Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
176
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2013
saw this at the cinema a few years ago, but saw a clip of it on tv the other day for an advertisement company so it reminded me about it; leading to my purchase. is well worth buying it, love will ferrel in it, its absolutely hilarious at points, but can be a bit corny at others.
really recommend this if you want a laugh, some famous faces and something to lighten up your day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Will Ferrell is always a pleasure to watch. This is a fairly wacky cop film. Good enough
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Really funny film. Wahlberg and Ferrell are awesome together. Excellent cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2011
I started watching this film with an open mind not expecting much, just the usual buddy movie. What a surprise the pairing of Will Ferrell and Mark Walberg is a revelation. They play off each other so well and now it is in my top 20 films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2016
This film had potential from it's idea, but lacked any humour or original scenarios, quite a seat shuffler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 15 March 2016
This is about as good as it gets for action of gigantic comic proportions. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg are hilarious, the script is fantastic, there is some comment in there on financial swindling at an international level, that you can take very superficially or in more detail if you want - it actually seemed quite complex, but not in a way that makes it hard to follow the basic outline! And the action is very good. Ferrell's character is so surprising it takes you most of the film to get the character - completely off the wall. There's some kind of comic genius here ... and Wahlberg is also superb in his own right, as a police officer who has been demoted but is excessively anxious to prove himself, held back by anger management problems. For the best cop duo since Starsky and Hutch, you must see this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
Laugh, laugh I almost went to Ethiopia! The Other Guys is a very, very funny film and for me to say that, not being a massive fan of comedy is not very common. I just think that most comedy films are not funny really. The only films that are flat out comedy and actually make me laugh every time are quite rare. My tastes include Ace Ventura, Dumb And Dumber, The Cable Guy, A fish Called Wanda, Twins, The Big Lebowski, The Burbs, Ted and of course, The Other Guys. I like comedy films when they have a bit if edge and not just stupid spoofs or pure rom cons because they make me wanna puke. What The Other Guys offers is part slap stick, part buddy cop action with witty banter throughout.

I love Mark Wahlberg because he can do funny, angry and serious at the same time which is why I really don't understand why he doesn't get the respect he deserves. He is a very good actor and makes great films. You just don't know what you going to get from him, from films like Contraband to The Fighter to the excellent Lone Survivor. The only film I won't watch is Transformers. Pathetic!!!! Will Ferrell, well I must be honest, this is the first film I have seen him in. I know, it's weird. He is funny in this and I can see why folks like him, but I won't be converted to watching some of the other stuff he has done. Like I said I'm not really a comedy kinda guy. Now, who is hilarious is Micheal Keaton who plays the police captain. No wonder he got nominated for an Oscar for Birdman! I can't wait to get that on Bluray!

For a comedy, The Other Guys has some great action sequences and is filmed in a very stylish way with funny slo mo shoot outs and ridiculous car chases. It's all done the way it is, very deliberately which really works. I think the best way to describe this film would be Bad Boys on acid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Must admit if someone had told me that i'd find 'Will Ferrell' and 'Mark Wahlberg' teaming up in a tongue-in-cheek movie 'funny' i'd have found the idea---funny, but i'd have been wrong, because, this film will have you splitting yer' sides with it's dead-pan humour.
The story starts with 'Danson' and 'Highhsmith' ( Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson' and Samuel l Jackson' ) grabbing all the glory as 'NYPD'S' super cops, when they become victims of their own invincibility, the precinct's cop-partners compete to be seen as their replacement 'heroes'
Among the suitors 'Allen Gamble' and 'Terry Hoitz' ( Will Ferrell' and 'Mark Wahlberg' ) probably the least likely to do so, however the two latch onto a 'big-time' crime operation, despite being warned off by their superiors, they just can't let it go......but do they realize what they are getting themselves into ?
Give this a whirl i'm betting you'll 'love it' ................enjoy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
Will Ferrell finds himself a stable job as an accountant for the Police in The Other Guys where he teams up with stressed out cop Mark wahlberg. The back story to Ferrells character is so funny I don't want to spoil it here, it's one of Ferrells best moments. The Other Guys is brilliant for so many reasons, but ultimately the main reason is that it's totally hilarious. Will Ferrell has been in so many funny films now he must be just about beating comedy greats such as Steve Martin, Jim Carrey, and Bill Murry, and thank god Ferrell hasn't gone the family film route yet. This film stands as one of Ferrells best along side Step Brothers, Anchorman and Old School.
Also watching this film reminds you how great Michael Keaton is when given a good funny role. I'd love it if he was given a leading role in comedy films again like he did in the 80's and 90's with Nightshift, Beetlejuice, The Dream Team and Multiplicity. Maybe the next Ferrell film could star Keaton alongside him in some zany comedy, that would be amazing.
The Rock and Samuel L.Jackson are also superb in this film, it is insanely funny what they do. It's sick that it's so funny. There's also a very cool Ice T voice over that works brilliantly. Normally I hate voice over narration in films yet it works the way Ice T delivers it. Eva Mendes is also good casting and truly hot playing Ferrells wife in some funny scenes with Wahlberg drooling over her. It's good to see Steve Coogan get a good part in an American film and not only appearing briefly (as he did in Tropic Thunder before having an explosive exit).
This DVD is a shorter cut(12 rating) than the Blu-Ray edition(15 edition) with some altered scenes. I have seen both versions and can say that over all the shorter version is probaly the better watch as the pace is quicker. I found this was also true of Walk Hard where I found the shorter cut better, yet I prefered the longer cut of Step Brothers.
If you're a Ferrell fan and loved his previous movies going right back to Night at the Roxbury then you'll definately want to see The Other Guys.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2011
The start of this film was very promising & funny, with Dwane Johnson(The Rock) & Samuel L. Jackon as a pair of ass kicking cops, Danson and Highsmith, who think they are invincible & too good to do paperwork. Meanwhile, Will Ferrell & Mark Wahlberg are the "other guys" in the shadows who sit in an office fighting to do their dirty paperwork. Wahlberg's character (a disgraced cop who was on the way to the big time) is climbing the walls for a chance to do some proper work after being dumped behind a desk, meanwhile his partner Ferrell (a police accountant) is content with office work, so Wahlberg's task is to shake things up & persuade him otherwise. However his attempts get kicked up a notch pretty quick, as 20 minutes in, super cops Danson and Highsmith amazingly through their "we cant die" attitude, in a superbly silly OTT way, get themselves killed. A perfect opportunity for the other guys to step up....

As you can tell there is a quality support cast here, along with Eva Mendes, Michael Keaton & Steve Coogan. However this film just doesn't fully click into gear for me, i loved Ferrell's other work like Anchorman,Land of the Lost,Old School &Step Brothers. But here the film is passable with some comedy highlights, but nowhere near as good as the previously mentioned films with Ferrell in. Ferrell was decent in the film to be fair, although not quite his usual A class standard that i expect. The decision to cast Mark Wahlberg as his Co star just didn't sit right with me, he is NOT a comedy actor of Ferrell's caliber. It was quite honestly cringe worthy in places watching him trying to be funny, but to be fair to him, he was good in patches playing out the macho guy who can't fathom why Ferrell's geeky character gets the hot chicks. It's likely that Wahlberg was recommended after starring in Date Night from Ferrell's pal Steve Carell. Still, i am not blaming him 100% as i am not sure casting someoneelse would had saved this film tbh, sure it may had made it a bit better if there was someone Ferrell could of had better chemistry with, but still, not one of Ferrells best imo

In conclusion, The Other Guys has it's moments with some genuine funny scenes, but it just doesn't seem to click, as both leads find themselves floundering in places. Worth a watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)