Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Learn more



on 5 February 2016
Underplayed, under the usual excitement from such actors... a truly great movie for those who realize that sometimes...
your life doesn't have to be the Instagram highlighted moment or the great plan to end all plans to be just what you need.
Often what you want, but what you need are not the same thing.
This movie is the same...Its not what I wanted, BUT was most definitely what I needed.
A very well kept secret, to how a low key movie speaks to those who need to hear it, regardless of fanfare.
Well played.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2015
Hidden gem of a movie. Loved, loved, loved this movie. Slow burning characters. The melancoly aches through each character but the hope and humor burns brighter. Will not have you laughing in the aisles but will make you smile and sometimes that is enough. Matthew Perry is a surprise and was able to step away from friends persona. Is this deep art, no but it has a lovely warmth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2016
There is so much going on!! How many issues can 1 family have exactly? Dysfunctional doesn't cover these siblings...yet I happily watched it. It's definitely not a comedy. I think I laughed twice but It was OK. Very good casting made the movie good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2015
This film made me laugh , think sideways and out n out celebrate !

Great acting by all in this quiet film showing a layering of what's expected , accepted and how different people can be while being the same.

I would recommend this film for a contemplative day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2013
I really love Matthew Perry - and he himself is very good in the role of the main character - its just the story is a bit odd and quite flat in places... i kind of liked it but at times i was thinking to myself.. what on earth is going on here!!!! ?? but its worth a watch as a Matthew Perry fan ... he is his usual brilliant self.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2015
interesting and deep, a few funny moments but it is closer to drama than to comedy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2010
This comedy drama has a great cast - obviously Matthew Perry is synonymous with playing Chandler in friends - here he impressively shows a much more subtle and mature style to his performance. He's supported excellently by the underrated Ben Foster, Ginnifer Goodwin and even Hilary Swank. It's a comedy that centres around family with flavours of Royal Tenebaums, the awkwardness of Curb Your Enthusiasm and echoes of The Savages - if that's your thing then this is a must see.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2010
I was disappointed with this film. It was not funny at all and a total waste of time watching it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2011
I bought this movie because Matthew Perry is in it. If you're looking for something similar to his other roles (i.e. Chandler Bing from Friends) this is not the movie for you. Matthew Perry gives a brilliant performance (as do the other actors) but its not the type of comedy I expected. A good movie, but if you're expecting a Chandler character, you'll be disappointed. I'd say this movie is more light drama than comedy, but either way, still a good story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2015
I wish there was a 3 1/2 stars. This is a good film and has it's poignant moments. The premise seems to be based around the two younger dysfunctional siblings (who I confess, I find it difficult to actually feel any sympathy for), they are clearly self-obsessed and it's really everyone else's kindness around them which has help them through life. Matthew Perry is understated in the role, which is good, it shows him not just as a one trick pony comedy actor, but has gives some real depth to his performance.

The 3 1/2 stars? Well "Golden Pond" this is not, but all the same, it's a good effort and has some great moments that make you chuckle, but the story, and the relevance to Birds of America is weak, and that is maybe the films problem, many of the links to the past are weak and you have to fill in the detail yourself. But it's not a waste of time to watch, even if it's not a "classic" comedy drama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse