Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
30
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 August 2017
Not bad I donated it to charity
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Bbbbhbn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
this film was great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Average film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
All OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2011
What an amazing film! The best I've seen handling this difficult subject. The story successfully shows the intense feelings the two men have for each other, their realisation of this and the predujice they face from others. The performances are truely stunning, especially from Tye Olson, who's emotions are really felt by the viewer. I don't cry at much, but boy...... It left me feeling so sad for people in that situation. I also wanted more of their wonderful bodies, but it's rated 15 so hey, can't complain. You must watch this, whatever your age or sexuality, so many important messages.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
One of the most moving gay films I have ever seen! Tye Olson is amazing as Danny, totally convincing and making such an emotional impact. Some of his scenes are almost unbearable to watch, he is so expressive. He takes hold of your heart and squeezes it .... His journey will make you smile and definitely make you cry. Make sure you have a box of tissues handy - you'll need them. Both leading actors play to their strengths and their relationship is totally believable and heartwarming.

You just have to see this film. It is tender, dramatic, and really packs an emotional punch. You would have to have a heart of stone not to enjoy this story of conflicted desires and first love. This film also contains one of the most beautiful and expressive gay love scenes I have ever been privileged to see on the screen. The cinematography in the sequence and the accompanying music, not to mention the two guys involved, is a must for anyone with a romantic inclination, like me.

By now, reading this, you will have cottoned on to the fact that I am in total admiration of this dvd. Congratulations all round to the producers, director, actors and musical score. I have watched a good number of gay films lately and been very disappointed, but at last I have found one I can rave about! Get it and enjoy the experience.

Just wanted to add that I watched this film days ago now and the characters (and their story) are still living with me. This is the mark of a successful film I think. The dvd has ended but the the film is still saying important things to me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2010
"Love is short... and forgetting is so long." This apt quote opens WATERCOLORS, as we meet Danny, an artist holding his first exhibition. His boyfriend is frustrated with Danny's level of distraction: it is the event Danny has worked so hard for, so why does he seem so far away? The bulk of the film answers this question, consisting of a flashback to Danny's senior year of high school. Back then, success is an impossible dream, and instead Danny is the stereotypical 'sensitive' outsider - strong at school-work and art, bullied for being a 'fag'.

Enter Carter: Danny's (apparent) polar opposite. Carter is an athlete, a swimmer, and a trouble-maker; seemingly all-physicality versus Danny's intellectuality. When Carter's father leaves town one weekend, Carter is deposited at Danny's house. The inevitable tension arises between the two young males. Carter flirts outrageously with the shy, inexperienced, Danny; although his intentions are ambiguous. When the weekend closes, the two seem to have bonded, but Carter insists that they cannot be seen together at school. Their respective 'houses' demand that they keep apart (the overwrought Romeo & Juliet back-story is palpable). Danny has tumbled head-over-heals in love... but is Carter merely toying with him?

Writer/Director David Oliveras has done a most admirable job with his début feature-length film. What is obviously a well-worn theme is given a freshness that keeps the viewer engaged. He clearly demanded a great deal from his relatively inexperienced lead actors, and while some of the dialogue occasionally struggles for authenticity, the leads fare well in producing the delicately sensual eroticism and poignancy of a first love that will impact Danny (and his future relationships) for years to come.

WATERCOLORS is an unexpectedly-satisfying retrospective of the tenderness and pain of our first madly-passionate encounter; that unparalleled love which still continues to haunt us years later. If this thought is something that resonates, the film will certainly reach out to you. Recommended.
33 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
A gay film about a couple of young teenagers in high school in Los Angeles or around, who are looking for their path out of the nowhere of their present, find it and then lose it and find it again but this time the paths are branching out, one low and one high. What is so special about this one that we can't find in any other?

The two young men are just so different that they should never have met and yet destiny and fate are the only trolls and gnomes who decide for us ,and in this case they bring together a brilliant student who is planning to major in art and a mediocre student who is on the swim team and needs to improve his grades in English and asks the brilliant future artist to help him with Romeo and Juliet. Fate I said.

What was to happen happens of course between the art student who knows he is gay but is just waiting for an opportunity to make him come out and the swimmer who does not know he is gay but is able to fool about with the idea in private but not in public. And fate works a tragedy out of it. The art student writes the swimmer's paper on Romeo and Julier but he does not know what style is and his paper is not fake enough to go through and becomes suspicious to the English teacher who has forgotten how he went through college and university.

Sure enough the swimmer's father is not very swift either and he reveals to his son his mother has been arrested and he has bailed her out in the distant Texas where she is living after her separation from her husband and where the swimmer wants to go to for college. The swimmer finishes only second in the competition that takes place on the following day of this bad news, of this second bad news. What's left then? Nothing and the artist is not strong enough to convince him that life is worth living even if swimming is his only horizon because he has just been kicked out of the swim team.

The end is tragic of course and the film is clear that the two young men are confronted to such a heavy pressure in their families, at school, from the administration, from the bullies, from their parents, from the teachers and the school's principal dares to announce the bad news on the intercom at the beginning of the classes. Communication is not exactly the strong point of school officials.

A jump a few years forward and the artist-to-be is an artist now, a successful one who has finally found the power of a style, of his style in his suffering, and some solace in a lover he does not seem to really see, at least not on his canvass, and the lover is hurt and suffers to only be second, though he is the real live one.

The end is touching in delicate watercolors if you want, but does it bring closure to the suffering of a death caused by all kinds of bullying elements in this life that becomes lethal on blinded purpose, with the only aim of making people who are too innocent not too hide their feelings suffer as much as possible because it is funny to see a living being suffering, and if it is to death it is even more attractive. Gladiators are no longer in circuses but gladiator-games take place in our everyday environment: in the street, in the subway, at school, and in all places where it is funny for a bully to torture his or her victim, in fact where he or she can find an audience.

This film is nearly refreshing in its sadness, even if I doubt a swimmer could be accepted on a swim team with shoulder long hair.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.69
£5.29

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)