Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13
Expect No Mercy
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 September 2011
Nazareths 9th album(in a remarkable 7 years) returned the band to a grittier ,more rockier sound,possible due to criticism of the previous slicker sounding 'Play 'n' The Game' from 1976,no matter the reason and the scrapping of the first attempt,this is a likeable album.Housed in a Frazetta sword n sorcery sleeve(he would become more prominent with Molly Hatchet)your immediately expectant of a heavy rock tour de force and while the title track and the likes of 'Revenge is Sweet','gimme Whats Mine' deliver,there is more to this disc and repeated listens will deliver enjoyment for years.

You want blues then seek out the likes of 'Busted' and the self explanatory 'Kentucky Fried Blues' while the more sedate strains of 'Shot Me Down' and 'Place In your Heart' while etch themselves in your head and you'll sing along with a grin on your face.

Urban legend had it that the scrapped version(unbelievably without the title track!) was a harder version and the released product a compromised version,well certainly there is no evidence of that presented by the alternative versions,worth listening to but ultimately diluting the overall album,it might have been better had they been presented as a second disc.

Still another quality disc from a severely under rated band.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2015
I have just bought this, not having heard the original in its entirety for over 35 years. Dan has such a powerful and distinctive voice, I think he easily out sings others like Coverdale (Whitesnake) and Johnson (AC/DC) I just love it all. Naz have never made a bad album and this whole package is up there with the best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2017
Five stars. Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2017
perfekt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2015
Bought No mean city over 30 years ago and have just downloaded this album . Don't know why I waited so long as nazareth hit the spot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2016
Excellent album from Nazareth I have always been a fan of their music and have enjoyed this cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2011
Nazareths excellent 10th album gets a makeover. Naz fans will be keen to get their paws on this one as it has the bonus second disc of the "legendary" first take of EnM. Strangely enough the first version of the album didn't include the title track, which is the best track on it!! Overall its a bit of a mixed bag in terms of musical style. Theres the full on rock axe attack of the title then you get the country and western track with Place in Your Heart! Confusing eh? However this makes for a great overall package with Nazareth demonstrating that they are no one trick pony. Stand out tracks are Expect No Mercy; Gone Dead Train; Kentucky Fried Blues, and Revenge is sweet, which will satisty the hard rockers amongst you. The remainder is mid tempo rock with a sprinkling of ballads. If you like the harder rock side of Nazareth i'd reccommend No Mean City over this one. As for the bonus disc i'd say its for the hardcore fans only rather than the uninitiated. Great reissue.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2012
This cd was bought as a present and was greatly received.No problems, bad comments or critisisms to report which is all good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2013
cd in great condition music just as great as I remember nazereth were allways a great group and this cd shows their talent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2012
At this point nazareth was making really great hard rock. The stupid british scene was dominated by punk , which was ok but lacking in the real musicianship that this and well most other types of music had. Still smart brits and the rest of the world knew that this was better and had some really good songs like 'expect no mercy', 'shot me down' and 'gimme what's mine'. There isn't a bad song on this effort. I have several versions of this one and they all sound great to me. good stuff here.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)