Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
95
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2017
First viewing of this since the age of its original release: 1966 (?). A period piece, now nicely restored.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2017
Memories of my birthplace Stevenage
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
GOOD QUALITY PRODUCT. THE RESPONSE TO MY ORDER WAS GOOD. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY AND THE PRODUCT TO ANYONE
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Although it has been shown on TV a few times over the years this release through the BFI is the first time Mulberry Bush has been readily available in any format since its original cinema release back in January 1968. And if only all DVD releases were this good!

Whatever the merits of the film itself this new release is almost perfect in its presentation. You get a DVD version as well as a high definition fully restored Blu-ray disc, with both discs containing plenty of bonus material. Also included is a superb 34 page booklet with an abundance of information, film facts and illustrations. This edition is obviously produced by a team who love film for an audience who will enjoy it as much.

The film is what it is - a reflection of life in the late sixties in many respects; picture Christopher Timothy in the basket of a delivery boy's bicycle - in Stevenage - and you are half way there! This release features the full unedited version of the film - unlike the TV showings - with Judy Gleeson's nude lake scene featured complete. Although the soundtrack is credited to Spencer Davis and Traffic the music accompanying that scene is actually "It's Been a Long Time" by former John's Children singer Andy Ellison.

It is worth reading the Wikipedia articles on the film itself and that of lead actor Barry Evans to set the scene if you are considering buying this film, and also read Amazon's Product Description, but the booklet supplied with the discs contains much more information.

This is the first disc in the BFIs Flipside series which "rescues weird and wonderful British films from obscurity" that I have bought. From the quality of this release I shall be checking out the rest of the range before long. Mulberry Bush is a cult classic which I enjoyed very much - not everyone's cup of tea though! However, I must give this BFI version a full five stars as it is a good example of how films should be presented for the home market.
66 Comments| 98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
reminded me of when I lived there back in from 1958 to 1975 I lived and worked in stevenage
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2017
Brilliant film - reliving my youth!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Bought for a friend who enjoys the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
DVD was just as advertised and was in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
Excellent dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2010
I remember watching this at the local cinema when I was 17 - and then feeling very embarrassed when my parents subsequently went to see it. I felt they should not be exposed to this revelation of adolescent lusts. They pointed out that they had also been teenagers once - a possibility that seemed remote to me at the time! It is a wonderful film to see again - capturing so many details and nuances of late 1960s culture, the attitudes, humour, naivety, and styles of speech and language of that time. The narrative organises around the adventures of a sex-obsessed teenager as he seeks 'a nice class of girl'- seemingly taboo-breaking at the time, in its portrayal of an emerging sexual freedom, but thoroughly innocent from our present perspective. The setting is Stevenage, and an accompanying feature presents the many positive aspects of this new town.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)