Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
Kvelertak
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 19 June 2016
One of my favourite bands and this album is very good. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2011
Man, do the Scandinavians know how to rock! This is hands down the best release in metal I've heard in years. I hear hints of the Stooges and MC5 crossed with some of the best black & roll I've ever heard. Who cares that I only understand English and German. I don't need to know what they're saying to know that this destroys. Do yourself a favor and pick this up. Repeat listens required. Crank it!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2013
Liker du Rock?
Liker du Roll?
Liker du Metal?
Liker du Guitars?
Liker du flere Guitars?
Liker du å høre en mann gargling på batterisyre og grus?
Liker du Norge?
Liker du Fierce?
Liker du svart?
Liker du å få svett?

I så tilfelle så stikke en kopi av denne i din handlekurv og kjøpe. Kjøpe den, OK.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2010
If you've read about Kvelertak in the media then you will probably have heard that Kvelertak is a combination of hard rock and black metal. While technically true, this album is 10 parts rock to 1 part black metal, with the black metal largely being restricted to the tracks "Ulvetid", "Necroskop" and "Liktorn". In fact, in spirit Kvelertak are the antithesis of black metal - where the latter channels emotions of despair and hatred "Kvelertak" is the most upbeat release I've heard this year. These guys are all about rocking out and in this they succeed; if you don't get the urge to sing along with these songs (though this is difficult for non-Norwegian speakers such as myself) then you must be deaf or emotionally barren.

Kvelertak's music is reminiscent of virtually any of the rock greats of old as well as newer garage rock bands. In fact the riffs are so instantly familiar they could have been taken from any of your favourite rock albums. What prevents Kvelertak from being generic copy-cats is that they do what they do very well indeed. They are also much heavier than most straight-up rock bands with occasional blast beats, harshly shouted vocals occasionally bordering on black metal screeching, and a guitar sound big enough to knock you over. This plants them in a limbo between rock and metal, leading to the somewhat questionable touring buddies of Kylesa and Converge - bands which have very little in common with Kvelertak. So broad is this band's appeal however that are equally able to recruit fans like your father, who listens to nothing but The Rolling Stones and Zeppelin, and your anti-social reclusive friend that spends his hours listening to endless Eyehategod clones.

You need to buy this record. Hell, even if you don't like rock it's worth having just for the beautiful cover artwork by John Baizley of Baroness.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2011
Kvelertak's self-titled debut LP is a great record, immediately listenable from the get go and packing a great punch to boot.
The production is fantastic (thanks to Kurt Ballou of Converge) and the artwork and liner notes are top notch too (thanks to John Dyer Baizley of Baroness).
They're great death / punk-rock tunes similar to Black Breath / Black Tusk / Red Fang.
Easily recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2012
"Kvelertak" is an album that every music fan should have in his/her collection.
Maybe it needs a bit of time investment to get used to the Black Metal ingredients in this album, but once you've accepted those you will discover a beautiful maelstrom of pure music.
Every piece in this intense ride just fits perfectly and is there to serve for one big purpose: to pick you up, shake you round and throw you to the ground left wanting for more: Rock!
From the perfectly full produced sound, to the immense array of musical influences, the Norwegian lyrics in a crazy Norse mythological setting, the fat grooves, pounding riffs and epic bridges...
...It really just is pure fun at it's very, Very best!

Buy this right now, get some mead and really good noise canceling headphones, install yourself in your favorite seat or chair and GO!!!
(Just make sure there are no breakable things in your immediate environment)

I saw Kvelertak live just a month ago and it was one of the best gigs I've ever seen.
(I've seen hundreds...)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2015
Amazing album. You can find everything here - from hardcore, punk, black metal, heavy metal in general, to garage rock and rock in general. This is the kind of music that urges you to fill yourself with hectolitres of beer ( or any other alcholic liquid) and headbang until you're sick. I am not usually into this kind of music, but this is the stuff that breaks boundaries & and I can't get enough of it! Pure angst at it's best. It's stuck in my cd player in the car forever. It's like Turbonegro at it's best on steroids. Haven't heard something good and tight like this since Fugazi - at least in the sence of musicianship. Wow, so many influences... Great stuff, not a weak song on this record... I don't know a word of Norvegian and I sing the choruses all the time! In your face r'n'r!!! And yeah, thank you amazon for the quick delivery!:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2012
Album: A great piece of post-black metal, highly recommended to metal fans in general.

Production: Substantially similar to the CD version, which itself was quite clean with no clipping / loudness issues that bothered me in particular.

Packaging / Pressing: Two discs are beautifully packaged. Art is vivid and compelling. This particular pressing an "audiophile" pressing, which means it's two heavy discs with an obnoxiously short run time per side (10-15 minutes). The vinyl itself is reasonably clean and quiet.

Recommended, but no compelling reason to purchase over the CD version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2013
One my favourite records. I'm not really into viking or black metal, but this album is truly a gateway drug to the path of metal if you like The Raconteurs, mixed in with some The Who from their Tommy era, but want more insane energy. Highly recommended. Great audio quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2011
Man this is good. Big sound, great riffs, actual melody and who cares about the lyrics? Not me.

Blodtorst is the stand-out track, but do yourself a favour and buy the whole album, there's loads of goodies on here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Meir
£12.99

Need customer service? Click here