Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2017
I was swayed by the wooden saya and ordered the bokken whilst I was at sea. It was delivered while I was away and so I am not going to try to claim from the seller but the quality is very poor, the blade is uneven, pitted and rough. The saya is not secure with the blade rattling inside, and there is excess glue everywhere.

There are definitely better bokken on the market for the same price. Luckily for me, it is only to take away with me to train at sea, I would never take this to a dojo.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
First impressions were good, packaged well and looks good in the scabbard but once out of the sheath and under close inspection i was disappointed.

The scabbard:
firstly, the two halves are held together with tape, thin sticky tape, not even ribbon or a wrap.
It has a patent pending sticker on it, i am curious as to what the patent would be for..
Wood is very thin and it feels ever so fragile, other customers have said theirs has broken, fortunately mine has not as of yet although it's only been used a handful of times.

The Bokken:
Blade:
Very thin, feels delicate and doesn't inspire confidence when up against other bokens
rough and gluey magnet near guard/tsuba.
The wood does look nice and it does resemble a real blade though of course no where near the correct weight.
Doesn't quite have the same angle as the handle making the balance off.

Guard/Tsuba:
Cheap cut out of ply wood
Glued on
On the large size

Handle:
Thick and feels solid
Best part of the overall product.

In conclusion, probably good for playing samurai in the garden but don't expect it to do any heavy work.
Showed it to my sensei, he laughed without mercy at it.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
I bought this to exercise my arms a bit since I pretty much only do cardio on a treadmill to work out and it has proven to be quite good. It's not amazingly high quality but for the price you're getting a decent Bokken.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Thank you so much recieved before due date which is extremely amazing i didn't expect to be getting it so soon and they work amazingly well i very much appreciate this thank you again
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Great quality product for the price. Highly recommended. I like the wooden scabbard. Would buy again if mine broke as I am really happy with this product

Just don't buy the plastic scabbard that is supposed to go with it. It doesn't fit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
I was disappointed with the quality of the scabbard (tape over a crack on one end).
The sword is ok but it seems poorly assembled as it is connected with glue and a big bolt on one side.
On another note, there was far too much packaging for one thin sword
Personaly i would recommend a polypropylene sword or a more expensive wooden sword but for now i will use this as a decorative piece as it is not suitable for sparring.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Bokkens are mostly for use in japanese martial arts, particularly Iaido where you will only be using a sword. The saya (scabbard) is ok but there are better quality ones. These are also not made to be smacked together all day long but will hold up for a number of years with proper care involving light sanding and oils. This will be used for about a year in Iaido training and will last that long before you move onto more dangerous items. Good product but some specialist martial art dealers will sell you other items like silk tying ropes, maintenance kits and most importantly carry cases (which without you are breaking the law).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
yes the sword its self is good but the sheath it comes with . . . well I broke it in literally 4 minutes of use just drawing the sword so yeah look at the product picture its quite clear now that I know its completely different sort of wood I would ask for a part replace but I have already painted the sheath black and I'm not sure I would be aloud the sword it's self I would give a 4 star rating.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
This is a toy at best, there is no way you could use this bokken for training, it is to flimsy and light, hang it up for decoration but dont try and hit anything with it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
Very nice finished product not to heavy or to light. Excellent for any form of practice
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)