Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
58
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2013
Very very enjoyable. Wonderful writer her books always enjoyable . Well read with great character voices no matter how many times you hear it you like it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Superior detective writing of the time. Better than Allingham and Christie in my opinion. Why they haven't been refilmed recently I can't imagine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
Dorothy L Sayers is one of the queen's of detective writing. She writes intelligently, her stories are well constructured and they carry the flavour of the period, post 1st World War, in which she was writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
As with all Wimsey books, this is entertaining with some slight tongue in cheek at times, good plot (and red herrings).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Fab, just love Lord Peter Wymsey, Ian Carmichael is just the best. I love the storylines and the production is great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I am a staunch Dorothy L Sayers fan so cannot fault it, great read. I would definitely recommend this book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
I first read this book several years ago, borrowing it from the Library. I enjoy Dorothy Sayers' writing very much even though there are some aspects of her books which indicate a consciouness of class which is very different from that prevailing today: whereby a character will act in a way required by his/her class and not necessarily the way the same character would act if being written about today. Also some of her books indicate that there was a degree of racial discrimination amongst the "upper classes" which is quite disconcerting now.

However, despite the above, suffice to say, I enjoyed this book and the other Lord Peter Wimsey books I've re-read recently, just as much as I did several years ago. I'm very pleased I bought the book "The Unpleasantness at The Bellona Club".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Just found Dorothy Sayers and thoroughly enjoy her Whimsey books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Great book in Sayers'wonderful style. Very enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Dorothy Sayers is a great story teller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse