Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 stars
Platform: PC|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2011
I've just completed this game, so am writing the review based on the entire single player campaign. I haven't tried multiplayer so won't be commenting on that.

Lets get the nasty bit out of the way first. This game requires Games for Windows Live. I had a mare getting that up to date a couple of months ago when I was playing Bioshock 2. Consequently, I didn't have any trouble this time around. However, I see from other reviews that it has been an issue for some people. All I can suggest is that before you install the game, make sure your system is up to date, then be prepared for a couple of reboots as GFWL sorts itself out. Theres nothing complicated about the process. It is just time consuming.

Anyway, now that that is out of the way, what is the game itself like? Imagine you are in the movie of a Marvel Comic Book, and you won't be far wrong. The dialog is cheesy as heck, and everything is completely OTT, however there is an underlying story that pulls you along nicely. You play the part of a wronged merc, out for revenge. You are stuck on a planet which used to be an adventure playground for the rich but which has become overrun by savages and mutants. All this is explained as the story progresses. You soon get some enhancements that bizarrely monitor your actions, and award you points depending on how you kill your foes. At first this seems a tad unbelievable, even if you have totally immersed yourself in the game world. However, it all gets explained when you get to about Act four, from memory. (There are seven acts in total, in a game that lasts approx 10 hours).

So, this skillshot system is immediately appealing, and immense fun. However, it soon gets quite boring. Had I written this review after the first act, I would have given this three stars at best, as the novelty soon wheres a bit thin. As you progress into the game though, you get access to more weapons, and some of these are a treat. You have a sniper rifle, and get this, you get to steer the bullet as it flies towards the target! How cool is that? Each weapon has two modes of firing. In the case of the sniper rifle, the charged up version goes one step further. Once you have shot somebody, you get to move that body around (all in slowtime) before letting it detonate, hopefully killing other baddies. So you can look through your scopes, spot a group of grunts, and fire a charge shot at the leader. Once hit, you can send the corpse above the others, and explode it, killing them too, for bonus points.

Oh yes, bonus points. These are awarded for a variety of reasons. Obviously you get points for killing people creatively (so drag somebody towards you, kick them away and shoot them midair into a cactus for mega points, etc), but you also get points for killing newsbots, certain actions, and there are reflex bonuses where if you respond to the "Hold Right Mouse Button" quickly enough, you get points. And what do points make? Well, not quite prizes, but they allow you to get more ammo, and upgrade the capacity of your weapons.

Health is a simple affair. If you get shot too much, hide until you recover. There are no health packs to worry about. In some games this would be a downer. However, in this game it fits. This game is all about having mindless fun.

Once you have enough weapons to give you a bit of choice in proceedings, the game settles to a very enjoyable gore fest. Because though you have eight weapons to choose from, you can only carry three at a time. You shouldn't stick to just three weapons though, as each weapon has its own unique methods of getting bonus points. This encourages to try everything at least once. An example of this is once again the sniper rifle. I loved using this, however, as a result I got very few bonus points for killing with it (familiarity breeding contempt I guess).

As I said before, the game itself is about ten hours long. This is fairly short, but seems to be getting to be the norm rather than the exception these days. There is a lot to do in that ten hours though. A lot of it is derived from old games, however there are enough novelties to keep you interested, should you make it past the first act. For instance, at one point you get to control a life sized rocket shooting dinosaur robot, having previously been chased by it through a model city. Boring? Not a bit of it.

Once you have finished the game, you can reply sections (as Echoes) and this adds to the game, as now you have definate target scores to achieve. (Eg, clear the level in four minutes etc). There is multiplayer too, but I haven't bothered with that yet.

Graphics and sound are good without being awesome. The good news here is that you won't need a ninja PC to run it. The bad news is that you won't be able to use it to show off your ninja PC if you have one, as there is nothing spectacular. However, given the comic book theme, photorealism is not a requirement. The game is also pretty stable. I only had one crash while playing it. It minimises to desktop should you need to use the PC for something else, and restores without throwing a hissy fit.

All in all, this is a great game. I won't give it five stars, partly because it is short, and partly because it uses GFWL. Were it available on budget it would earn an easy five stars. So if you are reading this in a year's time then go for it without question. If you are reading it as a possible new release purchase, then I would say buy it unless you are on a budget. The price will definately drop soon (this always happens these days) and the fun elements of this game will still be fun in a month's time.

Good dirty fun!

++++ EDIT +++++

Somebody asked for the specs. Here they are:


OS: Windows XP (SP3), Windows Vista (SP2), or Windows 7
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo, AMD Athlon X2, or equivalent, running at 1.6 GHz or greater
Memory: 1.5GB
Hard Disk Space: 9 GB available
Video Card: DirectX 9.0c compatible, 256 MB of VRAM; NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GS, ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro 256 MB, or greater
Sound: DirectX 9.0c compatible, 16-bit
DirectX®: DirectX 9.0c
Network: Internet (TCP/IP) connection


OS: Windows Vista (SP2), or Windows 7
Processor: QuadCore 2.0 GHz
Memory: 2 GB
Video Card: DirectX 9.0c compatible, 512MB of VRAM; NVIDIA GeForce GTX260, or ATI Radeon 4870
66 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2011
Just a handy bit of advice.
I contacted EA customer support after getting stuck at the verification screen (after having installed the game). After an hour of waiting on the live chat service, they told me to "press enter" on the verification screen. The game then immediately verified and proceeded to play.
Also, the game is very enjoyable in my opinion.
Hope this helps!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
Oh Wow ! What-an-AMAZING-game. Actually, the word `game' just doesn't do it any justice.

The first part of the `game' involves creating a User Profile (just like one of those awesome RPG's !!). Actually, scrub that, that's the second thing you do. The first thing you do is try to use your perfectly good offline user profile (set up for games like Bioshock 2/Gears Of War etc.), but you have to set up an `on-line profile', even though you have no intention of going on-line. Now, the second thing you do is create your user profile. Actually, scrub that, that's the third thing you do, because now comes the real ACTION, which is setting up a Windows Live `user account' - this involves some really intricate keyboard `mashing' - great gameplay !!

Actually, scrub that, as that's the fourth thing you have to do, as Windows Live won't accept any e-mail address that doesn't end `', or'. So, the fourth thing you do is create a usable e-mail address. Actually, scrub that - that's the fifth thing you do because, even though it's for the PC, the create account screen now takes you to the `dead zone' (very spooky), which is a bit like a X-Box account creation screen that doesn't work. In fact, that's exactly what it is. Helpfully, the cheerful chappy on the web-page advises that `Oops ! You've found a Glitch' - I'm guessing I get some sort of in-game credit for finding this `secret place' - I must get a strategy guide to see where the rest are.

There are obviously multiple storylines in this game, and the one I took was to uninstall game files, install every piece of Windows Live software I could find, re-install everything else, and set up a Windows Live account independent of the game. That must be `fifthly', `sixthly', and `seventhly', give or take a `thly'. Eighthly, I created a `profile' - a cryptic process that involves randomly completing a form with no guidance, explanation, or indication of whether the process has been successful (I love these little puzzles, sprinkled liberally throughout the `game' - some might say they break up the gameplay, but I like them - more please !).

So ninthly, your Windows Live profile is set up. Actually, scrub that, that's tenthly. Ninthly is the bit where you sit watching Windows Live update; I have to say I found this the most boring part of the game - I know all games have their boring sections, but after Windows Live had forced over 10 individual updates, requiring a log off and re-boot every time, even I needed a rest. It was at this point that I thought I'd take a break from the hectic battling - of course, the fact that the screen kept freezing at the `downloading profile' moment was another reason.

After 10 hours of `hardcore' gaming, I was exhausted but satisfied with my progress. I think I might play it through again with my nVidia 3D specs, enabled, as it must look outstanding in all it's 3D glory.

As I was sitting on the sofa later, idly reading the box it came in, I saw something about some guns, and shooting and stuff. No idea what that was about.

My only warning about the game that I played was that CEX will only take in unopened versions.


Despite what other reviewers may feel, I believe our job here is not to review the game, but to review the product in it's totality , and I think customers expecting value for money would ask for nothing less. I don't care how wonderful or amazing the new performance car is I've just bought, if I find the keys don't work, and I can't get in to drive it, it's a waste of my money, and I'll say so.

For balance, I'll admit that I've friends who've played BS on the X-Box, no probs. But for the PC (I still don't have mine running), BS is a total package of, well... BS
1919 comments| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
Bulletstorm is an incredible and successful attempt at making something fun and original within the genre that has been dominated by pseudo realistic military shooters clones. BS does not take itself too seriously, opting instead to supply fun and exhilarating action non-stop.

You play as Grayson Hunt - an ex-spec-ops agent and now a space pirate with alcohol problems. Gray is on a quest for vengeance and redemption and when an opportunity rises he directs his spaceship crew to torpedo through a huge opposing vesel hosting Gray's arch-nemesis and ex-superior in command - General Sarano. I will not be spoiling the story, suffice is to say that it is fairly original and not as cliche as most other shooters out there.

After the game's intense opening, you find yourself crashed on a planet hosting to a lush world and a futuristic resort city. But something has gone terribly wrong and instead of enjoying your stay, you fight for your life and escape chance against many of the planet's savage inhabitants.

The main gameplay aspect of Bulletstorm and the one that makes it unique is the skillshot system. How many times have you played other shooters and killed bad guys in some special? How many times you felt you did great and never got any acknowledgement from the game? This time around, BS will keep a close track of your performance and reward your ingenuity when it comes to killing enemies with points that can then be spent on upgrades to score even more points. An array of interesting weapons - each will powerful alternative fire mode, a kick, a slide and an energy leash will help you setup the most incredible and funny situations to dispose of the baddies.

Bottom line: Bulletstorm is a fun game, original and fresh in the world dominated by stagnant CoD clones. After having played it, going back to any other shooter feels like a downgrade, a step back. Fully recommended to anyone who wants to relax, have fun and get rewarded for doing well in game.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Will not install.
I have tried several times but you have to register with Windows Live and it simply will not work.
There are many online threads confirming this.
Nightmare waste of time and should not be for sale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
I haven't actually played this through, so I'm only reviewing the installation - and it's a doozy!

A lot of people buying this are going to install, then have the Games for Windows Live refuse to register it because it found a 'corrupt file'. This is extremely common - perhaps it affects every Win 7 installation.

Here's what I did to get it to work on Win 7.

Don't install to Program File (x86) - create your own folder, directly in the C Drive,

Then DON'T use the usual installation - open the game folder, and use Game.msi ,

Then DON'T open the game using the usual .exe file, use zpd.exe, found in Binaries/Win 32/Zpd,

Then, if you are lucky, and already have a Games for Windows Live identity (I did for Bioshock), the game will open!

If you don't already have a GFWL identity - I pity you!

Hope this helps - it worked for me, and I was on the verge of returning the game. I didn't invent these moves, I compiled them from various forums, and found when used together, they worked.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Space mercenary Grayson Hunt has been betrayed by his former commanding officer, Sarrano, who is now trying to kill him. Hunt tracks down Sarrano and forces his ship to crash on Stygia, formerly a pleasant colony world now overrun by mercs and the fercious wildlife. The battle between the two continues, with Grayson's obsession for revenge clouding all other priorities.

Bulletstorm is a first-person shooter with a fairly thin story (kill everything in sight) designed to support two fairly unusual gameplay mechanics. The first is the "Killshot" system, which awards you more points for the more imaginative, visceral and spectacular ways of killing an enemy. The game unlocks more controls, mechanics and way for doing this, resulting in an ever-escalating sense of mayhem to the game. The second is the fabled "Kick" mechanic. Previously seen in the underappreciated Dark Messiah of Might and Magic, the "Kick" mechanic sees you introducing enemies to your character's foot, delivered into them at apparently hyperkinetic velocities capable of sending a ten-foot-tall mutant clad in body armour flying about thirty feet in a given direction.

Bulletstorm is not a particularly subtle game, but it is quite a fun one. Dispatching vast hordes of enemies (occasionally this borders on Serious Sam levels of farcical numbers) with guns and The Kick is the order of the day, intercut by some spectacular vistas, some excellent graphics and a story that is basic but delivered very well. The game shows some amusing meta-awareness of its own status as a meathead bro-shooter, but doesn't go overboard with this. The game makes it clear that Grayson is an absolutely reprehensible idiot and seeing him called out on his stupidity by both his friends and enemies is quite satisfying. The other characters are well-drawn, particularly your constant companion Ishi who you have to half-lobotomise in the opening sequence of the game (to save his life) and he never really forgives you for it. In fact, the game's musings (restrained as they are) on violence and morality, combined with the rather Dubai-esque backdrops of the devastated cityscape most of the game occurs in, makes Bulletstorm feel like a very bizarre but appropriate companion game to Spec Ops: The Line. It's a comparison that weirdly works well.

The action is satisfying, the graphics are impressive and the story, characters and writing are all better and cleverer than they really have any right to be. However, it is a short game, there are quite a lot of cut scenes and also far too many Quick Time Events, where player agency is removed in favour of the designers frothing at the mouth to show you how awesome this bit they've planned is (but rarely is). The game is also ridiculously easy, which apparently is deliberate: the designers wanted everyone to be able to finish the game, show off their killstreaks and get to the (groan) cliffhanger ending. That's great, but it does make playing the game a bit of a mindless affair at times.

Bullestorm (***½) is certainly not worth paying full price for, but if you can find it as a budget release it's a fast-paced, fun shooter with a bit more depth than is normally found in games of this kind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2011
Really enjoyed the single player on this good fun if a little short, its not too complicated just a good blast. Like the addition of the leash which adds a different aspect to this game compared to other fps. The language can be a bit suspect but take it light heartedly and enjoy it as it adds character, if you spliced duke nukem with gears of war your not far off with this game.

The skill kills are addictive as you want to try and get them all , i did like the vertigo and pin cushion but each to their own.

Multiplayer bit dissapointing as there is only one type to choose from and after the tenth go can be repepative. Its just you and three other guys going against the computer AI.

Graphically it looks great and you dont need a ninja system to run it smoothly. At £15 a pop its worth a go.Single player 4 stars, multiplayer 3 stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
Duke Nukem may be known as the most macho character but Bulletstorm sure tries to steal the title as the game that makes even the most manly man pale in comparison. A lot of explosions, bullets, tough language and macho talk fly off your screen and through your speakers from start to finish.

But is this a good game, however? It's a hard question and I really tried to enjoy this game but in the end, it left me feeling rather cold. The whole point behind this game, is to make "skillful kills" meaning you get points for killing in particular ways - kicking enemies off a cliff, blowing their head off, using your leash to pull them towards you and finishing them off.

It sounds intriguing but most gamers have a certain way of playing where they find the most efficient way of doing something, and then they stick with it. Translated to Bulletstorm, it means you'll just take the easiest ways to kill meaning at least 80-90% of all the different kills are unneeded. Why they didn't encourage you more to use those other kills is beyond me.

The enemies themselves are pretty dumb and primitive - they're hordes ready to be mowed down with little meaning or challenge most of the time. Due to the game's linearity, you'll feel like you're walking along a thin path killing anything in your way instead of actually "living" the part. The graphics are beautiful though and there's a lot of well-made locations and everything feels polished. It's just a big shame that the combat feels shallow and ultimately pointless.

If you DO enjoy the idea of making various different kills and experimenting with the guns in getting all of them, this game may well be for you. If you want tactical combat with a some depth, look elsewhere. This is a masculine bundle of pure linear action.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2011
Once I got through the tortuous Windows Live DRM setup (Eventually had to call a very nice bloke in Dublin) I've been playing this for a couple days. All settings at high.

It appears to be a nostalgia fest with a complete lack of script, gorgeous massive landscapes, ridiculous wise-cracking dialogue and stupidly over sized weapons. If you think Serious Sam HD, with bits of Duke Nukem and nods to hundreds of other famous games you've played, you'd have it right. It comes across as a homage to game developers since 1990.

Because (despite?) that, it is a great way to spend an hour just blowing the hell out of hundreds of Mad Max extras and Godzilla-ish monsters in pretty landscapes. I haven't tried the MP yet but I doubt it's ever going to be a GREAT game like HL2 or Battlefield, Just too plain silly.

However, I would recommend it for anyone who remembers 90s. Top stuff
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)