Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 20 May 2010
why this woman decided to tell it all is beyond me,credit where it,s due she has worked hard but has little consideration for her family when deciding to go public,her kids must have suffered in the hands of the school bullies after reading this,she must be every mans nightmare to have as a wife unless you are like Tim who appears to have no backbone,very boring read at times,if you are stuck on a desert island it would pass an hour away but frankly i would,nt recommend it.Never liked the woman much and this book has done more harm than good especially for her kids.
1313 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2010
As a fellow sufferer of depression I must admit I thought Denise's book would show some sides of it but bearing in mind how successful she is I didnt expect it to be as excellent as it is. Denise explains it as it is and at some times I had to put the book down as it was like looking in the mirror. The good thing with the book is it isnt all doom and gloom and I was surprised to find myself laughing in some parts. I would particularly recommend this to anyone who has a family member or partner suffering with this illness, I gave it to my mum to read and she was shocked but relieved to see it is in fact a 'common' illness and isnt just down to having a ' low' day. Thank you Denise for bringing this illness into the public eye.Pulling Myself Together
33 Comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 22 July 2015
I confess, I was rather indifferent about actress Denise Welch until reading her first volume of memoirs. From the TV dramas I've seen her in, I always thought that she turned in a good performance, and her hilarious, often outrageous antics on 'Celebrity Big Brother' pretty much made that series for me.

In 'Pulling Myself Together', Denise looks back at a high profile career in Britain, which includes starring TV roles in 'Solider Solider', 'Byker Grove', 'Coronation Street', 'Waterloo Road', a stage production of 'Grease', and her popular association on the 'Loose Women' panel. Fans of any of these shows will find parts of this book very interesting, as she reveals lots of behind-the-scenes gossip, but make no mistake, this isn't you're strictly showbiz memoir, it is just as much about her difficult private life.

Even from the start of her career, Geordie Denise was hiding a secret, she was suffering from a post natal depression which was so severe that she admits that there have been many times over the years when she felt suicidal. I felt her whilst reading about this struggle, I really did, and was amazed at how she managed to play so many characters on the screen and stage so convincingly over the years, especially as she frankly admits to taking cocaine and drinking alcohol in the dressing room whilst filming her scenes in 'Coronation Street', which should have been the happiest time of her professional life.

I really admired the honesty which I believe was running high throughout this book, when she talks about the things she has done which don't always put her in a good light, her casual attitude towards infidelity, her stormy marriage to actor and comedian Tim Healey, who appear to be 'chalk and cheese' as people, her trouble with police, and some very embarrassing incidents that she is gutsy enough to recall. More importantly, this is the story of how this brave woman turned her life around.

I don't even think that you have to no the first thing about Denise Welch if you should decide to read 'Pulling Myself to Together', which is a book which I believe will inspire those who have faced similar health problems with depression (which I have myself), or just feel a little bit fed up, as we all do at times. There are enough good anecdotes to satisfy readers of celebrities and the acting industry, and anyone who just likes to read a real-life story.

My impression was that above all, although she does carry a very selfish streak, and has put her own interests first on more than one occasion, Denise is a great friend, a loving wife and devoted mother, who didn't always make the right decisions in life, but at least she can admit to that. I found this very easy to read, although I probably wouldn't wish to do so again, in it's entirety at least.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2012
I read this book ages ago but didn't review it because I wanted to consider why my opinion of Denise had changed. She has had some bad press recently, partly due to her reputation as a party girl. I didn't want to give a knee-jerk reaction to the book because I have always liked Denise & wanted to defend her. I know something of Depression & felt that some people didn't give due consideration to the effects of this. I applaud her honesty in telling her story. I think there is always something to learn whenever anybody tells of their experience of Depression. However, gradually I came to believe that Denise was quite selfish. She says in the book (& has repeated this on Loose Women) that she would rather make a joke about someone than take a moment to think about their feelings. This spoilt it for me & I haven't been able to think of her in the same way since. Her recent assertions on TV that her family adore her & 'love the bones of her' seem a touch boastful even if they do love her. Funny how other people think well of her yet she wouldn't think of them at all if there was a gag to be told. Her appearance on Celebrity Big Brother made her seem a bit deluded despite the fact that she often comes across as quite intelligent. I suspect there may be a follow up to this book. I wonder if Denise will grasp the fact that she can let her hair down & have fun whatever her age, but most people adapt their behaviour to act appropriately depending on their company & the occasion. If she still wants to be semi naked in a pool with a teenager in years to come I don't think she will deal with the ageing process very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2010
I realised the book was used but the book looked like it had been stored in a bucket of dirty water and then dried out.The pages have drying marks and curl up at the edges. it was a present for someone but they were ok about it.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2010
I have been suffering from PND for the past 11 months and I have been reading as much as I can on the subject to try and understand more about this terrible condition as well as learn from the experience from other women who managed to come out the other side. Perhaps I had high expectations of this book as there was a lot of publicity and good reviews from other PND sufferers - but the reality is that this book is just the autobiography of a British actress and there is little emphasis on PND other than the fact that she has been suffering on and off for the past 20 years. So she talked about good days and bad days while she was battling to become a recognised actress. I am not British and have only been living in the UK for the past 10 years - hence, many of the celebrities that she talks about I have never heard of (and to be honest I am not interested - that was not the reason why I bought this book). Also, I was quite disappointed with the ending. All in all, I would not recommend this book for women in search of some answers re. PND.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2010
I really like Denise Welch and was looking forward to reading this book and I was not disappointed. It is funny and sad as she talks about her relationships and her battle with depression.

My only issue would be that she didn't go into her relationships with the 'Loose Women' enough, but thats just my opinion.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2011
Denise Welch, ah how I used to think you were such a pretty young girl and so innocent. Well this book destroyed the myth in the first couple of chapters. Ah for the days of innocence, true love and fidelity. Also why do some people think that because they have chosen a career in the media spotlight that they are good at everything, singing,dancing,acting presenting and being an author. The acting bit I think is quite good, but as for singing and dancing I had never heard of anything she had done in that area. When it comes to writing well I gave up after reading half the book it was such heavy going. Just stick to acting love, leave writing to someone who knows what they are doing and has a bit of style.I'm sure people will buy this rubbish, I' just glad I don't have to air my dirty washing in public to earn a few quid
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2012
Just finished this book, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I have always like Denise and thought she was a great actress, the book just proved what a lovely nortern bird she is and so down to earth. Written with what apprears to be total honesty and subjects that must have been painful to put on paper, were done with fairness to both sides. Love the way she didn't crucify her first husband ...just told it how it was, with no nastiness. Thanks for sharing your story and I for one , wish you well in the next chapter of your life, Good luck for the future, i hope its full of happiness x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2012
I have suffered from clinical depression for the past 20 years, and as in the book I have controlled periods as well as dark periods. Denise has put into words exactly how depression feels and affects everyday life, in a way I have never been able to describe to friends and family. My partner is now reading it as I feel he needs to understand my feelings.
This book is excellent and I have been left feeling both empowered and relief, to know my feelings and shared experiences are normal, for a sufferer x thank you Denise, xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)