Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 September 2001
If you've come to the Saw Doctors through their superb live shows, or the rough-and-ready folk-rock of the first two albums, you may be a bit disappointed by "Same Oul' Town". Easily the most polished of the studio albums to date, it can seem as if some of the spontaneity of earlier works has been sacrificed in favour of smoothness. But to say that is to do an injustice to the songs themselves, which are possibly the finest collection ever assembled by the boys from Tuam. Silly upbeat numbers are in the minority (though "Back to Tuam" and "Macnas Parade" provide welcome contrast), instead the majority of this album is wistful, introspective, and ballady. The social conscience of the band is powerfully expressed too in the unity anthem "All the One" and the beautiful "Everyday", which very understatedly tells the story of an Irish lass driven abroad to get an abortion, and is a plea for love instead of judgement. "World of Good", which was for me one of the best singles of the 1990s, is simply the best thing you could ever offer to an old companion or lover, and the album closes with the gorgeous, wistful "Clare Island" - which, if it isn't pure romance, I don't know what is. This is the album which defines the Saw Doctors, not just as good-time rock 'n' rollers, but as people with something to say, and big hearts behind the words.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2002
Soft quiet ballads to rip-roaring classic songs! Its all here! Impossible to stand still or keep from singing along to all of the songs! From the quirky 'World of Good' to the classic 'To win Just Once' to the beautiful 'Share the Darkness' and 'Clare Island'. Highly highly recommended!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2001
Saw Doctors songs tend to be on Universal themes and this album is no different. Everyone can recognise subjects ranging from loneliness, first lust, fear and the desire for success. Songs like Clare Island, Same Old Town and Share The Darkness were immediate favourites. The single To Win Just Once is/was a live staple, fitting for a band dyed in the Maroon and White of Galway. All The One shows that small town differences don't seem to matter so much once you leave the small town. This album has grown on me the more I've listened to it from initial disapointment to a wry realisation that the Saw Doctors still haven't made a bad album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 1999
Yet again a cracking album from the Irish lads from Tuam. A little bit more downbeat than the last two. But still a beautiful album. Look out for "To win just once" and "Clare Island", both tracks are very popular with concert goers. Also look out for the very sad "Everyday" which touches on the sensitive subject of abortion.
Buy this, make these guys from Tuam into the legends they deserve to be.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2011
This is my 2nd time around buying this CD (note to self do not lend Cd's to friends)
Sounds just a good this time.Great vocals. For me no bad tracks bit more polished than earlier CD's, some upbeat Back to Tuam and Macnas Parade. Slower more thought provoking lyrics with Everyday,Same Oul Town, Share The Darkness and one of my all time fav Saw Doctors tracks World of Good (thanks Pete)
Great listen from a great and very underated Band.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Hello.
This album captures the Saw Doctors at their best.
They seemed to have had such a fine time recording the
tracks. Ones which I related to more than any of
their other releases.
Track 3 'Same Ould Town' is a gem. Only those
who were born and bred in such a town can feel the
benefit of such lyrics on this particular track.
Other notable favourites are 'Why Don't We Share
The Darkness Tonight'. A love song. But not sentimental
or over bearing.
Another highlight track and one I never tire of. Even all these
many years later is 'Back To Tuam,' a fun time song. One
which is all the better once you find yourself hollering out
the lyrics.
I don't want to choose any one track over another. I am
so overjoyed by the whole of 'Same Oul Town.' But Like a
parent secretly favouring one of their kids, I must opt for
'To Win Just Once'. A song which sums up how a small
town lad feels. Of the ache to leave the place of his birth
and the dreams and ambitions he holds on to.
A Real Doctors Treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
What an excellent company to deal with.CD arrived on time. i am enjoying listening to it, fantastic service, thank-you!againwould use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
Really pleased with my purchase.Good quality sound.Thank you.David.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2016
Lovely cd . A great service!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Great CD full of good songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)