Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 29 September 2015
Another great release from Arrow, it comes with three discs, plus a nice little booklet about the film, and a reversible cover, but for me the one you see on amazon is the best. Am not going to bore you about the film, there are many reviews already that can tell you better than me, so all I would like to say this is a very good film and the picture quality gets a 4/5 from me.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
A true cult original, 80's fun horror.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
The Arrow's "Vamp" edition is very good. I like so much the quality of image, the extras and the box. Y would like have,only, the posibility of spanish subtitles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
It's good to be able to get hold of a quality DVD of this after years of trying to catch it on TV. I first saw this as a youngster and while it hasn't stood the test of time perfectly, it's still an imaginative and original comedy horror caper.

Grace Jones, one suspects, was one of the central selling points for the film originally, but while she does a fine job (mostly non-speaking) of leading a coven of blood sucking harpies, it's other elements of the film that hold the attention. The set design and lighting are both imaginative. It might not be the only film from the 1980s to have used pink and green neon lights, but it's certainly a fine example of how to make the city by night even more alien and disorientating.

Following on from this, the way the neighbourhood around the After Dark club is set up as something of a world unto itself is a nice touch. The seedy hotel, the diner, the grungy street gangs who somewhat confusingly seem to be both vampires and in conflict with vampires at the same time... Taking this further, the vampires' backstory is mentioned in a scene towards the end of the film, although like the characters, is never really properly developed.

Still, the film has at least some kind of, er, logic to it. Vamp is mainly about visual style, and when you add in the fact that Keith Haring contributed to the look of some of the club scenes (Grace Jones' body paint), it's fair to say that this is a quintessential 80s horror film: All fangs and no knickers!
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
Can't play it at all.My Pc will not plat USA imports,be warned
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Grace Jones as vampire stripper Katrina is really the selling point for this mid-1980s Comedy Horror. Jones strikes a bizarre yet somehow appealing figure, and her natural elegance and fearsome demeanour make her perfect for such a role. Other than GJ, this remains a decent watch - Chris Makepeace and Robert Rusler are likeable leads and Deedee Pfeiffer provides energetic and visually appealing support as bubbly waitress Amaretto. Highly stylised, full of disorienting neon lighting, and with a well rendered seedy backdrop, Vamp is a typical slice of Eighties cinema in all its garish pulsating glory.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2011
Ah Vamp. It's been a long wait for this typically mid-80s cheese fest to arrive on dvd, not least Blu Ray, in a presentation that befits its reverence in my house. And another great package from Arrow Video. If I won the lottery I'd create a company like Arrow that gleefully release films that obviously they enjoyed as teenagers and that deservedly merit release now amongst a bunch of conveyer belt bull that festers in over priced cineplexes the length and breadth of the country.
But Vamp. A collection of great special effects, decent acting, Dedee Pfeiffer, fast paced script and generally satisfying all through. Made at a time before every film had to have special effects made by some eastern european 20 year old sat at a computer knocking out scene after scene of brain dead and weightless rubbish taking direction from some talentless director in another country over the phone.
There's more invention in this film than a dozen recent alleged 'horror' films.

Not a great film by any stretch of the imagination but an enjoyable 90 odd minutes of daftness, amusement and proper fx scenes in a film that knows its audience and has fun in the process.
Silly but recommended.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 March 2012
After almost 2 decades (maybe more) I finally got round to watching Vamp again and was glad I did.

Well shot and doesn't look like it has dated wither Arrow give it a fine transfer and in Blu Ray it looks Great. I love the locations used in Downtown Los Angeles and the seedy back streets and neighbourhood in general, gives a great backdrop for the storyline.

f you like films like Fright Night (original)and Salem's Lot (original) you should enjoy this film.

4 Stars for a good film and great extras from Arrow.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
Only a film like this could have been made in the 80's. Every hallmark is here from the excellent soundtrack, effective vampire make-up, likeable zany characters, comedy, wardrobe and Grace Jones as the mute head bloodsucker.
We follow two college students and their "friend for a week" who embark on a journey to the city to find a stripper for a frat party only to find themselves trapped in a seedy nightclub owned by vampires. It's not long after our introduction that the story kicks in and from there it doesn't let up. Direction is solid from first time helmer Richard Wenk and we're never left hanging at anytime. If you saw this as a kid in the 80's, I'm sure, like me you'll have a soft spot for this movie and if not, you'll enjoy discovering this for the first time.
Sadly the specs on this review are incorrect. The UK Blu-Ray version was released in mono but has some great "for the disc" extras inculding recent interviews with much of the cast and crew. This import edition according to Amazon boasts a DTS-HD soundtrack. Well it doesn't!! It's also in mono, which for a movie with such sound potential is a total waste. I bought this import version in addition to my UK version only to be sorely disappointed
Nevertheless it's better than owning the grubby dvd and the HD transfer is more than satisfying. Comes in a slim case. Enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
this is a wild colorful film. It's similiar in lighting to 'creepshow' from 1981 and that gives it a comic book look that works well in this horror comedy. The film is not a mockery fype of film like scary movie, instead it's just a horror film that is played with some humor. This arrow print looks better than the one that we got in the u.s. So I had to buy this one instead. The film looks pretty good on blu ray and much better than it did on blu ray. It has no real defects The story is about young guys looking for some nasty fun who run into a strip club of vampires. Who are really monsterous in appearance as well. Which makes it all the less like twilight. This is well worth owning as part of your horror collection and grace jones is really good in this film as well as the other actors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)