Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
9
4.2 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2017
This is a beautiful and profound book. Whether you're completely new to Buddhism, or (like me), you've been drawn to Buddhism for a while yet struggled to navigate your way through the many different schools, conflicting traditions and opinions - Goldstein does a wonderful job of refining down his decades of Buddhist training and practice. He presents the essence of Buddhist teaching (which, ironically, probably comes closest to what the Buddha taught himself!), including: the 5 precepts, the role of wisdom and compassion, craving and aversion, the role of faith, the state of enlightenment and the importance of meditation. There's also a short history of Buddhism, and a lovely preface by H.H. The Dalai Lama. Goldstein writes very well, and what he does in this excellent work is convey the pure Buddhism currently evolving in the West - a Buddhism that we can all practice alongside our hectic, family based modern lives. Highly recommended reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2002
It took me one week to read this exquisitly written book, that is so easy to understand chapter by chapter.
Joseph Goldstein has written each chapter in a way that it draws you in deeper and deeper as you go on from the brief hisorical history of Buddhism (chapter two)to how it can alter both your out look on life to your life its self.This book not only moved me but made me think about how I lead life.After reading this I emailed all my friends telling them of this powerful book.
I would suggest this book to everybody and deeply think this will be one of the best books this year and could be a classic of the 21st century.
If you read any book this year please make sure this is the next one it will deeply move you and open both your eyes and mind to life,and how it should be lived.A perfect guide to those searching for answers.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
I'm not a buddhist but there is so much sense in this book that it doesn't make sense to not be a buddhist! There is so much depth to this book that I know I will return to it again and again. If there was more 'lovingkindness' in the World it would be a much better place.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2003
Buddhism has developed an abundance of diverse sects and practicing methods in its long history in entirely different cultural environments such as India, China, Tibet etc. Many of them have been isolated from each other for centuries. Now teachers of all lineages meet in the West, and Western disciples often cross the borders of sectarian divisions. We have means of travelling and communication now that were not available in ancient times, and the open, democratic societies of the West strongly encourage investigation beyond traditional constraints. This is the ground from where Goldstein launches his project to identify the core all buddhist traditions have in common and the outline of a cross-sectarian Western buddhism that is beginning to stand on its own feet now. Joseph Goldstein is a renowned meditation teacher who has studied in different Asian traditions for many years, he knows what he is talking about. I strongly recommend this book to newcomers to buddhism and experienced Buddhists alike.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
Very clear, thoughtful and sensitively written exploration of what lies at the heart of and common to the many strands of Buddhism, East and West, and the practical application of this to our lives
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2007
Suppose you are a teacher of Buddhism in a place (such as the United States) where there are many forms of Buddhism being taught. Your students may have "shopped around" and could be asking, for any particular subject you might present, why such and such other form of Buddhism says something else on the subject. There might even be a contradiction. What do you say to the students, that the other form is wrong? that they should not think about it right now and learn in just the context you are presenting?

Suppose you are a student of Buddhism. You have been to several, even many, teachers of different schools of Buddhism. Some of what they say seems to be common, some even opposite. Even some of what is common is presented in such a different way it is difficult to reconcile the two teachings. Will you become a student of comparative religion? Will you give up on Buddhism, which might seem to be only nominally Buddhism but actually very different teachings each using the label "Buddhist"?

These seem to be the kind of issues Joseph Goldstein is addressing in "One Dharma". It is an appeal to recognize:

1) what is common within Buddhism (and that as very important)
2) not a tolerance but an appreciation for different ways of expressing the teachings.
3) an acceptance of philosophies that conflict so long as their associated practices work.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
I bought the 2 books one for myself and one as a birthday present for a daughter. She had borrowed it from the library and wanted I copy she could keep. Personally I found it quite difficult to get in to but she obviously found it very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Very unhappy to receive a book with various page missing. Will have to find another copy elsewhere now. Not impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)