Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 28 April 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
...and reliable. Which is exactly what you need with a product like this. The main features which will attract newcomers are full Windows7 support, ability to make GPT volumes over 2TB in size, and the Dynamic Disks function which can also convert Basic disks. The ability to create, merge, remove and edit volumes and disks in any way you could want is very useful and makes you think about ways to save space and make your system more efficient. It has a good Undo system which can correct some (but not all) errors you might make. Installation was very quick and painless, and the user interface is easy to understand and well laid out. The manual was on the disk, and I would have preferred a paper one (or at least an Emergency Guide for when you mess up and can't boot your system, which could happen if you don't know what you're doing). There is context help in the GUI but it's not particularly helpful and beginners would have problems trying to understand what commands they should be using. Compared to the standard windows Vista / 7 disk tools this is an amazing program, but it is not for novices. My best advice is Read The Manual before doing anything. 3 / 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 February 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Well, this was a bit of a dawdle, and is certainly the easiest disk management programme I've ever used. It was a wee bit fiddly to install, but once it was up and running on a Windows 7 PC, it ran like a dream. The user interface is simple and straightforward, and the programme holds your hand every step of the way.

A lot of the stuff is already included in Windows, but that's all a bit slapdash and higgledypiggledy, so having everything under one roof makes life an awful lot easier. As I like to play around with alternate operating systems, this new version made my life a whole lot easier. And the ability to clone disks to a replacement hard drive is possibly the most sensible thing ever. The recovery expert also worked really well, when I made a gubbins of summat.

It's not the kind of thing your average person is going to want or need, but if you're an advanced user who likes to play around, then this is an absolute treat, and the best one I've used by far.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Acronis® Disk Director® 11 Home is a program for managing disks (the physical hard disk), partitions (how a disk is divided up) and volumes (the way a partition is used).

All versions of Windows have basic tools to manage these operations. As such the main reasons to consider an add-on program such as Acronis® Disk Director® are what extra functions are provided and how much is easier is it to use compared to the inbuilt Windows tools.

I installed Acronis® Disk Director® 11 Home on my home PC running Windows 7 64 bit with no issues at all. The initial installation from the provided CD took just four minutes including entering a very long serial number. The version on disk was v 11.0.216, checking for updates showed a new version (v 11.0.2121 at time of this review) was available. Downloading and installing this update was easy from the installation program and was very quick taking just three minutes to complete.

Running Acronis is very straight forward. A comprehensive manual is available and the GUI is very intuitive to use. The interface shows a clear representation of the volumes and disks with any associated partitions.

Several of the tools such as changing disk label or drive letter are available in Windows but having them all in one place makes it much easier and quicker to work on these tasks within Acronis® Disk Director®. Where Acronis® Disk Director® really scores is the ease of resizing and merging partitions. Even the latest Windows 7 has limited functionality for resizing partitions in that it can only resize from the end and needs "empty space" i.e. it can only resize up to the first empty unallocated disk block. Acronis® Disk Director® does not suffer these limitations and can also easily add unallocated space across the whole physical disk to both primary and extended partitions. I decreased the size of a primary partition and reallocated the space to a logical partition located several partitions away very quickly and easily in the GUI. In comparison trying to do this with the in-built Windows tools would have taken many steps and a very long time.

Acronis® Disk Director® also has advanced tools e.g. converting GPT disks to MBR and vice versa which I have not tried.

Acronis® Disk Director® 11 Home supports all versions of Windows XP, Windows Vista and Windows 7. It also is also fully up to date in that USB 3 and alignment on new 4-KB sector size hard disk drive are supported.

A little expensive at list price but if you regularly find yourself using the Windows tools to manage disks and volumes then the time this program will save you will justify the cost.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is my second Acronis disk utility package. I already use Acronis True Image Home 2010 which is excellent and has saved me major problems more than once while I was trying to upgrade my PC from Vista to 7. This package allows you to manage the way your hard disk or disks are partitioned. It does this very well, but it is worth noting that nearly everything you can do with this software can be achieved with Window's own tools, and this is especially the case with Windows 7. However this package gives fuller control with some options not available in Windows own tools. It also features a side program that allows you to install and boot into multiple different operating systems all from a singe hard disk compartment (or from different compartments or disks). This is very useful if like me you like to have the latest version of Windows (7, 64 bit) but still occasionally use older software that runs only in XP or older. I also like to experiment with various free versions of Linux etc. This package makes it much easier to manage multiple OS installations. For that function alone it is good. It installed easily, although I did not install from the CD, as there was a newer version available for download (only took a few seconds to download). It did require a reboot which I hate because of a file clash with my older Acronis package. The major pain was the security code which you have to type in. It is very long and I managed to get it wrong first time and had to redo it. Also if you want the mutli-OS support when you install that program you again have to type this number. Acronis really should have a set up where you only have to do this once (ie the way Serif software works).

I have given this 4 rather than 5 stars because of this security code, the need to reboot my PC on installation and also it should be priced closer to £20 given that most of what it does can be achieved with Windows own disk management tools.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 December 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've bought Acronis products before and have found them to be really useful utilities. Disk Director is no exception.

Worth saying for starters that installation was a doddle (Windows 7). As smooth as you'd hope for. After that, its just a really slick way to manage your disk. I doubt there's anything in here that couldn't be done by a certain amount of googling, its just that this software makes everything so much easier. Ultimately that's what you're paying for - the time-saving aspect. Really useful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Easily installed (grateful for the option to register and get a shorter installation code)and up and running straightaway. It is fairly easy to see what you need to do but the online help is very good when required. I've never used anything like this before and found it easy to resize partitions and make a backup of my hard drives.I am impressed with this and would like to try other Acronis products in future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 January 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The native windows hard disk tools are pretty poor, and this is a good alternative that offers a far easier interface. Resizing partitions is done graphically and most operations use Wizards to carry you through the steps. Like most of these types of tools, the partition changes are only made when you "commit" them. This may involve a reboot and a lengthy wait (Especially if the drive is large) while the operation is done. Time for a coffee, in that case.

The wizards are quick and easy to use.

Other features include support for spanning partitions across discs, which can be useful if you're filling up a volume and want to extend it across an empty drive - for example, for music databases in iTunes.

There's also an OS booting application that gives you a graphical bootloader for selecting partitions and installing new operating systems.

If you do a lot of disc management, then this is pretty good. If you rarely do this sort of stuff, and can manage with the default windows tools, then maybe it's overkill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 17 January 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My PC has two 2TB drives which creates opportunities that I have been keen to explore, both with multiple operating systems, and with backups for various work systems, and my MP3 and video collection.

I wanted a copy of Windows XP on my Windows 7 PC so I could experiment with different browser versions, but I didn't want to use a virtual PC because I find these a bit slow and unresponsive. This has proven successful, and I have had the joy of remembering all of the foibles of running an old Windows machine.

The process for doing this with Acronis Disk Director 11 Home Edition has been relatively straightforward - I didn't have any problem understanding the user interface.

I've also created a few partitions on my second 2TB drive where I store a variety of backups in self-contained areas, and once again I've found this to be achievable and succesful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
First of all, set up is easy. Follow on screen prompts and Acronis will install quickly. Once installed and the desktop icon is initiated, a box comes on the screen and asks you to scan for the number of drives, hard disks you have. Once scanned, any hard disk can be right clicked and another drop down box appears with several headings 'copy, split, merge, format'. Do not try to format C:\drive, Windows will not let you.

If you have more than one drive it can be formatted and loaded with another O/S or used for your pictures, music, video's etc. (I am always terrified I will lose precious pictures so this is most useful). Partition it and it can act as a back-up disk.

Also on this disk was a free 90 day trial of Acronis Back-Up and Security 2010. I am glad I installed this as it found a Trojan whilst scanning. WIMAD.GEN. 1
which is a Clicker Trojan.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 October 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I recently switched my main PC to Linux from Windows. One of the things I miss most (and there are actually very few of them!) is a good quality disk management tool. Linux has powerful tools but they are not as natural or easy to use as the Acronis toolset. With tools like this it's easy to take for granted how much "clever stuff" goes into managing disks while an OS is still running - its a bit like changing an aircraft engine while its in flight! - but with Acronis it seems easy. This is power-user software written like it should be. You choose what you want to do, and it just does it. No fuss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)