Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
53
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2012
This is an early Pratchett (about how 'Disc world' was created) and Terry is just warming-up as an author, in my opinion. Good to read to set the scene , as it were, but not as much fun as his later novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2009
Strata
It's impossible to read this book without comparing it to his works on the Discworld and very interesting to read because of that. One of his earlier works -this was written in 1981, this was the first appearence of a planet -(a flat disk on the back of 4 elephants, travelling on the back of a giant turtle) which in later books would evolve into the Discworld that we all know and love. It's perhaps not as well polished as the later books but it is worth reading and worth owning- if you are a particularily rabid collector the edition to look for would be the first UK paperback , published by NEL in 82- according to Pratchett's biblography there were only 5000 copies printed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2010
Terry Pratchett is now so well established as a brilliant mind and great writer that it is odd to go back to a time when he was struggling to find his voice and master his craft. This book is plot light and idea rich. It is fighting to break away from derivative genre notions, from both Science Fiction and Fantasy. Bits of almost Discworld are glimpsed. But no great moral purpose underlies the rapidly changing contexts and no gripping storyline can be discerned. An oddity, but not really engaging.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Very disappointed with this as a story, a sort of cross between Syfi and fantasy that failed to get of the ground and certainly pancaked a the end. Sadly it was a story without plot or structure that went nowhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
A great book for everyone who loves the discworld series. A little more sophisticated with a nice twist at the end. Brilliantly written as you would expect from Terry Pratchett.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
A good tale though read out of sequence. The disk world series builds as you work through. Could have added to this . Still a good read . Terry comes up with some good twists .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
I have met the man and spoken to him - he is a fabulous man with a great mind and thank you so so much for the book x My daughter will love it for Christmas xxxxxxxxxxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Terry Pratchett is one of my favorite authors, but this is not his standard book.
It takes a while to get into but definately worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
I bought this because I am an avid Terry Pratchett fan and whilst I own all of the Discworld novels I have now bought all of his other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Another book that takes you to his amazing world I can't recommend it highly enough, what a mind he must have had to dream up these books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here