Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Rec2 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 5 April 2011
an absolute treat subtitles didnt bother me one bit great action gore and plenty of scares felt like a 1st person shooter at times loved it!! a proper sequel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2010
Wow. What a bloody good follow up to one of the most original and shocking horror films in a long time.
Rec 2 is maybe not as good as the first one, but if you've been waiting a while to see it then you won't be dissapointed.
There are loads of shocks and gore and its direction and pace is even more frantic and chaotic than the first. The plot is somewhat flawed and holes appear.
But nevertheless I'm eagerly awaiting the DVD release of this AND the 3rd and 4th films in the series, REC Génesis and REC Apocalypse.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2017
A direct sequel to the original Rec, this film picks up with a military team being sent into the building while the incident is still occurring, unaware of what they are walking into.

While the first film provided information about how the virus was created and spread, this film goes further to provide the full backstory. While this is a great idea, the film mis-steps in that it injects a religious/supernatural element into the mix which instead of resolving all the issues actually opens the door to a whole load of new questions which left me feeling disappointed.

The film is still entertaining if probably unnecessary in that it didn't advance the Rec universe in any meaningful way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2011
I watched REC 2 about 18 months after REC, so first thing I would say is watch the first one before you watch the second, there are a few parts of the first one that are critical to REC 2's plot. The plot is quite simple, a SWAT team going in to recon the area with a Health Minister. Things as you expect don't go to plan and there are some clever links to the first film. I see some reviews have slated this one in saying "Where are the zombies from the first film" they are here and they do cause trouble, but the plot expands as the film goes on and you find that there is more to the plot.
Overall I enjoyed it and was very close to giving it 5 stars, but there are one or two plot strands that don't get any resoulution at the end, so unless there is a REC 3 in the pipeline you can be left thinking "what about that?". Still they are only minor plot stands and there is a nice twist at the end...
This is far better than some of the Hollywood stuff and with the Blue Ray at about £7 you can't go far wrong...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2015
The first Rec was quite simply put the most draining hour and 20 minutes i have ever seen and i was very excited to hear that a follow up was going to be made taking place straight after the first film ending.
Its another draining experience but its not quite up there with the stunning first but its still a corker and quite possibly the best horror sequel ever with the exception of 28 Weeks Later.
As i said the story begins just after the conclusion of the first with a small SWAT team and a medical officer entering the doomed apartment block to get a blood sample from the mutated girl seen in the first film but whilst trying to get it they have to try and fight off the crazy infected zombie like possessed who now overrun the building.While this is going on we see three teenagers mucking about on a roof and are escorted away and then they get to the building through the sewers but unlucky for them they are sealed off by the police and find out they are trapped after trying to escape the building and going back the way they came so have no choice but stay in the apartment,after they get chased by the nasties they meet up with the other group and we see a relentless last part of the film with one of the teens getting possessed,people getting locked in rooms,religious conversations,meeting up with the original films Angela and then a similar ending to the first when the remaining people try and hide from the mutated girl before a very creepy ending with has to be seen to be believed.
I was a tad bit disappointed with this sequel because i found the possessions and religious aspect of the film a bit too much and a bit daft,i know it was in the first film but it was only really a small part of it with most the first film more like a zombie film but even though the sequel does have the infected running after people some parts were a bit stupid and these moments slow down the story a bit compared to the first film which was insane without much of a pause.
The acting is very good like the first even if the teenagers are a bit grating at times and their antics do tone down the horror a bit and that annoys me to be honest considering this is not a story to have jokey moments in it as its meant to be a nightmare not a college road trip but at least the rest of the cast give their all and act like they are truly being chased by crazies,it was also nice to see Manuela Velasco back from the first film as even though she is a bit hysterical she is a top actress.
The action scenes are still excellent especially the chase scenes on the stairs and in the rooms and the scene with nutters trying to get in the bathroom is nerve wracking.The ending is possibly the only part of the film better than the original with a chilling last 10 minutes with once again the few left have to hide from the mutated girl with the night vision once again coming into play.
As a horror film it does everything right with jumpy scenes and the infected almost tripping over each other to get to the survivors like zombies do and in the best zombie films all they can see is their target and nothing else,i also love how this and the first film has such a sense of dread that they can't hardly move without alerting the possessed and certainly not a place you'd want to be.
As i said i found it a bit disappointing compared to the superb first and found the teenagers a tad grating along with too much religious stuff,i also found the very last scene a bit silly and seems to turn into Alien for a minute.
But all in all a storming follow up to a masterpiece,just don't watch Rec 3 as its highly disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2014
I loved Rec, which was a wonderful combination of building tension and creating shocks, when you really did not know exactly what was going on and the the story gradually unfolded. There were a couple of places where I literally jumped in my seat, which I have not done with a horror film for years. This sequel, whilst not bad by horror film sequel standards, is a fairly similar format to middle section of the original, but it fails to build tension. The story takes over from the end of the first film, and feels like it is an attempt to add another 90 minutes onto it. Unfortunately it is too simple a format to sustain for another 90 minutes, and this film just throws you straight into the thick of it without any real build-up.

I understand the next sequel takes a major dip in quality, so won't be watching that one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 October 2012
The reviews suggest that the third Rec film, [Rec] Genesis, is totally different to the first one - in a bad way, being quite derivative (I haven't seen it myself yet, though). So I wasn't sure what to expect from Rec2.

Well it turned out to be excellent! Starting 15 minutes after the end of the first film, it follows a SWAT team on their helmet cams as they storm the quarantined apartment building. They're led by a biologist who needs samples of the virus to create a vaccine but it quickly becomes clear that he knows a lot more than he's letting on. So we have the same tension & scary atmosphere of the first film, only this time more of the mystery is revealed without telling us too much & there's a couple of wicked twists.

While it was just as atmospheric as the first film, it was slightly less scary as this time I knew what to expect. But by developing the story in the way that they did, the filmmakers still kept me on the edge of my seat. And not everything is revealed - there's plenty of room for more sequels.

I'm not sure what I'm going to make of Rec3 but rest assured, if you liked the first film, you'll love the second!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2013
The original film is one of my favourite found footage horrors.
This is a little more hohum than horror. It doesnt have to be believeable but you have to dispend disbelief...
The previous film was original (till the ending) - this slides too easily in and out of too many genres tropes :- a bastard offspring of Aliens, Carrie, Contagion and 28 Weeks Later; rests a little too heavily on the laurels of REC - and at times falls dangerously close to parody. (The "revelations" concerning a number of main and peripheral characters are not very interesting, the "reason" for the outbreak to me is not affecting enough.)
Having criticised so much - I still like the pace and a couple of the setpieces are great. Just dont expect the thrillride of the first one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2014
Rec 1 and 2 have to be some of my all time favourite horror movies.

It's a non-stop terror thrill ride. Very few scary films make me feel the way these films do.

REC 2 was by no means a disappointment, which is rare, as far as sequels go.

I was hugging a cushion almost all the way through. These Spanish film makers truly know how to make a superb horror movie.

If you have REC 1 don't hesitate in buying this. Not all sequels are bad, as this one clearly proves it.

REC 1 & 2 are basically just one big movie, the second film follows on straight after the first one and still manages to uphold it's terror right the way through without disappointment.

If I had to choose which one is my favourite, I don't think I could. They're both as good as each other.

I also recommend purchasing them on Blu-ray. It's well worth it, the picture and sound quality is unreal!

As for 'REC: Genesis', I have never seen it and don't plan to. I have heard nothing but bad reviews from it, and as far as I know, it's not by the same director. So, I recommend everyone to steer clear of the third film, 'Genesis', and just stick with the original REC 1 & 2.

5 stars. *****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2012
I found the original Rec to be claustrophobic, scary and very well made. It may not have been entirely original but it did merge disparate horror ideas to very good effect.

In contrast I found Rec2 not at all scary but extremely amusing. It owes a big debt to the Exorcist this time round and reprises scenes and ideas from the first film. It also plays with the hand held camera idea in a differnt and less consistent way. Finally, it is also very short at about 1 hour 15 minutes.

I definitely recommend seeing this movie and I did enjoy watching it. However, like with the original, I have no plans to watch it again. By contrast, I can't wait to see Rec3 on DVD (out soon!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)