Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
1,057
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2010
I am 81 yrs old and this dvd held me enthralled especially the weightlessness fighting. Certainly one of the best movies 2010.
It is also one of those movies you have to watch several times to catch up on what you missed first time around
0Comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2010
Whoever is reading this knows what Inception is and is probably wanting to buy the film, if they want to read a review then best go to Rotten Tomatoes or IMDB, but I'm here to tell you about "Inception: Limited Edition - Triple Play (Blu-ray & DVD & Digital Copy)".

It comes in a plastic case covering the metal briefcase that is bigger than the briefcase it's self obviously. The briefcase however is lighter than one would expect. Carved into the front is the title of the film and then under that is the clip which you undo to open the briefcase. In front of you after opening it is the Blu-ray box with a holographic slipcase. On the other side is the "Portable Automated Somnacin IntraVenous (PASIV) Device Instruction Manual MV-235A" which tells you how the fictional PASIV Device used in the film works, it's a nice tie-in book. If you take that out then under the book are five art cards that are about the size of a postcard. Two are posters from the film and the other three are stills from the film. Above that is a replica of Cobb's Totem as seen in the film. Underneath it says "INCEPTION" carved into the Totem. Next to the space where the Totem rests in the box are the numbers "528 491", a reference to the film of course. All of the contents are in a hard foam.

If you open up the Blu-Ray box you will see three discs. Two Blu-Rays and one DVD. There is a leaflet inside instructing how to get your version of the Inception Digital Copy. As with most Digital Copies they have an expiry date (05/12/2011, in a years time yesterday). The first disc (Blu-Ray) is disc 1 of 2. It is in black and white and has a birds eye view of a city but with "Inception" written in as if a building itself. The second disc is in colour and shows the Totem spinning on it's side. The third disc (DVD) is black and white too with nice relevent patterns on it.

---

Special Features (as copied from the back of the box):

Extraction Mode - Infiltrate the Movie's Imaginative Landscape to Learn How Christopher Nolan, Leonardo DeCaprio and the Cast and Crew Designed and Achieved the Film's Signature Moments

Dreams: Cinema of the Subconscious -Can the Dream World Be a Fully Functional Parallel Reality? Joeseph Gordon-Levitt and the Leading Scientists Take You to the Cutting Edge of Dream Research

Inception: The Cobol Job - Comic Prologue in Full Animation and Motion: See the Events That Led to the Beginning of the Movie.

5.1 Soundtrack Selections From Hans Zimmer's Versatile Score.

---

Main Feature
1080p High Definition (DVD standard definition for the third disc) 16x9 2.4:1 DTS-HD Master Audio: English 5.1 Dolby Digital: Castilian Spanish 5.1, English 5.1 Audio Descriptive Service.

Subtitles
English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian, Swedish

Special Features
May not be in High Definition. Audio & subtitles may vary.

---

Final note for people who don't own Blu-Ray players but are buying this boxset for the collector's items: the special features are on the second Blu-ray disc. The DVD disc contains just the film, no special features. So if you are a collector who wants the items as well as special features then I recommend buying this and the 2-Disc DVD edition.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
1818 comments| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 December 2015
Christopher Nolan’s intelligent and complex SF movie is an intriguing heist thriller centred on Leonardo DiCaprio’s Dom Cob, a guilt-ridden, disturbed con-man who accepts a corporate espionage contract which, if successful, will enable him to return to his estranged children in the USA. Cob and his fellow criminals operate by infiltrating the subconscious of their victims and while ensconced in a dream-state steal secrets, or in this case plant (incept) an idea for nefarious purposes. This ambitious film challenges us to look beyond the impressive special effects and action sequences, demanding our full attention with its labyrinthine plotting, non-linear narrative, alternate time-frames, false realities and issues of perception, and similar to the director’s other perplexing movie, Memento, it is a film which rewards with each repeat viewing. Definitely a film to watch, probably more than once.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 February 2014
This review is for the Blu-Ray version - Amazon have a habit of bunching reviews together over different formats.

This is one film that I was happy to get on blu-ray over DVD. The picture quality is superb, a real show case for HD. Colours are vibrant and edges are sharp, with some grain where there are large patches of one colour, but not that you would really notice as you will be drawn into this film. The sound quality is great coming out of my standard TV speakers, but I can't comment any further as I don't have surround sound or a high end sound system.

Dom Cob (Di Caprio) is a thief, but not the kind that steals physical items or data. He steals information from minds. This is done by drugging the subject and using some hi-tech jiggery pokery he and his team are able to enter the targets mind whilst they sleep. A world is created in the targets mind and Cob must trick the person into giving up secrets whilst they go about their business in the dream. However, some people are aware of this and can take precautions.

What Cob can do is trick them further and create a dream within a dream. All this messing around in the mind is not without its dangers and if Dom and his team are not careful, they can get locked in forever. Pretty soon you begin to wonder if your life is real, or are you living in a dream world.

A very thought provoking film that may take a few viewings to get you mind around the time dilations that take place when 'going under'
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
This is one of my top favourite movies. Not only the plot is incredebly clever and intriguing, the photography is also stunning and one of the few movies where special effects actually add to the story rather than distracting from it.

In a nutshell, having discovered a way to break into other people's dreams to "steal" ideas, a group of "criminals" is assigned a mission going in the opposite direction. They must "implant" an idea, which makes their task even more difficult. Since in dreams we live forever, the task is complicated even further by a dead woman who just does not want to stay dead.

You can watch it over and over and still find something new in every viewing. Definitely recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Well worth a watch, very impressed with the film from start to finish. Be prepared for you mind to spin at the start as a lot of information to take in but I think that added to the depth of the film.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
This again is a quality Chris Nolan film, with brilliant special effects, and a great cast,
but gave it four stars, because again I found the story very complicated, and
I can't help but think that the dialogue isn't loud enough, because the music drowns the speech out,
might be a dud copy, but at this price, I'm not complaining. Part from that, excellent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
I'm not going to review the film - check out Rotten Tomatoes or IMDB, or even The Guardian! I bought the film so obviously I liked it.

So the reason I bought this on blu-ray is because practically all the special features are missing from the DVD version. And some of them are certainly worth watching if you are interested in behind-the-scenes explanations. There are some truly fantastic scenes and complex concepts in this film and the special features show how the challenging scenes are created and goes into some depth to explain the concept of entering another person's multilevel subconscious and what that can mean for the person being invaded as well as the person doing the invading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
How have I still not seen this? I'm giving it 5 stars because everyone who has ever seen it says it's awesome. I think I got it about the same time I bought the Blu-ray player. I'll watch it now. I'll.....wait....it's not there. Oh FFS. I've only got about 5 Blu-rays. I only ever buy them because I bought a 3D telly when 3D was the next big thing and look where we are now, Do you know something else? Whenever I try to watch a 3D film, the batteries in the stupid glasses have gone flat. And you'd think you could just plug them in to the mains, because they charge off of USB, but NO! They only charge from one socket hidden away on the back of the telly, so if that breaks you're f****d and they refuse to charge unless you use the cable that came with them, so if you lose that you're f****d AND THEY TAKE 18 F*****G HOURS TO CHARGE AND THE TELLY HAS 6 USB SOCKETS, BUT ONLY ONE SPECIFIC ONE WILL CHARGE THE F*****G GLASSES. So unless you're on your own, you have to plan ahead.
So, er, Inception then. I still haven't seen it. I'm told it's really rather good. You should watch it. I haven't yet. I'm planning to. At least it's not in 3D. I'm going to find it now..........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I cannot believe it has taken me this long to get round to watching Inception I finally succumbed to the hype and can confirm that it was 100% deserved. Inception is a cleverly crafted film that will blow you away with its star studded (and very talented) cast, stunning CGI and mind boggling plot.

A whole host of famous actors star in Inception from Leonardo do Caprio to Tom Hardy to Joseph Gordon-Levitt to Ellen Page. I don't think I can fault a single move or sound that came from these actors who all gave flawless performances. I cannot pinpoint which character or actor stood out the most to me because they were all equally brilliant. Leonardo di Caprio is probably the actor who got to show the greatest spread of emotion and showcase different sides to his acting as his character is involved in a love story. This story permeates throughout the entire film, though rather strangely, few other characters are involved in it at all. This addition to the story just gave the film a little extra something and added an emotional level to this cool-as-a-cucumber film.

I do not think I have ever seen a film with such stunning CGI effects. Hats off to whoever was in control of the effects because they were truly brilliant and breathtaking at times. Inception deals with dreams within dreams (sometimes dreams within dreams within dreams!), in which the subconscious is allowed to create whatever world it desires and the cities created in this film were simply amazing whether it be a modern Western city, a Japanese city or even a ski slope. If only it were possible to fold a city in half with roads replacing the sky. It was not only the CGI used to create the scenery that was impressive, but also the effects used during the action sequences. There were plenty of fights during this movie, most, but not all, involving gunfire and the fluidity of the on screen action was astounding. This is not ordinary action though, in one case there was even a fight when the gravity had been switched off and ceiling became floor and vice versa multiple times. It was just so ... cool! James Bond has nothing on these guys.

Alongside the brilliant CGI effects there was really great cinematography. Now I don't really know anything about filming or the technical side of film-making but it's impossible not to notice the fluidity between shots and the capturing of perfect angles. There's also a really great soundtrack which just gives this film that extra umpf and makes everything more dramatic and tense. This film will not only play with your mind, but also your senses as you're assaulting by an array of brilliant sights and sounds.

All in all, Inception is undoubtedly one of the best films of the decade and I don't think I can fault it in anyway. I rarely give 5 star ratings, but Inception truly deserves it. This is a must see film for everyone that will keep you entertained for every second.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse