Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
28
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.88+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2017
What a great album, couple of covers and some mighty fine mellow moods here!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2011
When Summer Day was released I thought WOW what a great song, I was surprised to find out that it was Sheryl Crow, so I HAD to buy the Album and I'm glad I did. I love it! The lady has still got it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
Memphis soul has alwyas been a component in Sheryl Crow's musical universe, but here it's the all dominant theme. Produced by Doyle Bramhall II (Roger Waters, Clapton) and Justin Stanley the music certainly hits that sweaty, infectious groove known from the old Stax and Delaney & Bonnie records Sheryl grew up with. Just as they master the majestic ballad.

The songs are all catchy and well-written, immediatly ear-grabbing but also growing with subsequent listenings. The lyrics - very much in keep with the genre - deals mostly with the ups and downs of romantic love. Although there's also a couple of comments on the way of the world, reflecting Sheryl's humanistic engagement.

There are notable guests like Keith Richards and Justin Timberlake. And a fiting tribute to her old employer Michael Jackson in the form of a re-make of the Jackson 5 hit "I Want You Back".

Seems like several younger female artists are drawn to the depth and beauty of soul music: Joan Osborne, Susan Tedeschi, Dana Fuchs, Grace Potter and compared with them Sheryl may lack a bit of vocal power. But all in all no sign of the great Miss Crow slowing down or loosing it after 6 albums, in fact this might be one of her best.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 July 2010
Sheryl Crow goes back to her musical roots. I always liked Sheryl Crow as a vocalist, and Soul is my passion so this seemed like a great idea.

Sadly there are too many duff moments for this to be an unqualified success. The production is straightforward retro R&B, and several tracks could have come from Muscle Shoals, Stax or Hi studios, and the country influence which was often present in Soul and in Crow's earlier work is there too. I don't remember too much reggae coming out of Memphis though, and "Eye to Eye" is a bit out of place as a result!!

Some tracks are corkers, "Long Road Home" where everything comes together effortlessly, the jaunty shuffle of "Say What You Want" and "Roses and Moonlight" with it's low brooding vocal all stand out for me, and "Sideways" is a great ballad, with Crow on superb vocal form. Others are more straightforward Soul workouts, and "I Want You Back" is a straight cover of the Jackson 5 original, nothing added nothing taken away, with Crow sounding uncannily like Michael Jackson, but straining on the chorus.

And unfortunately, there are too many occasions on the album that Crow's voice is strained - for instance the chorus of "Summer Day" just ruins what is otherwise a good track and she tiptoes dangerously close to the edge on "Stop", which is otherwise a superb track. And then there's "Sign Your Name" - what were they thinking. OK to invoke the spirit of Al Green and Al Jackson Jr. with that loping drumbeat, and the vocal starts out well down the register, but then that chorus, where instead of retaining that brooding feel, things descend into a worse-then-karaoke version, it really is just awful.

I guess I will listen to this and just screen out the tracks which don't work - it could have been so much better though.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2010
I have a couple of Sheryl Crow albums and normally there gritty and a bit blues/country/rocky. This one is a bit too swing for me. It's good if you're looking for soul/swing, but not if you're a previous Crow listener looking for her usual sound.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2010
Sheryl has recorded some great music during her career and is still an outstanding artist, but this is not as good as I had hoped. I shall contnue to listen to it though and hope more of the songs grow on me
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2011
Once again Sheryl Crow offers nothing but quality music - unlike most of today's chart music. Sheryl has reached a stage in her career where she is TOO GOOD for the charts - this happens to many great performers who find chart success difficult but are still turning out fantastic music. Ride on Sheryl - you are an ALL TIME GREAT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
Relly nice easy listening. Like that Sheryl Crow sings not only here own songs but covers to. Bought it for my Dads birthday as he really likes this artist. He says would listen to it not only on his own but is lovely background music when having visiters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.22

Need customer service? Click here