Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
33
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Set in a closing down hospital, the patients have all been moved and Roslyn (Sara Foster) gets a job on the night shift sorting out the records, the ony other people on site being a really weird security guard and a Professor working on one of the upper floors.
Roslyn starts to see hear voices and sees strange visions of a young girl, further unnerved by the threat of a local serial killer known as the Nighthawk who has been killing women with a claw-hammer and whose attacks appear to centre in the area round the hospital. When one of the female hospital employees is killed by the Nighthawk a local detective Marling (Michael Biehn) arrives on the scene.
Sara soon begins to suspect that her taxi-driving husband (Gabriel Mann), who also works nights, may be the killer which puts a further strain on their relationship.
There's plenty twists along the way as our initial ideas as to where the plot is heading start to unravel and nothing is quite what it seems. There may be one too many twists for some people but I liked the ending and would give it a solid 7/10.
The cast is pretty impressive, Foster's performance is excellent only bettered by Cary Elwes' psychiatrist (Dr Clement). The settings are suitably claustrophobic
What makes it a definite 4 star DVD is the extras, including out-takes (22 mins), deleted scenes (35 mins) and "Who is Andrew Shortell" the production diaries of the making of the movie made by the director.
I'll definitely be watching this movie again.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
I wasn't expecting much from this due to the bad IMDb rating. I only watched it because of Cary Elwes. Unlike a lot of the films in recent years where Cary Elwes is given top billing on the poster to then only have a 10 second cameo, Psych 9 was different because he was one of the main characters and although he isn't always on screen, he is in it from beginning to end and his character is important to the story (although it may not seem that way until the end). So if you are a Cary Elwes fan like me, then your in luck because he has a lot of screen time; and he's very good. The lead actress is pretty good but struggles to carry the movie on her own being the lead actress. Thankfully Cary Elwes and Michael Biehn are there in strong supporting roles to carry the weight of the movie that she can't handle. The story is quite good, keeps you interested throughout. There are a few cheap jump scares which threaten to detract from your enjoyment of the movie, but apart from that there are some well executed creepy moments scattered throughout the movie. The main problem with the movie is it's final act. It piles on twist after twist, and is messy and very problematic, however, it is still fun to watch and you don't feel you have wasted 90 minutes of your life after seeing it. It's just a silly ending really, but not too bad. So if you're looking for a decent straight-to-video horror movie, then check out Psych 9 if you've nothing better to watch. Its fun while it lasts, won't stick with you, but also won't ruin you're life.

For anyone that's interested, the picture quality of the DVD is pretty good, a nice clear image, and the audio is very good. Special features are mildly entertaining; a couple of deleted scenes, and a 20 minute gag reel which is pretty funny and offers some good insight into the behind the scenes of the movie, how the actors are off screen, etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
I love ghostly spooky films (as opposed to the gory horror kind). In my opinion the character of the film changes from paranormaly-implied creepiness to a 'who-dun-it?' Nevertheless it is an entirely satisfactory film which I will watch again one day when I'm off sick or something, if you get my point.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2011
when i read what this was about it sounded real good, and scary. however i was let right down with it! a young married woman takes a night job at a recently closed down accident and emergency department when ghostly happenings take place. it started off looking quite good with a little jumpy bit about 15 minutes or so in to it but im sorry to say thats all its got to offer!. the plot was pointless and the film left a few questions unanswered. you should know what they are when you watch it. it left me feeling confused too as it didnt really explain much!. definatly a not buy and i will go as far to say a def not see either!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2011
i came across this film while in asda and from the cover it seemed like a really good title unfortunately it was a completlety different story once i watched this i think i mus of watch about the first half and hour of this and decided to switch off while leaving it running.

the story is about a woman whos abusive father abused her when she was young and every night she has horrible nightmares of this. so she goes to work in a run down hospital and comes across one of the main doctors there who apparrently had this unusual way of curing his patients. the story is pretty predictable the girl thinks she is going crazy and starts believeing she is seeing ghostly appararitions of patients trying to tell her something so she seeks advice from the one person who can make sense of it all the doctor who works at the hospital who works onthe fifth floor.

at first i thought this film sounded good and i was kinda hoping it was going to make me jump out of my skin and have the same feel as films such as the descent and creep but unfortunately there isnt any scares in this film it is complete drivel all the way through seems to be the girl talking to the doctor which by the way is dead but she doesnt know he is dead until towards the end of the movie and theres some crazy woman aswell who suppossedly gets murdered towards the end.

ive seen alot of horror films like this and while some have been good others i just thought to myself why on earth did i buy this.

its an okay film but i wouldnt reccomend buying it if you really want to see it then i would reccommend renting it as it gets a lil boring about halfway through i saw another movie which was similar called afterlife and altho i found that film to be a bit rubbish aswell it did make me laugh at the end this film unfortunately doesnt. you dont really see sara foster now in movies not since debs which was truely funny and also the big bounce but to be honest shes not really suited for a horror movie im sorry to say i am a big fan of sara foster but sadly this isnt one of her strongest films but she is still a great actress and its always nice to see her in something different.

so in all its boring and a waste of money luckly i picked this up for a fiver but i still felt that i was cheated out of my money as this film wasnt all that good

so if you like watching horror films that drag on and have alot of endless talking in it then this is the film for you otherwise best to avoid this one like the plague thanks for reading.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Having worked in a similar 'environment/circumstances' as the storyline is set ie,archiving patients files in a closing down hospital, I thought this would be an interesting film to watch and it is, there are the ghosts of past patients still lurking around but as is often the case in these sorts of establishments, its the ones 'in charge' that are the scary ones here - and happen to be very much alive.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
A slightly above average psychological horror film. Clever in ways. I wish you could give half stars as I would give it an extra half if I could.
It's one of those movies that is worth watching but you have to pay close attention (I initially watched it with a friend and every time we talked we missed something which left us totally confused as to what the hell was going on. I watched it alone at a later date and it made more sense, but still you need to concentrate or you'll end up totally lost!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
grips you to your seat.
A young woman (Sara Foster) with a troubled past takes a job at recently closed down hospital. Working the night shift alone she begins to experience a series of unsettling events that lead her to believe that the hospital may be connected to a number of recent murders in the area. To uncover the truth she will have to revisit the past behind the walls of Psych:9
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
This film starts off great, middle goes a bit down hill and gets slow by the time you get to the end you basically know what is going to happen, so rather dissapointing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
very good film, it only made me jump once but it has a very good twist at the end, defiantly worth watching
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.27

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)