Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 5 June 2010
Rick Springfield is Australian. Foreigner are an English / US band. Cutting Crew are English. Billy Idol is English. Whitesnake are English. Crash Test Dummies are Canadian. John Waite is English.
Seven tracks have been included that are not actually by American artists, so not really American Anthems (i.e. from the US???)
3232 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2010
I picked this up today and it's a really great collection of all-American tracks (obviously!)
Mostly rock - Journey, Heart, Chicago, Foreigner etc, but then also some brilliant songs from soundtracks such as Flashdance, Karate Kid, Top Gun & Rocky. It's 3CDs, so is good value too. Perfect for the sunshine and an open top car, though for me it's unfortunately more likely to be the M25, rather than Highway 1...
66 Comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2010
I do not own this CD but my friend and colleague got it for her birthday. She is but 22 years of age.

Her young mind should not be corrupted by this Yankee Doodle Dandy nonsense. What's wrong with good old fashioned British music? She's probably never even heard of Chas n Dave.

I wouldn't be surprised if she soon started to go 'Line Dancing' and insist on calling me 'Pardner'.

Avoid at all costs.
44 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 23 February 2013
for as long as the charts have been in existance there has allways been a
strong 'american' presence.
looking back on it, must admit i'm a little suprised there hasn't been a
lot more albums available such as this......a earlier reviewer wrote that
every number was a winner on this 3-CD set......spot-on 'it's brilliant.
this compilation covers many of the great songs and names spanning a 30 year
or so period, although to be honest around 60%-plus is from the 80's.
among the tracks on board 'foreigner's' -'i want to know what love is' ( allways
a firm favourite of mine ) 'the cars' -'drive' (an all time classic) 'billy idol's'
-'white wedding' (a must own track) 'santana's'- 'she's not there'(a great power
ballad) also from the 'rocky' films 'survivors' -'eye of the tiger'
no 'american' power ballad or anthem album would be the same without a 'tina turner'
track--this album has 'what's love got to do with it' on board along with 'meatloaf/
cher's' -'dead ringer for love' the'america'track on board is a re-recorded version of
of their 70's hit, also the massive hit from the film 'top gun' 'berlin's' -'take my
breath away'(one of the all-time great pop-sounds) just love this album, other artist's
include 'patti smith'-'journey'-'chicago'-'jennifer rush'-'boston'-'cyndi lauper's' version
of 'true colours' -'cutting crew'-'hall and oates'-'the calling'- along with 'david gates'
(bread's) great love ballad 'baby i'm a want you' -not forgetting one of the all-time
great 'american. anthems written as a tribute to 'buddy holly'-'don mclean's' -'american pie'
in truth every artist on-board is worthy of a mention-however have to stop somewhere--just
check-out the track list, i'm sure you'll agree this 3-CD compilation is just too good to miss
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2010
Whitesnake !!! Since when were they American? Jennifer Rush ? American my ****.A poor compilation of songs/ tracks made up with some dubious choices to represent an American theme.
44 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2010
I love most of the tracks on this album - I'm old enough to have been a youngster when most of them were hits. However, any self respecting rock fan will already have these tracks in their collection, ok, probably spread across several cd's or albums. How many more times are we going to get the same tracks ?The only reason for getting this then would be to stash it in the car for the morning dash to school then work.It will sit alongside other compilations designed for the driver whose only chance of listening to his or her music choice is alone in the car. And it's out just in time for Father's day. Lots of these tracks can be found on similar compilations, often for less money than this. This feels like a cheap marketing exercise by the moribund (look it up - it's near moron !)execs at the record company to pedal the same old tat as something new and interesting. This is a compilation album for those too lazy or stupid to make their own choices.
OBTW - who cares about who is American or not, the point is clearly that if you listen to classic rock radio in any state in America you will hear most of these songs at some point. In fact you could probably just play this on rotation and no one would notice.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2017
Picked it up very cheaply to listen to in the car. There's a good selection of music, mostly the usual tracks that make up these compilations, so wouldn't say it's essential. Was hoping it would have cd text (names of tracks/artists displayed on stereo) but it doesn't. The copy I have is one of those cardboard fold out ones. It is quite fiddly to get each disc in and out, so (because mine's for the car) I put the discs in floppy, plastic envelopes to overcome this. Didn't want the cardboard case knocking around car, getting damaged, so jotted down track names and put them in the floppy, plastic cases. I copied from the list of the tracks on here and found a couple of errors. Track 10 on disc 1 and track 7 on disc 2 are the other way round. So, Mr. Mister - Broken Wings is no. 10 on disc 1 and Reo Speedwagon - Keep on loving you is no. 7 on disc 2. Also, it's Lynyrd Skynyrd, not Lynard Skynard. Also, I suspect this interests no-one and makes me look quite sad. No-one will have read this far anyway...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 August 2010
Music to take you back to the days when ties were skinny and hair was big and people did a weird sort of passive aggressive dancing in nightclubs, all air punching and white man's overbite. Witless clichés of hot luurve on a bed of keytars and syndrums and WE RAAWWK, but politely.

This album will make your jacket sleeves roll up to the elbow.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2016
This is the BEST soft rock compilation i have EVER brought. I,ve brought a few but some have too many rubbish tracks but this 3cd 60track box has only 2 tracks i don,t get. The 2 tracks are, CYNDIE LAUPER AND BELINDA CARLISLE they don,t belong on a soft rock compilation. That aside its still a gr8 3cd box. The best tracks are, RICHARD MARX-HAZARD, CRASH TEST DUMMIES-MMM,MMM,MMM, PHANTOM PLANET-CALAFORNIA, BRUCE HORNSBY-THE WAY IT IS, TRAIN-DROPS OF JUPITER. There are 58 gr8 tracks out of 60 and you can,t say that of any other cds i,ve got. This 3cd 60track box cost me less than £2 so abargain aswell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2011
"American Anthems" is a fantastic set of eclectic musical hits compiled on three cds. Many of these songs have a happy summer theme and can be played at various parties, picnics, and/or barbecues. This collection is very well put together and contains many soft rock, classic rock, country, and pop classics. I understand that others reading this may have their own personal favorites. There is something for many people contained in "American Anthems" because there are 60 musical tracks. However, I have decided to list some of my personal favorite songs to assist in deciding if "American Anthems" is for you:

From Cd One:
"Don't Stop Believin" by Journey
"I Want to Know What Love Is" by Foreigner
"Amazed" by Lonestar
"Sunny Came Home" by Shawn Colvin

From Cd Two:
"Is This Love" by Whitesnake
"Heaven Is A Place On Earth" by Belinda Carlisle
"Drops of Jupiter" by Train
"Take My Breath Away" by Berlin

From Cd Three:
"Eye of the Tiger" by Survivor
"Wherever You Will Go" by The Calling
"We Built This City" by Starship
"The Way It Is" by Bruce Hornsby

"American Anthems" is a fantastic compilation to get if you are an eclectic music lover who enjoys classic rock, pop, and/or rock music that you can play at home and/or out in the public arena.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)