Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2017
"Portability" tends to suggest an object of smaller physical dimensions than this object. I'm tempted to subtract a star for the unnecessary thickness of paper chosen, completely the wrong paper in fact for any book of around 500 pages which clearly (by title) implies a purchasing individual should able to stuff such stuff in their back pocket and move on. However, "portable" atheistic material also suggests a document that continues to engage the intellect after many repeated readings and this book certainly does that. A great selection from the Hitch; to hear the trumpet blast of truth echoing through the years is all the sweeter a sound for the counterpoint it often plays to deeply god bothering times and places. This tome enlightens and inspires as it squashes and splatters deluded theologians all the way on its chronological journey from Lucretius to Ayaan Hirsi Ali. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Hitchens never fails - he is sorely missed - this is just what I needed, now that Christopher has "converted me" - EVIDENCE! (Or perhaps I should say 'Evidence of an indication and consideration of a lack of evidence? (Hmm - thought provoking, which has to be a good thing).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Being a long time Atheist (since being 15/16 and I'm now 75+)- very, very clearly Mankind created god and NOT the other way around.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Required reading. Brilliant selection from humanist writing. Useful for sceptics as much as for atheists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Exactly as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
A beautiful read from the century's finest contrarian.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Excellent collection of writings dealing with some of the nonsense surrounding religion. It is difficult to imagine anyone reading this book and not wantinig to sue the various relegious organisations for gaining money under false pretenses.

Some of the writings are a little difficult to read as their use of English is very dated. The book starts with the work of an arab and ends with how a Somali woman left her faith.

There is an excellent piece by one of the Penn and Teller magicians. If nothing else, read that one.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2009
Unless you're one of the lucky people with a brain like a computer, able to instantly bring to mind, that perfect reposte, during any discussion on religion or theology, then this is the book for you. Within it's pages, is a deconstruction of biblical and koranic arguments, added to scientific logic and a dollop of plain old common sense.

In short, it contains all the quotations and arguments an atheist might ever need, to win the inevitable arguments, in which we find ourselves so often. On top of that, it's contributors are witty, brilliant and mostly very readable. For those believers of one persuasion or another, who wish to confront the atheist argument; stay away from this book, unless you're ready to face the truth.

Good old Hitchens, his selection of writings is perfect, as we've come to expect.
11 Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
I'll admit I haven't read the Hume essay yet but I ate the rest of the book and have a copy on my iPhone so I can dip into it whenever I'm stuck on the tube without something to read. This book offers evidence of Hitchens wide reading and each essay seems perfectly placed in the collection.

Like all good collections this book should serve as an introduction to authors you may have neglected, ignored or been unaware of. For me, George Eliots essay was a very welcome surprise. Reading it made me realise what a dimwit I'd been to neglect her and encouraged me to start reading her novels with Middlemarch.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
I have found this to be a most stimulating and rewarding read. At last we have the voices of reason pulling away the dark veils of established religions. If only radical fundamentalists could accept a more rational approach to belief systems by reading this book then the world would be a saner place to be.It's time to confine all Gods to the realms of mythology.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.17
£6.09
£4.93
£7.12

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)