Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
216
4.5 out of 5 stars
Praise & Blame
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 July 2015
My choice of music is folk, blues, country and gospel. I had alway associated Tom Jones with pop music and would normally not consider purchasing one of his albums. This was different. One of the seminal blues tracks of all time is Blind Willie McTell's "Nobody's Fault But Mine" and this has been covered by numerous artists and when I came across Tom Jones' version I was blown away by the power and conviction conveyed, along with a stunning instrumental backing which reminded me of Pops Staples. On the strength of this I bought the album. It is just packed with excellent interpretations of blues and gospel. Songs that move along such as "Didn't it Rain", songs of conviction such as "Ain't No Grave", and songs of reflection and torment such as Dylan's "What Good am I", which was reminiscent of Johnny Cash's American Recordings. There are very few albums where every track is a winner, but for me this is one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
This is the kind of music Jones should always have been singing: roots, blues, country. Excellent guitar backup.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
It's Tom Jones on the pulpit, so you know what to expect even if its not his standard fare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 January 2011
Now I am not a big Tom Jones fan but my wife wanted this album so I got it for her. (being a good husband!)
However, I was pleasantly surprised. This album is not Tom's usual work and has a different sound.
Overall I enjoyed the tracks and found them pretty good listening, the praise/gospel tracks worked pretty well I reckon.
If you really dislike Tom then give it a miss, but if you even vaguely like him then give it a go, it's worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Its OK Bit dark in places , Early stuff is better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
OK, he's recorded some real turkeys and appeared in Las Vegas and comitted every other musical sin imaginable. But he was always a good valleys boy at heart. Listen to this and forgive him everything. This might not be the Johnny Cash American albums but it's pretty close. Diolch yn fawr Tom!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Marvellous talented Sir Tom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
Bought this CD as a stocking filler for my husband at Christmas. He was a bit surprised that it was SO different from anything else Tom Jones has ever done. Nonetheless he finds it very enjoyable and, the more he listens, the more he likes it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
Praise Only No Blame !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Superb mature sounding blues album from the 'Voice' with real soul
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)