Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
52
3.9 out of 5 stars
Doctor Who - The Dominators [DVD] [1968]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 November 2016
My favourite Dr.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 April 2011
Brilliant stuff!
The Dominators was a story which featured the Quark robots. Ironically, the Quarks would return in TV Comic, and as metal miniature figures to paint, and are still fondly remembered to this day. The release of The Dominators is a step closer to the last Patrick Troughton surviving Doctor Who stories, the remainder (along with a large number of William Hartnell stories) being scrapped by the BBC archives department - CRIMINAL!
Despite its age, the presentation of The Dominators is as fresh on DVD as it was during its original broadcast, with Patrick Troughton creating a few laughs through his bumbling and Fraser Hines as Jamie keeping him in line while Wendy Padbury as Zoe maintains her level head.
There are five episodes to this particular story and it is quite fast-pacing wanting the viewer to see if there is time to watch another episode. The Dominators are easily an enemy who could have returned in a later series while the Quarks stand along with the Mechanoids and the Krotons as the most requested return robots from the early classic series.
Also on the DVD is an article about the Troughton years in the press. It made interesting viewing but, fortunately, Mary Whitehouse wasn't mentioned once - wait until the Pertwee years and the blowing up of a church!!!
I certainly recommend this DVD for viewers of the new Doctor Who series and as pure nostalgia for all Doctor Who fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Received this last week, and just finished watching it. Classic Troughton, and enjoyed seeing the Dominators and the Quarks again. Had this on VHS years ago, and have now replaced it on DVD. The fact that it is in B/W doesn't bother me, as I know that "The War Games" was the last episode to be filmed in B/W. It is nice to see Patrick Troughton full stories, as so many of his episodes are missing. Subtitles very helpful, and remastered quality excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
Good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Excellent!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
Many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
I notice that some people have award this classic 1968 adventure bad reviews. So I award this adventure 5 star as I like to say to them that this is a fabulous adventure full of great comedy and dramatic moment from start to finish. Who cares about the robot `Quarks', but it takes a lot of guts and blavery to wear these costumes to help the story along. Both the main and the supporting cast of Patrick Troughton (Second Doctor), Fraser Haines (Jamie), Wendy Padbury (Zoe), the evil and comedic Dominators Ronald Allan (Rago) and Kenneth Ives (Toba) to the peaceful Dulcians Arthur Cox (Cully), Giles Block (Teel), Felicity Gibson (Kando) to the elder statesmen all shine in this classic 1968 adventure.

In my opinion who cares about the problem on set, this adventure blends the period during the time of flower power and how the authorities of the time treated those free thinkers. And it is sad during 1968 we lost two men who promoted peace and harmony in the world `Martin Luther King' and `Bobby Kennedy', and we ended up with `blood trusty war mongers' like Lynden B Johnston and later on Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford who allowed Vietnam to drag on until 1975, and on how the same thing is happening here today with an illegal war in Iraq and a pointless stalemate war in Afghanistan.

As I mentioned in previous review, I hope the BBC release the remaining Jon Pertwee and Tom Baker adventures including the "Ambassadors of Death" (1970) as a fitting tribute to Caroline John (Dr Liz Shaw) who sadly passed away last month. And also `The Mind of Evil' (1971), `Terror of the Zygons' (1975), a separate special edition DVD of `Revenge of the Cybermen' (1975) (Similar to DVD edition of `Day of the Daleks'), and bring out an advanced and realistic CGI version of Tom Baker's missing adventure `Shada'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
A classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2012
I really dont know why they keep releasing dvds if they cannot be bothered to clean up the simple faults. There is a recurring black dot for over an episode that could have been easily painted out with copy and paste, frame by frame. If the restoration team could not have been bothered I am sure that some fans could have been brought in to give it a go. Quite why this is left in in beyond me, unless it is planned for removal on the next reissue, or the one after that.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Although this is not a classic from Patrick Troughtons reign as the timelord it's certainly far better than some. Nice gift for a die hard whovian.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse