Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop now New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
40
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2011
The "James Dean - The Complete Collection" is a must-have for all James Dean fans, and for anyone who enjoys and appreciates great cinema. This terrific six-disc set, coated in gorgeous packaging, includes all three of Dean's landmark films ("East Of Eden," "Rebel Without A Cause," "Giant") and is jam-packed with extras (sit back and enjoy numerous documentaries, screen tests, additional scenes, and behind-the-scenes footage). All three features have been remastered and are now brought to you in a new digital transfer, ultimately revitalizing the James Dean experience for the viewer. Picture quality is truly spectacular. The fuzzy VHS transfer is a thing of the past, now replaced with a clean, crisp image that is full of detail and bursting with color. Put simply, folks, picture of this clarity, given its era, is too good to pass up.

With the completion of just three feature films before his tragic and untimely death, James Byron Dean, a charming and eccentric young actor, is now a cultural icon; the man who formulated a new level of movie star. He was a remarkable talent, and it's time for you to witness that talent like never before!
11 Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2011
Bought this DVD collection on impulse whilst browsing amazon one day, having never seen any James Dean movies I guess I was a little curious and I have to say I really enjoyed all three movies. Suprisingly they each addressed all kinds of controversial issues at such a conservative time (gang culture, juvenile delinquency, fixed gender roles, racial intolerance, single parenthood), James Deans raw talent, charisma and impossibly perfect good looks brings so much to the characters he portrays. The tragic circumstances surrounding his death before the release of the movies adds a touch of mysticism. Each DVD also contains special features including documentries, casting footage and deleated scenes giving you more for your money. I no longer need to question who James Dean was and why he is such a cultural icon. I strongly recommend this hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
This is a great box set and well worth the money I might add. James Dean tragically only lived long enough to make three films but they show what a talented actor he was, we can only guess as to what great things he might have gone on to.
Some see Dean as a Marlon Brando imitator, whilst Dean was heavily influenced by great Brando he is much more than an imitator, he had a style of his own full of emotion and subtle rage.

East of Eden was my favorite of the three films, Rebel Without a Cause is a classic which I also enjoyed. Giant, in my opinion was a good film but not as good as the other two, Dean only plays a bit part and at over three hours the film can get a bit boring. However it does show that Dean could convincingly play a more mature part and wasn't just fit for playing teenage rebels. As his character ages Dean's performace becomes no less convincing.
Also the box set contains many extras such as screen tests, deleted scenes and two very good documentaries on James Dean.
Before I bought the box set I didn't quite get James Dean but now I would call myself a fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2016
James Dean is one of my heroes, funny considering I was born decades after his death. His films are all masterpieces and he portrays the characters with such emotion. Rebel Without a Cause (1955) and East of Eden (1955) are two of the most sensitive movie performances ever. If you are a James Dean fan, buy this collection. You won't be disappointed. James Dean may have died at the young age of 24, but his legacy lives on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
If you are a huge James Dean fan - or just a true fan of everything that goes into the world of movies, this set is a must have. It's my new pride when it comes to my collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
If you like old films then James Dean is the one to watch, such heart rendering stories played by a young who's own personal life was so tragic, which is probably why he played the characters with such emotion, well worth watching
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
Excellent movies with supreme picture quality considering the year of production.
James Dean will always live in peoples memories.
East of Eden touches the hearts of many who have been misunderstood.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
there will be always one James Dean, the star who left us at the beginning of his professional life and only God knows what would happen if he was to continue and star in films that will prove a landmark for Hollywood.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
James Dean only ever made three films but became a legend after his accidental death in 1954 aged twenty four. In 'Giant' ( nominated for 10 Oscars) he stars with Rock Hudson and Elizabeth Taylor who was at the height of her powers, but it was James Dean who somehow stole the show. He died well before my time but I had to see if he was as good an actor as my parents' generation used to say and I wasn't disappointed. He had a rare screen presence that is somehow timeless and wouldn't be out of date today. I found it quite uncanny. I spent a wet weekend engrossed in all of his 3 films. 'East of Eden' sucks you in like the Steinbeck novel and James Dean towers in 'Rebel Without a Cause' which had three Academy Award nominations. The commentaries on the Special Feature discs are well worth a look to give a rounded profile of the films and actors. In Dean's time there was no special effects to fill in the gaps it was all down to acting and direction alone. Grab your popcorn - your in for a treat..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2011
Audio:

English 5.1 DD
French mono
Italian mono

Sub:

Eng,Fr,Ita,Ger.
33 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)