Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 29 March 2013
A gripping well-written series, hard to put down. A totally different approach to that of other fantasy novels- whilst the theme of good versus evil is still the central core, the quest is in a very different setting. The ending is open, leaving threads which could be further developed into a sequel. Soon, please.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
This book is really good, J V Jones never ceases to please. I enjoyed this so much I went straight on to the next book and can't wait for the new one next year. She is an excellent storeyteller - one of those books where you slide between the pages and live with the characters. Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Well written, a good deal of depth, interesting world,
Not for people who enjoy faster paced series.
I would say anyone who enjoys Tad Williams will be very pleased by this series in general
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2009
I have waited a long time for this book to come out and it was every bit as good as the previous two in my opinion. My only hope is the next book in the series is not as long arriving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
Always a great read. Now onto the next book. I am supposed to write another 11 words... Ridiculous word requirements
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
i cannot wait for the next book, i am trying not to go to the book shops and keep asking if its come out or in yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2007
It looks like Ms Jones has taken a book that either too long or struggling to finish (with publisher pressure), and cut it in half. Be it from either a character perspective or timeline and padded the mostly finished bit. That said I have thoroughly enjoyed it.

This is missing something, I loved it, but a bit like a good meal with no pudding.

This extends to all the story lines, no single one gives a feeling of repleteness even for an epsiodic missive.

As entitled this sadly smacks of Mr Martin, love them both, but one feels that both have been victims of success.

This author is not putting the time into her work that it deserves. The book could and should have been more. I would doubt that the author can put here hand on her heart and say that she is happy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
Brilliant book keep the thread all the way through and keeps you wanting more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2008
what a waste of several days reading time. just for anyone who is thinking of buying the book- save time and skip to the last page....nothing happens. you may as well miss this book out completely and go straight to the next one (if it is ever published).
too many sub plots meaning that you move from one character to another every chapter with no feeling of getting anywhere. if you took the number of chapters the main character raif is actually in you wouldhave a thin paperback.
the review of P. Tsaligopoulos says it so much better than i ever could.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
Quite enjoyed it and sent for book 4 as well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse