Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 17 December 2017
Good crooked cop movie not as good as training day but what cop movie is
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2017
Brilliant, somewhat visionary film, under the surface. Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2017
One of the best Police Thrillers ever, 3 stories that run parallel and then crash into each other towards the end
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2017
good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2017
Good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2014
After watching probably the daddy of all dirty cop films,Training day. I have since been looking for similar films which offer me the same gritty viewing experience. This definatly delivers and really has twists i didn't see coming. Overall a really stunning and well balanced film that offered me the training day experience that i sort after.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 June 2011
I was aware that this had mixed reviews, so I wasn't expecting anything too good, but loving cop films I wanted to give it a go. It's very much a mixture of The Wire, The Departed and Training Day, all of which I liked a lot.

It's set in a real "Project" in Brooklyn and has the same occasionally incomprehensible patois of the streets that made me wish for subtitles. It's the usual drug fayre, so you don't miss much by not understanding it all. One thing that struck me as funny was that the gangsters were total charicatures of what we've seen for so long - wearing enough gold to sink a battleship, funny hats at odd angles, baggy trousers halfway down their butts - it's all there. Maybe they really are like that.

The story follows three cops, each very different but with problems of their own. Ethan Hawke was his usual drug-addled looking self, Don Cheadle just seemed too nice to be a tough guy and Richard Gere looked too soft to have done 22 years on the streets. Despite all that, the stories came together nicely and the ending was nothing if not dramatic and bloody.

It's a film which could have been better, but which was by no means bad or a waste of time. If you like the three films/shows I mentioned at the start, you'll almost certainly like this.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here