Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
41
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£2.55+ £1.08 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2016
Ok I probably don't but here it goes anyway:

Squares of heaven. The delicate Buttermilk flavour that when dunked in tea is just sublime, no soggy digestive breaking off in your tea. With these you can dunk with the certainty that your rusk will be in one piece when you go for a bite. The perfect treat for elevenses.

Bit of History:

The Ouma legend lives on. The story of Ouma rusks started more than sixty years ago in the small North Eastern Cape town of Molteno. The great depression spurred Ouma Greyvensteyn and her friends to put their heads together to find ways of helping their church mission. Each woman invested half a crown and set out to grow their investment. Ouma Greyventeyn used her half a crown to bake a batch of rusks, using her trusted family recipe and selling them to farming families in the community. Orders soon started pouring in. Today, Ouma Greyvensteyn is still South Africa's most famous baker. The Ouma bakery is still baking rusks on the farm Friedenheim, on the outskirts of Molteno. No less than 100 full time staff work around the clock in shifts, ensuring that South Africans will always be able to "Dip 'n Ouma".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
I got addicted to these Rusks when I spent some time in South Africa as a volunteer - they are fabulous when dipped in a hot drink of Rooibos Tea - well I like them dipped in ice cold milk too - in fact any excuse to "Dip n'Ouma"
The postage costs on these make them ridiculously expensive in comparision to what you'd pay for them in SA - BUT you can't buy them from supermarkets here that easily so I was happy to fork out this once for a taste that really jogged some happy memories!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
This is such an iconic product as expectations were high when I ordered these. They arrived safely not broken at all and with a cup of rooibos tea I was in South Africa again. Thank you for the experience, I shall be ordering again soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
My husband works in the DRC (Congo) and was home in the UK on leave for just a few days. I ordered the rusks hoping that they would get here before he went back to Africa, and they did, with a few days to spare. He was ecstatic. Buttermilk rusks are his favourites !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
Why, oh why can't they make rusks like Ouma's here. Great product and greatly enjoyed by all.
I think I have set a precident by getting these rusks and might have to make this a repeat order...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
Just like South Africa. Thanks! Taste is great, takes me back. Will order again. Will tell all my friends. These are definitely the best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
These are amazing to dip into a cup of tea! Yum. Love the packaging - bought two boxes and got my housemates addicted too!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
I bought these coz they remind me of home and when I was a young 'un my mum used to bring a rusk and cuppa to wake me up in the morning.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
Grew up on this and it is always a favourite in the household.
Always make sure that we some around in the house
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Have had this product many times in the past, but was horrified to see the high calorie count - 1 rusk is the equivalent of about 6-7 slices of normal bread so won't be purchasing this again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)