'd like to say that absolutely this show wasn't made for everyone. But Syfy and the money hungry operators only want dumb tv and the sad truth is so do many commercialised viewers, who for too long in their lives have been fed vegetable tv and cannot engage in anything passed Roseanne. I loved BSG and yes that included all that lovely action, but BSG's writers introduced a hugely complex sociological frame to the story. The whole cylon war was about that history and to quote: "This has all happened before, It will happen again". The writer of BSG also had his hand in DS9, which shouldn't suprise anyone considering how deep that became also. What happened to scifi fans that enjoyed a moral story? or a reflection on our society? why does it just have to be liquidised vegetables for babys too simple to enjoy real cuisine? I'm ever so glad I had the privilage to have digested this delight yet equally appalled studios cannot see beyond the dollar sign. It's why hollywood movies are absolute junk, yet world cinema have the fruits of discovery. Caprica and Ronald D.Moore are ahead of our time. And its 5stars, but clearly not everyone can fathom why.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse