Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
99
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2003
Gemmell does it again! White Wolf follows in the footsteps of his previous work such as 'Legend' and 'Sword in the Storm' by creating such a strong character in 'Skilgannon the Damned' that you never won't the story to end.
By inter-weaving Skilgannon's past with his present situation, Gemmell expertly briefs you in the history of the character without getting bogged down like other authors and led away from the story.
The references to previous story lines such as Druss's appearance at Dros Delnoch, and Waylander's cross-bow, help link all of the author's previous gripping Drenai titles and brings the whole world to life.
As soon as I had finished this book, I wanted to read it again. Definately up there with Gemmell's best work and with the introduction of a Skilgannon, he has created a character that could rival the popularity of Druss.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2003
All Gemmell's trademarks are here: great writing, gripping story, excellent characterizations. This is on of his best in many years. Highly recommended for fans and non-fans alike.
Also recommended: The Apocrypha by John A. De Vito
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2005
Another great book by David Gemmel. Legend will always be the best and this book is like all his others, however I never get tired of the hero's being hero's and the bad guys getting what's coming to them. Great...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
The saddest thing is that Gemmell will never write more. Another great novel, with characters you can see and believe. I hope one day to see the movies, and that they do some justice to the books. 5 star!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
i enjoyed reading this book but not as much as the previous skillgannon book which was superbly exciting. still a worthy sequel and i wish he had written a further book following this hero's adventures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2008
I loved these Skilgannon books so much that I, literally, came to the end of one and immediately started reading the next!

Great story-telling at its absolute finest. Five great big golden stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Great books - if you liked the rigante series you will like this, same gripping writing that keeps you coming back for more. One of the few writers that i will turn the TV/Film off to read instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
this is the best book in my opinion david gemmell wrote . the author is simply the best with his fiction, swords of night and day is a must if you like this alomg with all gemmells books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
Everything one could ask from a sword and fantasy novel. Once started almost impossible to put down before the end, and as with all great novels to be read and reread and reread again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 November 2015
The king of heroic fantasy .. What more can you say about David Gemmell? .. I think every single book of his merits a 5* review.. In fact it's a shame you can't rate his books higher.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse